We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISGUSTING,SMOKY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Portland Central
Ranked #118 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Alvarado, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“DISGUSTING,SMOKY”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Dont be fooled by the refreshed logo on motel 6 logo it means soaked down with fabreeze. I stayed there because of location. Turn your bathroom ventalator on 24/7 helps keep the smoke from the other rooms out.
There is a mcdonalds across the street and several good local places to eat.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    1
    16
    9
    16
See reviews for
11
13
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I was excited that this place was in the SE and right next to Hopworks, so I took a risk staying here. I thought 'how bad could it really be?' Well, it was by far the worst place I've ever stayed. My non-smoking room was VERY smoky - I'm pretty sure the air from other smoking rooms just circulates in through the bathroom vents. All of the clothes in my suitcase reeked of cigarette smoke when I left. I counted over 20 cigarette burns on the BLANKET (adding to at least 8 patches to cover additional burns). There were also burns all over the bathroom counters, on the tv, the desk, carpet, etc! When I went to the front desk to cancel the rest of my reservation, the staff were casually talking about finding needles and guns in one of the rooms. And on the night I stayed, the guests in the room next to mine got into a furniture-throwing yelling match that started at 3:00am. Such an awful experience!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Staying at this hotel was truly a nightmare! The first room we were given smelled like someone had just smoked three packs of cigarettes and then shut the door. Also, the six or seven flies buzzing around the bed were disgusting! I immediately called the front desk and we ended up in a disabled room with one bed instead of two, and the only improvement was that it vaguely smelled of stale cigarettes rather than reeked. As we were switching rooms, the door flew open right next to us, and a drunk guy with no limbs or clothes started to scream at the blowsy woman in doorway that she was "no damn good" - to which she replied "Why you keep comin' back then?" Lovely. Then the drunk guy proceeded to pass out in the parking lot for about an hour. We really had no choice but to stay at this point because the hotel room had already been paid for by a friend. The room we had to endure for two nights had a filthy bedspread and such a crusty blanket that we actually had to request additional sheets to use as blankets during our stay. All during the evenings we could hear the drunks and the tweekers yelling and raising hell throughout the hotel. It was truly a horrible hotel experience, and a great disappointment after staying in some very fine and clean Hotel 6's across the country. The owner or manager of this Hotel 6 should not be allowed to be a part of the Hotel 6 chain, and they should be ashamed of themselves in running such a shoddy, disgusting hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DeAnna2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed here our last night of a road trip so just wanted something cheap and easy. We stayed at a few Motel 6s on the trip and they were great. This place is disgusting!

The air conditioning was broken. The phone was broken. The screen on the window was broken. The comforter had cigarette burn holes in it. There were stains on the carpet. And after a hot and disgusting night (we slept in our sleeping bags) we couldn't shower because we had no towels. The service staff was terrible and couldn't tell us anything about the city (including how to get downtown).

There was a pool but it was uneven so the water ran more to one side. The water was so cloudy that it looked like a Mai Tai and you couldn't even see the steps leading into it. I wouldn't even stay here for one night - we should have kept driving!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveler9_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Washington
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2010

This motel is inexpensive, but centrally located, and both times we stayed there, the motel, parking lot, and rooms were clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. They have coffee in the lobby, but McDonalds is just down the street with much better coffee. They do charge for high speed internet - $3/day, and the pool is outdoors so we didn't use it, but it looked clean.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnamay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2008

I have stayed in 5 star hotels before, and though this one is far from that, it was not as bad for me as the former reviewers. The strip club next door freaked me out a little, but I found out Portland is full of them. I didn't notice any seedy people wandering about and the club seemed empty whenever we drove by, even though we stayed there saturday and sunday evenings. The room was clean, did not smell like smoke (though there was an ashtray with a non-smoking symbol on it - go figure), and the air/heating unit worked like a charm. All of the staff was very friendly. What I was looking for was a cheap, clean place to rest my head while wandering around Portland, and that is what I got. We did stay in the front of the motel, away from the strip club, so maybe that is why it seemed much more quiet than other reviewers. All I can say is you get what you pay for.
Pros: Cheap, clean, close to downtown and parks, undergoing remodeling/updating
Cons: No refrigerator, microwave, shampoo/cond - very bare bones room.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — lack of amenities
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sassymolassy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Whew, this place was horrible.

Non-smoking room smelled like a bar. TV was melted on top from numerous cigarettes and what looked like spoons.

First night the meth addicts next door were loud and rowdy until 3 am and my wife was understandably scared (her first time in America and an American motel).

Got new room the next day and while waiting to talk to the desk lady a man was checking in and stated that he didn't want anyone knowing he was their, especially the police!

Turns out the motel has a live-in Portland police officer which is reassuring yet disturbing at the same time.

Recommend the rooms directly atop the office as this is where the police officer lives. Our room was between his and my brother's and was much quieter.

There is a strip club next door.

Bonus....next to the strip club is a really great brew pub that has a children's play room. Excellent beer and food.

Definitely don't stay here unless you like 'Permanent Residents' and shifty characters doing questionable activities into the wee hours.

  • Liked — Brew pub 2 doors down
  • Disliked — The guests
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bondagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
2.4 mi away
Briarwood Suites
Briarwood Suites
#104 of 142 in Portland
53 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hostelling International Portland Hawthorne Hostel
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Convention Center
Econo Lodge Convention Center
#109 of 142 in Portland
53 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bluebird Guesthouse
Bluebird Guesthouse
#9 of 23 in Portland
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Portland Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Portland Central

Property: Motel 6 Portland Central
Address: 3104 SE Powell Blvd, I-5 at Exit# 299-A, Portland, OR 97202-1957
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Portland Central 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Portland Central is conveniently located off of I-5 and Ross Island Bridge. Visit the Portland Zoo and Rose Garden only 5 miles. Restaurants are nearby. Enjoy our seasonal outdoor heated pool. Wi-Fi is available in all modern rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Portland Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Portland
Motel Six Portland
Portland Motel Six
Portland Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing