We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first review with no negative comments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #55 of 144 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 July 2014

A large, old, elegant hotel that is masterfully maintained. Rooms are large and nicely appointed with large baths and comfortable beds. If you want a view, don't get a room on the first (lower) floor unless you are poolside. The restaurant is excellent. Three great dinner salad choices, we got the trout and the steak. The fried calamari has a unique, crispy and tasty flavor with a spicy dipping sauce. The house wines from Oregon are good except for the Pinot Noir. Breakfasts are ample and service fast and friendly. Throughout, our encounters with save were pleasant and professional.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank SnowAvoiderSalem_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our Hotel and restaurant, I am happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel on the River
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Be wary of scary pool towels, lackadaisical housekeeping, and pricy food with very limited room service options. The view is stubbing if you can get river side but be ware- elevators are small and limited- not super friendly for mobility impaired folks. Very limited clothing storage also for extended trips unless you get a suite.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Jeanine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Jeanine
Thank you for your comments regarding the pool towels and the concerns with housekeeping, I will follow up with our Housekeeping and Laundry manager to see if there are areas we need to address, Our elevators are 4' wide by 6' long and I am sorry that you found them to be limited in size we also have 3 drawer dressers along with full size closets in each room and for a long stay with more then 2 to 3 people in the room I can see how the dresser drawer space would be a little limited. Thank you again for the feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It's not their fault, I got the wrong river- I thought it might be closer to down town, and funkier - I did get a good deal, so I'm not complaining there. I was surprised how bad Portland traffic is (I guess it's all those bridges), but since this hotel is at the last exit in Portland- better plan your trips either away from rush hour, or your activities/meals during the traffic. The beds were comfortable, and the rooms had a lot of space.

Room Tip: Try to get a room off the first floor- the parking lot is right next to them
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Red Lion on the River has staff who excel in customer service. You will do well to spend your home away from home here and the best plus eve,r is the view of the river and mountains. Temperature is pleasant for your walks to unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
1  Thank Sheri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed one night here to treat our family to a nice pool in the midst of some extremely hot weather. We joined their club and received a discount which made the Fireplace Suite very affordable. The room was excellent, and the pool even better!

Room service hours are a bit perplexing - only for a few hours in the evening and from 7-9am in the morning. However, we did call for coffee at 10:00 am, and they cheerfully delivered a delicious pot of coffee.

I would not however recommend the restaurant. We dined for dinner and then lunch the next day. On both occasions, the kitchen prepared did not prepare the food as it was ordered. In fact, when ordering from the pool, the container was visibly marked "cheeseburger, ketchup only", and yet the kitchen still decided to put a tablespoon of mayonaise on the bun. One hamburger prepared for dinner the previous evening was nearly raw despite our request for medium well.

On the first occasion, the server brought out the chef who apologized profusely and comped the burger. So we decided to give it a try the next day, and of course the results were no better. This time we complained to the server(s) that the kitchen seems to have a problem getting things right, and they just smiled and said "yeah, I know".....

Room Tip: Fireplace Suites are a great upgrade!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Robert
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and the staff was able to take care of your coffee request in the off hours when room service was closed, I was disappointed to read your experience concerning the inaccurate food orders. We traditionally receive great comment concerning our food and service and I will follow up with our culinary staff to make sure we are getting it right the first time.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I go to conventions twice a year since 1994. This is the friendliest hotel we have ever been. It's like staying with your cousins - anything they can do for you they want to do. Only issue, the air conditioner in the public rooms did not keep the place as cool as I like (we were there in July) or room temperature was perfect and adjustable. Make sure to bring ear plugs as the planes run day and night and you can see the airport from the hotel. Terrific food. Had dinner here once, lunch 3 days and breakfast once. Super clean room and thank you to our cleaning woman Conseula.

Room Tip: not a bad room in the place - views range from the river to Mount Saint Helens to Mount Hood
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We appreciate you sharing your comments with others and I have passed along your comments concerning the employee can do attitude and great customer service and I have also thanked them for a job well done.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great value for the price, large, clean rooms. Lovely pool. I think all the rooms have balconies. The restaurant has good food and the prices are reasonable.
Very friendly and responsive staff. We felt very welcomed for our conference.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Darlene V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North
Courtyard Portland North
#71 of 144 in Portland
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Jantzen Beach
5.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
1.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £100 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing