We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Wonderful Retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Everett Street Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 33 Portland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Everett Street Guesthouse in the cottage. It was such a wonderful and comfortable space to stay in! Terry is so incredibly thorough in her attention to every little detail. She provided us with breakfast items in the morning to get us started and literally anything I could possibly need for my trip was provided. I didn't know this, but she also has bicycles for rental if you do not have a car. I will definitely take that into account the next time we visit. I was not sure what to expect as this was my first time renting a cottage instead of staying in a hotel, but not only was it more affordable, it was way more comfortable. The bed was fantastic, the pillows were comfy and it was in a great location. The restaurants within walking distance were soooo good as is most the food in Portland. Thank you, Terry for such an accommodating experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jiggy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I can't imagine a nicer place to stay in Portland than the cottage at the Everett St. Guesthouse. It's on a quiet street, is spotlessly clean, has a very fresh, cheerful look and was equipped with everything we needed to feel comfortable and at home. There's a microwave and toaster oven, a fridge stocked with breakfast goodies to get you started, a comfortable bed, a washer/drier and even a cute little patio. The location is excellent, near great restaurants and public transportation and just a short ride into downtown. Terry was friendly and helpful. We certainly hope to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights there about 2 weeks ago. Very clean place decorated with interesting arts and crafts. Terry is very friendly and helpful and she gave us the information and suggestions on where to go and where to eat. The breakfast is delicious and healthy. We will come back again for next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanDiegoFan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We could not have asked for anything more! The guesthouse provided a much needed relaxing few days on our trip up the west coast. The guesthouse has a great location and everything you need. Very clean, suggestions and directions provided. Terry even offered to drive us to the Pittock Mansion and also pointed us in the right directions as far as things to do and places to eat. This guesthouse comes highly recommended. Very clean and so cute!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahab2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I just spent a week visiting Portland for vacation and we stayed here the whole week in the separate cottage. We arrived late and it was no problem. There was some breakfast foods in the kitchenette which was great (and voodoo donuts was just a short walk away too) and the place itself was perfect for us. Very nice little cottage which the owner has outfitted with all the essentials that one might need and which is aesthetically pleasing. There is also a small outdoor space to relax around a table and the gardens are beautiful. Location wise it was great too. Short drive to the airport (15-20 minutes?) and 30 minute walk or 10 minute bike ride to downtown and we rented the bikes to go around the city several days which was very convenient. We were also able to park our rental car on the street with no problem and it's very easy to get out of the city for day trips. Owner was accessible if you needed anything but the cottage was very private which was just what we were looking for. It was also nice to have the laundry capabilities since we were there for a week. OVerall couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank nicole m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I used to live in Portland and was planning to be in town for five nights, for a research trip. Staying in a hotel in my old hometown just felt too weird -- and expensive -- so this B&B seemed like an affordable happy medium, particularly since I could elect to stay in a room with a shared bathroom (with one other room that was only occupied one of the nights I was there, so it was essentially like having my own bathroom). The house and rooms were comfortable and tastefully decorated ("No frilly curtains, no teddy bears, no potpourri," the website promises), the breakfasts delicious, and the innkeeper Terry very nice and accommodating. I wouldn't have minded sharing the bathroom for my entire stay, since it usually works out that different guests keep different schedules. And the location / neighborhood is great, quiet but centrally located.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AC_in_DC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

While visiting our son in Portland, we stayed in the cottage 5 nights, returning later in the week to stay 2 nights in the inn. We arrived very late at night from the east coast and were pleased to find some light breakfast foods and GREAT coffee awaiting us when we woke up the first morning. We loved the quiet, non-frilly, tasteful, surroundings. Because of our schedule, we only had one full breakfast in the inn, which was tailored to our needs and wishes. Terry was most accommodating and friendly in all ways. The cottage offers more privacy and some flexibility with meals. We also took advantage of the laundry facilities in the cottage before we left. The art work throughout the inn makes you feel a little like being in a small gallery. Prices were very reasonable. We will return, with pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terry r, Owner at Everett Street Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thanks, and glad you were able to experience both places and I was able to have you for breakfast at least once. Hope you'll be able to return another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,883 reviews
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#4 of 146 in Portland
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Everett Street Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Everett Street Guesthouse

Address: 2306 NE Everett St, Portland, OR 97232-3131
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range: £64 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are no frilly curtains, potpourri or teddy bears at the Everett Street Guesthouse --a lovely property with two private entrance accommodations. The first is a separate studio cottage with tiled shower, flatscreen t.v., kitchenette, private garden patio, washer/dryer and free wifi. The 2nd is a newly refurbished lower level 1 bedroom apartment with new carpeting, new mattress, freshly painted, kitchenette, washer/dryer and free wifi. Parking is no problem. Both accommodations are located in a quiet,urban neighborhood, just blocks to great restaurants, cafes, park, public transportation and movie theater. It's about an 8 minute drive to the Pearl District, downtown and other interesting tourist locations. See why Frommer's Oregon calls the Everett Street Guesthouse "a gorgeous little hideaway". And read what others have said about their stay on TripAdvisor's reviews. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing