We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class Venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First Class Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

The Benson is a first class venue for a small (200-300) conference with a great " can accomodate" attitude. The hotel is located within easy walking distance of both the epicentre of the west coast food truck experience and endless well established eateries.



Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank youngbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    611
    212
    89
    49
See reviews for
319
742
102
471
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Benson Hotel is a classic in downtown Portland, Oregon, but what sets it apart from just another expensive hotel is the people. The friendly desk personnel we're very nice. My room was certainly adequate and nicely appointed. The tables in our meeting room were a bit narrow for working on but not a real problem. The food was actually excellent. But the highlight of my stay came on my last day. As I was checking out I mentioned that I was looking for a place to have breakfast. A bellman overheard me and recommended a place, but it didn't open until 10. He offered to keep my luggage. When I said I was on my way to the airport, he said there was an excellent restaurant AT the airport called Beaches, that smoked their own meat. I took his advice and was very pleased both with his recommendation and with his friendliness. By the way, there is a lot to do in downtown Portland. There's always Powell's Bookstore (which claims to be the biggest in the world) but there is also a charming smallish Museum of Contemporary Craft with an admission of just $4.00. Fun stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review! I am so glad to read about your great experience with us and the service our bellman was able to provide. We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were in Portland for our son's wedding a few weeks ago. We chose to stay at the Benson tho it was not in the same district as the wedding activities. The rooms were very clean, comfortable and well appointed. Check-in was smooth and the staff was very friendly and ready to answer any questions we had. The valet staff were superb, friendly, helpful and always at the door with a cheery send-off or welcome back at the end of a long day.
The wedding and related activities were in the Pearl District. We chose to walk, only 14-15 blocks. Relaxing, beautiful streets greeted us on our many walks back and forth. We did take a cab one evening just because we were running late, taxi driver was friendly and got us to the venue on time!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are quiet which was surprising and offered a great view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during this special visit to Portland. We hope you enjoyed all our hotel has to offer, as well as exploring Downtown Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,Wa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

If you are planning a business trip or vacation and will to be in the beautiful city of Portland make THE BENSON HOTEL a destination stop. This lovely lady recently celebrated her 100 birthday under the gracious and attentive care of long time manager Mr. Ron Gladney. The Benson takes you back in time to the grand moments of opulence and presidential luxury sporting incredible moldings, Judges Paneling and enormous crystal chandeliers. From the moment you step through her doors THE BENSON welcomes you with open arms and a cordial staff that is seamlessly well trained. We have been guests of THE BENSON twice enjoying royally appointed guest suites that are spotless and comfortable. Will we chose THE BENSON again? YES! I happen to like being treated like a princess.....I will be back soon! Thank you Ron Gladney and THE BENSON!

Room Tip: We had a large corner room that overlooked downtown....beautiful at night! Exceptional shopping on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StephanieF918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay on this occasion and look forward to your return to The Benson Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleveland, ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I agree with the generally good reviews on this hotel. I just completed a five-day stay, and give the hotel high marks on location, service, the lively lobby bar/restaurant, and the overall ambiance. The room itself was pretty basic but the bed and pillows were comfortable. They still use heavy duvet/comforters that I hate because they are too hot for me. Only real negative is the bathroom. This is an older hotel and the bathroom size is locked-in; and it is small. The pedestal sink had almost no surface area for toiletries, cosmetics, etc. The lighting was dim. The shower was weak so my wife had a difficult time rinsing her hair. The toilet is crammed against the tub. For one person, particularly a man, these may not be huge issues, but with my wife and me together it was cramped.

Room Tip: The rooms facing Broadway are louder because of the traffic and partiers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawyerbob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for providing a review. We appreciate your comments about our hotel and the ambiance. We apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We welcome your feedback and will share your comments with the rest of our team so that we may continue to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. We were in town for a wedding. It was our first time in Portland. The Benson was located in the perfect spot to explore downtown Portland by foot. We were within easy walking distance to the waterfront, tons of restaurants, shopping, and "must sees" like Voodoo Donuts and Powell's. The hotel itself it older, we usually go for modern, but it suited us just fine. We were able to take advantage of a group discount because of the wedding however, the usual rates are a little steep but comparable to all of the other downtown Portland hotels. I have never commented on a hotel bed before but I have got to say it was THE most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. We were on the 11th floor but sadly only had a view of a the wall next door. The staff was polite and helpful from booking, to suggestions on how to get there from the airport, to walking directions from the rail, to check-in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words regarding our hotel and, specifically, our comfortable beds. We are thrilled we could provide you with the most comfortable hotel bed you have ever slept in. Wow! We hope to see you again on a return trip to Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Helena Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
83 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautifully maintained Victorian style (cared for much better than the del in coronado)... wood polished to a turn ... everything sparkling ... waitstaff outstanding in every way ... bar is a fine meeting place ... cocktails made to perfection ...read the history: it makes the hotel come alive and gives a path to follow from the gold rush to the lumbering industry and beyond... very fine ... will return whenever in portland ..

Room Tip: use computer sites for price comps ... go for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalem35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron G, Manager at Benson Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay on this occasion and look forward to your return to The Benson Hotel when visiting Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing