We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #56 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This facility was built in the very early 70's but you would never know. It is nicely kept up with modern large rooms wide, well lit hallways and beautiful grounds. We had a premier queen room with a view to the pool/patio and the mighty Columbia river. Each room has a lanai which few newer hotels have, and I really enjoy. After a day inside during sunny weather, I really appreciate sitting out while the sun sets with a glass of wine. And although it was late October, we were able to do just that.
The room was very large with lots of floor and closet space. Having the 2 sink areas enabled us to get ready in the AM much faster. The refrig. Is plenty large and having a shopping Ctr within walking distance makes meals very convenient. There are several fast food and restaurants close by as well as the one in the hotel. We weren't very hungry so only ordered appetizers of crab cakes, cheese foccia bread and mushroom tart but although the portions were small the food was excellent.
Although the facility is on the flight path for Portland Int'l., the plane noise didn't bother us. The beds and pillows are quite comfortable and our only complaint is that although there was more than sufficient towels, there were no washcloths!

Room Tip: It is worth the extra $10. For a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65stang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for the comments regarding you recent stay with us and I am pleased that you had a chance to relax and enjoy a glass of wine along some appetizers from our restaurant, We have a very talented Chef and service staff along with great views of the Columbia River. Thank you for your business and we appreciate the feedback.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in early October with my wife. Had room on third floor with balcony that had view of river. Room was normal size hotel room. Hotel is in decent area, but traffic to get over bridge can be a pain.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank markpaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Given I have stayed at this particular Red Lion dozens of times I felt it was time I gave it a review. Designed by famous Seattle based architect Roland Terry (1917 - 2006) many years ago this sprawling building must have over 300 rooms. Done about the same time Terry was designing hotels in Hawaii the building originally had touches like Tiki torches and other tropical motifs, all of which have disappeared over the years. But each room has a small balcony and the courtyards between the 4 wings give it the feel of a resort hotel. The rooms are twice the size of your average upscale motel (after all this is a "Hotel") and the bathrooms are huge by normal standards. I haven't eaten in the hotel restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grille or had a drink in the bar JB's Night Club but I can say that returning to the hotel about 11:30 pm on a Saturday the crowds were still arriving to party (therefore, see my tips on getting a good room.) Prices per room can swing wildly from $90 to $140 as it depends if you are trying to book when a convention is going on. The only alternatives in the area are low price motels and "suite" type buildings.

Room Tip: The hotel has 4 wings A, B, C & D. Try and get a 4th floor room in Wing D that faces the courty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

convenient to the city and the airport - lovely being on the river
The Hotel rooms are spacious, quiet, clean. The staff is friendly and professional. The food is average at the bar & grill. You definitely get your money's worth.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dewatobay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I have stayed at Red Lions in other cities and elsewhere in portland and have never been all that impressed (always just a basic, clean hotel but nothing to get excited about), so I was really surprised to be so pleased with pretty much everything about the Red Lion on the River. The public spaces were impressive and modern, the rooms were wonderful with balconies overlooking the pool and the river, the staff were really really great, and the bar/restaurant was definitely better than I would have imagined. Yes, you don't get free breakfast but we ate there nearly every morning and the quality was far better than you get for a free hotel breakfast. (You are also very close to starbucks and panera for a decent cheap breakfast nearby.) They have an awesome happy hour with some really great cheap appetizers (the wings and potstickers were amazing). Loved our room because it was really big and had two sinks (one in the bathroom and the other in the entry area) plus a fridge and microwave. The rooms were not just clean but were really nicely decorated and very comfortable. The location of this hotel next to the I-5 also made it very handy for everything. Can't believe what you get here for the money. I was traveling for business and brought my family and would say that I would come back again for both business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Its clean, nice and affordable. Beds are good and the quality of sleep was good. Would recommend for about 100$ a night. The breakfast is not included, thats why i wont pay over 100$ for a night. The bathroom was renovated, and the carpets were clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Hubbleflow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Nice hotel on the Columbia river with a very friendly staff.. The room was huge! Big bathroom with separate sinks, safe in room, coffe maker. Easy on and off the freeway, but very quiet. The beds were very comfortable.Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for the river side...more expensive, but nice view of river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
5.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
7.1 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £90 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing