We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watching the Christmas Ships”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #56 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 December 2012

It was a perfect place to take an evening to relax and watch the flotilla of decorated boats cruise up and down the Columbia River. We enjoyed a Fireplace Suite which had floor to ceiling windows on to sides of the front room, along with a balcony. The bedroom had two queen-sized beds, extra large television and another balcony which overlooked the plaza with pool below. It was easy to watch the boats, but they were quite a ways away. Still very lovely.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassySue1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2012

Traveling down route 101 we saw awesome scenery, and a coastline to die for. However, before coming to the large Black steel Bridge that leads to the Red Lion Hotel, we first came upon an abandonned Fort and Gun placements which had been razed. Next, we visited Lewis and Clark State Park, their trek took them forty miles north of Yellowstone Park. Red Lions' an awesome hotel and the activity on the river was unbeliveable. While looking out at a pier we saw a single eye looking back at us.... We surmized it was a partially submerged seal that was searching for food. The accomodations were just what weary travelers were looking for after a long days trip and when there was a small complimentary contintal breakfast this tells you that you got a great value for your dollats that you spent. Also, Oregon doesn't have a sales tax.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a view of the river and all its wonderful activity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

From all of us at Red Lion Hotel on the River let me thank you for taking the time to inform others about your travels and in particular the stay that you had with us while discovering the intricacies of the Lewis & Clark trail. It was heart-warming to read that we were "the place" that helped the weary traveler rest; it's our Stay Comfortable promise --- and one that we are delighted you were able to experience first-hand.

When the next trek/trail leads you to Portland, Oregon we hope to be given the pleasure to be of service to you.

In the meantime all of us wish you and yours a very happy holiday and a prosperous New Year.

Happy Travels,

Lori Main
Director of Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed here in November for a wine conference. My wife was quite dubious about it's location, but it turned out to be conveniently close to access to the highway and only minutes from some excellent dining in Portland. The rooms were clean, well maintained and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly, on more than one occasion going out of their way to provide good service. We would stay there again without hesitation- even my wife was happy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I had a really great time at this hotel. The staff was clean and friendly and readily available to answer any stupid question that I had. The rooms are spacious and affordable for everything that you get. I stayed at this Red Lion when I was attending a convention and it the perfect place to call home at the end of another long day. It's very conveniently located. There is much to do no matter which direction you head out!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask about rooms. The staff can recommend favorites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bScoutke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2012

Happy holidays to you! Thank you so very much for taking the time to tell others about your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and do hope to have the pleasure of being of service to you in the coming year.

In the meantime we hope that your travels take you to places filled with comfort and joy!

Happy Travels,

Lori Main
Director of Marketing & Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed there in Feb 2012 and I must say that it was my frnd careful and good planing that we were able to stay on the river bank property and at the same time downtown Portland was not that far. We had some amazing time there. The hotel is big and gives a very good view of River. There are plenty of fast food restaurants and department stores around hotel so shopping and eating is not a problem at all. Reasonable prices, good view and everything in vicinity ...what else you need!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvinashTiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Had a nice time at this hotel. We were, unfortunately, placed on the first floor so our view of the river was a little obscured but, never the less, we had a balcony which was nice. The people next to us had a dog so when they would step out of course it would bark at us. (Please keep your dogs at home people!) The rooms are a decent size and the bathroom is roomy but with a small shower/tub combo. Very comfortable beds but no dvd player. We ate the restaurant onsite and the food was not too bad but a little spendy. Great view of the river and the planes making their approach to PDX. Now the little problem... We returned to have happy hour later that evening at the same restaurant and were greeted (and I use that term loosely) by the manager. I believe her name was "Shawn" (not sure of the spelling) and she was very rude. Made us feel as if we were a bother to her. We were seated and basically forgotten by her for 15 minutes so we went to find her and she was sitting with some other employees. We asked if we could order some appetizers and she said that we were too late to order them. Well, we said that if she would have asked us ten minutes earlier we would have been early enough to do so. She walked away so we went to the bartender that was making our drinks to see what was up. Her name was Ivy and she couldn't be any more helpful. She was apologetic and friendly and took our order and told us that it wouldn't be a problem. Nice save by Ivy!

Room Tip: Top floor has the best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rb44chinook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redlionjbpdx, Director of Sales at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Thank you for your insights on your recent stay with us. If you haven't read the various reviews on TripAdvisor let me ensure that you realize how serious we take our guest's input and how vital the time you take from your day is to us so we can ensure we continue to improve on areas that may have fallen short.

It is clear your time with us wasn't perfect... and honestly that is our goal... that every guest enjoy the perfect day and the perfect stay --- it's our Stay Comfortable promise.

Please accept my apology on behalf of our entire team for the unacceptable challenges you experienced in our restaurant. Rest assured they will be addressed so we ensure future guests do not have similar issues.

We realize that every guest traveling to Portland has myriad choices and thank you for selecting us on your visit. We hope to have the pleasure of being of service to your travels return you to our area.

Happy Travels!

Lori Main
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

I recently stayed here for a wine conference and I had a very pleasant experience. I opted for a club level room and was able to get fresh brewed coffee every morning right outside my room which was outstanding. I was also able to check my email everyday. In addition, every staff member I encounted was very pleasant, attentive and helpful, especially the bar and wait staff. I would definitely recommend this hotel and may travel there again. Also, the view of the river from the restaurant and my room were excellent.

Room Tip: spend a little extra for "club level' it is well worht it if you're like me and need yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
7.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North
Courtyard Portland North
#66 of 144 in Portland
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £89 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing