We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Add a footstool and it would have been perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #51 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
217 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Add a footstool and it would have been perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Looking for a nice hotel to stay in just north of Portland and found this place. It was very quiet even though full. Room and bathroom were clean, plenty of towels and the room coffee was fine. Just needed a footstool to make computer laptop work more comfortable. The double queen beds were perfect for our family of four. Nice size room fridge to keep leftovers and waters in. I recommend this place .

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor and walked the steps up and down. Kids love that kind of stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Timothy
Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us, I am happy that you found the room to have ample space for you and your family we are fortunate to have such large rooms and bathrooms along with the great view of the Columbia River it is perfect for a family get away. We hope to see you again soon.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    345
    364
    176
    85
    54
See reviews for
264
249
58
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Welches, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

The atmosphere is fun and lively, the music is wide spread; something for everyone. The view of the Portland Skyline across the river was stunning. Staff was fun, friendly and knowledgeable. Rooms were clean and beds were cozy! Overall amazing stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SuzeeRQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Rooms were clean and spacious. Bathrooms spacious and renovated. Very clean, very quiet. Secure. Nice workout room. Love that I can go outside and run on path by the water. Great feature to have microwave and refrigerator in room. It was extremely helpful considering no breakfast included. Overall great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mary Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you sharing your comments with others concerning your stay with us, I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to use the fitness facility along with a run on the path that is along the river it is truly a beautiful area to take a leisure stroll or run.

We appreciate your feedback and your business
Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The motel is beautiful, clean, etc. Sat night with a band in the lounge, no problems, in our courtyard room near the lounge. Sat. nite kept awake til 1 30 AM with booming bass from the DJ. 3 calls to the front desk, and the music got louder. Wanted a quiet, no stress getaway, and ended up irritated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Pete
I apologize for the loud DJ music on your second night with us, I can understand your irritation and I have addressed the issue with my Food & Beverage Director to assure this is not an issue in the future, I appreciate you taking the time to give us some feedback.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Got a great double queen room, very nice and clean. Strong wi-fi signal. I did not experience breakfast but the restaurant was delicious- would be nice in the summer with the deck overlooking the river. Great value, helpful staff, and very nice and quiet. Good location with not to much traffic but a few restaurants near by.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frommeridian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selah, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

While the overall appearance of this hotel strikes some as old and dated, the rooms are comfy & clean. Staff are superb! And the restaurant and both bars have great food, nice selection of alcohol, and great staff. We hold our annual meeting here every February and I'm always happy to see that it's booked at the Red Lion. Meeting rooms were good, food and service at our events were great, and the staff couldn't have been nicer. Kudos to you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralianDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We attend an annual seminar at this location, this is the 2nd year that they've labeled the foods for the luncheon so that Gluten Free and allergy attendees can make safe food choices. The labeling was GREAT! They showed non gluten free people that the term "gluten free" doesn't necessarily mean bad food.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Daniel
Our Food & Beverage team take great pride in making sure all special requests and expectations are exceed and I agree with you the terms Gluten Free, Vegan, Sugar Free or any other special request does not need to mean bad food, I am happy that you enjoyed the seminar and we look forward to seeing you again.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing