We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #53 of 138 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

What a lovely spot, on the Jantzen river. Our room was spacious, with a balcony overlooking the pool and with the river in full view. The reception staff were very helpful, when we enquired the following morning the best way to get to the light railway station to go into Portland, we were told that they had a complimentary service to do this, and to telephone on our return and we would be picked up. It was great not to have to drive into Portland, but use the excellent rail service. When we arrived back, we telephoned the hotel, and in a shorter time than we expected the mini bus arrived. Great service.
We were not intending eating in their restaurant, but had a drink on the veranda overlooking the river. Looking through the mernu, we thought "this looks good" and decided to eat in. What a good decision. Both the food and service were excellent, so good in fact that we dined there the following night too.
Our room price included breakfast, which again was excellent. The only critism I had was that the portion was too big!
All in all a great stay, with great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    361
    171
    84
    54
See reviews for
258
245
58
286
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed here with August with our two children, aged 13 & 15 and will NEVER go back. Our experience began when we arrived at 12:30PM to check-in (check-in is 2PM). I realized that this was early, but our family had been up since 4:30AM, so we thought we would try. The room wasn't ready yet. No problem, we decide to go for a light lunch and try back in a little while. We arrived back at 1:45PM and our room was still not ready. So, instead of waiting around, we decided to head into town and come back later. When we arrived back after supper around 6:45PM, not only was our room not ready yet, it had been given away! I had booked this hotel room over two months earlier and had the room guaranteed with my credit card, not to mention the fact that we had tried 2 times already that day to check in! So, we were given a "complimentary upgrade" to a suite. Sounds good, except the room we had originally booked had 3 beds in it. The complimentary upgrade had only 1 bed. It was more of a hospitality suite than a hotel room. To make up for the missing beds, they offered us 2 complimentary rollaway cots! How nice...sleeping on a cot for 3 nights for $170/night. At this point we would have just left and cut our losses, but the 2 other families we were traveling with were staying at the hotel. They also threw in free breakfast vouchers, which was nice (more about those later). In all fairness, the staff member who ended up checking us in (Mike?) seemed genuinely concerned about what had happened and I believe was trying to do the best he could but, with a mess-up like this, I would have expected to at least hear from the hotel manager. Anyhow, once we finally got settled in our room, we went to track down our friends. They were conveniently located at the opposite end of the hotel overlooking the river (where we were supposed to be!), not next to the rundown old tennis courts where we were "upgraded" to. So, we tried to laugh it all off and just went to bed. Because it apparently takes some time to make up the breakfast vouchers, we were told to go to the front desk and get them in the morning on our way to breakfast. We were also told there was a little something waiting for us as an apology. So, we all waited at the front desk for our breakfast vouchers. We ended up with a snippy woman behind the front desk who informed us that our room did not include breakfast and that we would have to pay for it. I explained to her what had happened the day before and she once again confirmed for me that our room did not include breakfast. When pressed further, she begrudgingly gave us vouchers for that morning ONLY all the while treating us like we were lying criminals. After breakfast my husband went back to the front desk to ask to speak to a manager. The woman who had "helped" us earlier came rushing over and had somehow managed to find the rest of the vouchers. There was also a bottle of wine for us. The wine was a really nice thing to do, although it's sentiment was a little lost after how we had been treated earlier that morning.
That whole experience aside, the hotel is a little tired and run down. The setting is lovely (overlooking the river, not the tennis courts), but if you are planning to spend a bit of time in downtown Portland, you might want to stay elsewhere. Even though it is just a few miles from downtown Portland, the drive into and out of Portland can take over an hour most of the day due to heavy traffic congestion. All in all a less than satisfactory experience.

Room Tip: Ask to stay by the pool overlooking the river. Much nicer than the rooms overlooking the run-down te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
I would like to thank you for your review! All feedback, good or bad, assists us in making our guests stay more comfortable. I would like to truly apologize for the confusion with getting you checked into the hotel and how your were treated . This is definitely not the type of stay we want our guests to have! We value you as our guest, and look forward to having you with us again soon. Please accept my apology

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed here in early June. Although a little tired looking from the outside we were happy
With our room, it's wonderful view of the river, and the good service.
We had lunch and dinner in their restaurant and both the food and service were very good.
It's obviously seen better days but there is nothing a little paint will not spruce up.
We can heartily recommend this hotel, their staff and good service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bopper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Hotel could use a few renovations, but overall experience was good. Staff very friendly & helpful, nice size rooms with great views of the river. Hotel restaurant has very good food, with reasonable prices. No complaints.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rabrn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This was my aunt and uncle's second visit to Portland and I was so glad I chose this hotel for them! They had a king corner suite with a magnificent view of the Columbia and Mt. St. Helens. The room was huge, staff very nice, easy access location for driving and no additional fees for parking...perfect for them since I live downtown and was picking them up to show them around. Join their frequent stay program for a great room....& it's very dog friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hopeful410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Fine location: just aside the I5 North to Seattle and along the Columbia. At night one can see Mt Hood from the terrace while having diner. Service is ok and the rooms are clean (we've stayed there twice in different rooms). Carpets, furniture, wall paper and especially shower and plumbing are really up for serious maintenance. It’s not worn down, but call it well-used. Staff is great and very friendly and helpful. However the way the large restaurant is managed, is out of date, causing long waiting times. For breakfast you need to calculate at least a full hour. It is a la carte served but with no real specialties. Switching to a buffet breakfast would certainly be appreciated. Another improvement would be a shuttle service to Portland downtown. Overall: surely a nice place to stay for a couple of nights, with good service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastiaan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We got the Fireplace Suite this time with the view of the Columbia and enjoyed every minute of our stay. You have 2 balconies to chose from to sit back and relax and watch the river or other areas nearby. There are two rooms and space for a variety of things to see and do. The check in and room service staff were very helpful any time we talked with them. The room is very sound-proof considering the sounds from the river traffic, I-5 vehicles and the airport nearby. Easy access from I-5 is nice, and there are shops nearby if you have some free time. This is our 4th and best visit to the Red Lion and look forward to staying again next year. Thanks again for a very GREAT STAY!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing