We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #54 of 141 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland
1 review
“Service”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Staff was friendly but it took along time to get waited on and then a long time to get food. There excuse was they didn't have enough personal to handle the amount of people that were there as if they didn't know a convention was booked. Also they ran out of some of the food that was on the limited menu.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Maurice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    377
    188
    92
    60
See reviews for
274
258
62
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I am sure I did not call your remodel by the name listed on the large tag boards in the hotel halls...the hotel will be wonderful when the remodel is done...wow 30 years of making memories
Don Anderson

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

In November 2013 I made a reservation at the Portland Red Lion for a family suite. Imagine my surprise when we arrived at the hotel to discover that the room we reserved was not available. We subsequently learned that the hotel overbooked these suites in April 2014. I would have expected the hotel to either honour the reservation or at the least advise us when the overbooking was discovered and provide us options on the room types available. We were given a king room the front desk clerk said was the "best at the hotel". We were not impressed with the room or the front desk lack of effort to provide us with the room we had reserved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This is not a place for the younger CEO. They made me sign a "no party agreement" 2 mins after I got there. Probably because I was wearing a baseball hat actually I have no idea why they did except for stereotyping me.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ybrown-burnstein, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I want to ensure you we do not discriminate against any of our guests. We do have a "no party policy" procedure for any suites that are rented to ensure all of our guests are able to enjoy their time here at the hotel. I do apologize that this was not communicated in a better way and have forwarded these comments to my Front Office Manager. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope this will not hinder you from staying again.

Yolanda Brown-Burnstein
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grant, Michigan
Level Contributor
659 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 528 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here three days last week. Nice place, huge footprint, and they are trying very hard to keep it well maintained. Staff seemed top notch to us. They were everywhere you looked. Our room was great and the maid service was just the way we wanted it. Wish they had a laundry area.....there were lots of folks there that might have used the machines had they been available. A bank is near by, some shopping and restaurants, too. Very busy area and a huge bridge is right next to the motel...there is a lot of noise generated by the traffic, but our room was quiet. Some of the rooms have great views, ours did not. I would stay here again without hesitation, just be forewarned about how busy the traffic is that you will have to navigate thru.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Impala guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The parking situation was ridiculous due to a car show that took up the entire parking lot. It took us about 20 minutes to walk from where guests could park to our room. I was alone with 3 kids and many bags, so this was extremely difficult. The hotel is old, but it's taken care of well. Our room was clean, and the beds were comfortable. The outdoor pool area is nice, but no nearby restrooms or drink service, which made it difficult with small kids.The housekeeper woke us up at 8:15 a.m. knocking on our door to clean our room. "Do not disturb" signs should not be needed at 8:15 a.m. Not sure that we will return. I was disappointed with our stay. It could have been better to say the least.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ybrown-burnstein, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Jill,

I apologize that you struggled with the parking here at the hotel. I know we were hosting a large event and although we tried to pre-assign and accommodate all guests in your situation we did not succeed. I am truly sorry for that and per our previous conversation I am excited to have you back to enjoy the pool and I ensure the excellent service we are known for and comfortable accommodations we will provide. I am positive your next stay will be better and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention so we may become the leaders in our industry.

Yolanda Brown-Burnstien
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Dated decor but comfortable room.
Great view over the river but the payoff was pretty noisy early morning.
Staff without exception really friendly and helpful.
Biggest drawback was the design of the hotel, low and very long.
Be prepared for some long walks to get from a to b.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LW64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing