We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hotel”
Review of Benson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Benson Hotel
Ranked #18 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“a nice hotel”
Reviewed 21 November 2009

nice service, free internet. convenient location in downtown. close to MAX light rail.

Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank zhenggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    624
    221
    90
    51
See reviews for
328
755
106
496
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2009

The Benson is beautiful, great service, definitely have a drink in the bar in the lobby & enjoy live jazz; it's close to eateries & Powell's Bookstore, too. Our room was a little small, but didn't matter since we weren't planning to spend much time indoors. Benefit is it was on the inside vs. street-side & was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucySeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

filthy rooms poor service this hotel was a mistake and im very sorry i booked this room
i hope others read this and reconsider where they stay i wish i did!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
2 Thank pdxvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I was wary about The Benson after reading reviews on Tripadvisor, but I'd already gotten the rooms on Priceline, so there was no turning back! For $80 a night (not including taxes), this place was fantastic. The lobby is gorgeous and the bed was very comfortable. The room was tastefully decorated. This is an old hotel, and could use a bit of polishing up - the room, though elegant, did have signs of some wear and tear. Although it was pretty quiet for the most part, we could hear people talking and doors slamming in the hallways and it reminded me of being in the dorms in college - but it wasn't loud enough to disturb us. The staff was wonderful. Note that if you book a room through Priceline, you will be put on the side without a view. Our first room looked out over an abysmal and horribly depressing landscape of trashy pipes and crap from the building next door. I complained to the front desk right away and they moved us up to the 8th floor, same side with a building view, but better than the horrid one on the 3rd floor. Also, note that parking is not included and you will pay about $20-$30 per night in addition to the room rate. The Benson was centrally located, within walking distance of great sights. All in all, the PERFECT place to stay for under $100 a night. I'd pay more if they did some soundproofing and made some upgrades (flat screen tvs, maybe?) to make it seem more high-end. Coffeemaker with coffee, Tazo tea and Rosemary bath gel in the room were great little amenities. They used to have an evening wine and tea service in the lobby but that's been discontinued. They do have a great happy hour with full price drinks but $3-$5 appetizers - great stuff like salads, delicious spicy shrimp, etc. And free coffee in the lobby in the morning - very thoughtful. I'd definitely stay here again for the price, and I would pay more if they made some upgrades.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unicorns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
156 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Grand old hotel--a lobby lined with detailed wood and stone work. Staff is friendly and helpful. Located within easy walking distance of most downtown activities. Conference rooms were quite and roomy. Conference buffet food was well-prepared and tasty (breakfast, lunch & dinner).
I had a King room in corner of hotel. Bedding - comforter was stained in numerous places and the blanket had cigarette burns--even though this was a non-smoking room.
Room furniture was well-used. Bathrooms were dingy & dated. No bathroom counter (so no place to put toiletries). Very poor lighting in the bathroom, turned make-up application into guesswork. Bathrooms were clean--but not one I want to use again. The room itself had several lamps but not enough to light the room very well. No light near the door--so dark area of room.
Business Center was a broken down collection of furniture and equipment--but I was able to print my boarding pass--just did not want to linger at their solo computer in a grungy room--off a quiet hallway.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluDragonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Booked the Benson through hotwire.com. Upon checking in, we were greeted with a friendly smile... after giving our name - the front desk guy saw we booked at a discounted rate and proceeded to put us in (what I'm sure was) the worst room in the house and treat us like absolute trash.

The only friendly staff we encountered during our stay was the door guys and the bartender!

The Benson is a snobby, overpriced establishment. Despite the very beautiful lobby and exterior - the place is not very much above average. Definitely not worth paying the full price. There are much better establishments in the area for the price.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ettalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Spent two nights at the Benson with friends. Good rooms with large, opening windows. Had an excellent breakfast downstairs, with a very friendly and talkative waiter. Stay was unfortunately highlighted by a midnight fire alarm, requiring an evacuation. Staff handled the excitement as well as possible- alarm due to an overheated hotel dryer. Some felt there should have been some reimbursement for the problem, which did not occur.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TX2OBX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benson Hotel

Property: Benson Hotel
Address: 309 Southwest Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Benson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Landmark Hotel located in heart of business & financial district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing