We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #54 of 140 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Bellingham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Consistently Welcoming”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Have stayed here with husband and dog(s) // have stayed here on my own. We like this property because it offers clean and spacious rooms, a surprisingly excellent restaurant, and a convenient location for the north side of Portland at a credible price. I would definitely recommend this hotel to any traveler who wanted to stay in/near Portland without having to fret about "city parking" or who had a pet ....... We have had satisfactory to Superlative experiences at Red Lion Jantzen Beach since 2009..... ;-)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    368
    183
    88
    56
See reviews for
268
252
58
296
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The bathroom was terrific ,large,marble floors like in Rome! Brilliant wifi,connected in a flash, no passwords etc needed. Luxurious bed linens,funky high bed might be trouble for less able people. Great flat screen tv,good reception and choice of sports channels. Nice toiletries in the bathroom. Definitely would return. Might be especially good location in the summer ,we were there in foggy December!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Marita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay and sharing your comments with others, We have a great staff here at the Red lion Hotel Jantzen Beach along with a large facility and great views of the river, Hopefully it will be a clear day on your next visit and you will get to experience the great view of the local mountains. We have just recently upgrade our WiFi system and I am happy to hear that it was money well spent, We look forward to seeing again in the near future.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
178 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

My husband and I stay here whenever we come to Portland. The building is a bit old fashioned in that it has big hallways and stretches out along the river. You may be walking a fair distance to your room. But the views are fabulous. The staff have always been friendly and helpful. We have stayed here a number of times and have always found the rooms clean.....I would not put up with anything else. The food is quite good, and the restaurant/bar ambience is thoroughly enjoyable with fantastic views over the river. I suppose some of the decor is somewhat dated, but it is well-maintained and clean. And I mean dated from the 80's-90's not 50's-60's! Overall, I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask how far from the lobby the room is, otherwise you may be walking for a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A beautiful location right on the Columbia River in North Portland. Well-maintained with comfortable spacious rooms, and the hotel restaurant overlooks the spectacular river view. Pet-friendly with access to a riverside walking path. Convenient to restaurants and shopping, with nearby freeway access to downtown Portland and points south. Espresso stand in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for telling others about your stay at Red Lion Hotel on the River. We are honored that you selected us and appreciate you sharing your insights on our property with other travelers.

We look forward to having you as a guest the next time travels bring you to the Portland, Oregon area.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Made a reservation for the hotel 6 months in advance. My request for location, as the hotel has a view, was not honored. The toilet was dirty, the shower had mildew, the heat was very hard to control, the carpet was dirty. The place looked like it had been updated over the old decor. The good things were a view of the river over the tennis courts and the room size. We agreed if we stay in that area again we will forgo the view to have a clean room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lewarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
We value each and every one of our guests and I truly apologize that we failed to provide you the best possible service. We are very displeased to see that there were some areas of concern regarding the cleanliness in your guest room and we will certainly address your concerns with our housekeeping staff.
Thank you for your feedback you are a valued guest and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you better service in the near future!

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The hotel was an older one that needs some renovation. The shower stall had obviously been repaired/caulked, but yet still had a smell of mold when showering. A bath mat in shower was dirty and awful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and I apologize for the issues you experienced in your shower and I can assure that we will address them, I would also like to let you know that we will be doing some upgrades to the hotel in the spring of 2014.

We appreciate your business and Happy Travels,
Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Lovely hotel with wonderful, attentive staff. BEST place to stop with a dog as the walking path along the waterfront is excellent! Our beagle wants to know when he he gets to go on vacation again. Walking along the Willamette River is peaceful & beautiful anytime of year!

Room Tip: 1st floor for dogs has easy outdoor access ...my old guy doesn't like stairs or elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us, We have a great location with beautiful views of the river and local mountains, We hope to see you and your beagle in the near future.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing