We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The room was great bathroom was awesome, but we had a poor night's stay due to the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #56 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“The room was great bathroom was awesome, but we had a poor night's stay due to the noise”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We experienced a problem with noise throughout our stay. The first night, there was a lot of noise from the room adjoining ours. We could hear the other room's entire conversation that they were having and it was very intrusive for us and kept us from going to sleep. In the morning, we were awoken by the repeated slamming of the door from the housekeeping supply room. It started very early and we were unable to return to sleep because it kept slamming over and over again. We tried to turn the air on and even put a white noise player on but we still could not sleep. Because of these two items, we really had a poor night's sleep and were irritated about it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Mindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Mindy
Please accept my apology for the noise you experienced from our housekeeping staff, I have addressed this issue with our staff and I can assure you this will not be an issue in the future, This is not the type of stay we want our guest to have.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    368
    182
    86
    56
See reviews for
267
251
58
294
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

we had our annual buick club meeting at this hotel.........we had 400 people sighned up...........the hotel did not tell us there was a 13% bed tax per nite or that we would have to pay for parking on hotel property.......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Love this place have stopped here on nearly ever trip to Portland. Nice location close to shops. Just a short dive to Downtown. Also has a beautiful river walk. Has a great outdoor pool with plenty of sun loungers beside . Also it is very easy access for I 5.

Room Tip: I like to be close to the pool on the river side so I have view. This stay had a long walk to pool...
See more room tips
Green Features: happy with the hotels practices keep un the good work
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel is nice and clean and for the most part we enjoyed our stay. The dinning room and very nice and faces the river. Tip: When booking a room make sure you know where your room is, as the standard rooms are facing the parking lot and freeway which is right beside the hotel. Very noisy! Try to book a room in the east wing of the hotel. It will cost you more but may be worth it as it is away from the freeway and closer the the front desk and pool area.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

What a good surprise for us! We arrived in Portland one day earlier and I booked a room without any previous information, I choosed The Red Lion because it was very cheap (90 USD a night). We found a quick and attencious check in, a very good (and big) room, and a bonus in the parking área, the Buick Club of America meeting, with hundreds of beautiful cars

Room Tip: river front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Marcos
I am happy that you had a chance to stay with us during the Buick club auto show here at the hotel, The history and style of the old Buicks were amazing and the amount of time and money these owners spend on there hobby of restoring these vehicles is a real passion, We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Portland area.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The overall trip was great.
The hotel needs to go through a major overhaul of rooms, bathrooms and hallways. They need to thoroughly steam clean all carpets and floors and bathroom tile... You can tell the maids clean 'what they see' not behind anything or under stuff...kinda gross... Everything else was great and I'd probably stay again, would just be nice for the location and price to see a little more pride of ownership.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Hillary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Hillary
It sounds like you and the girls had a great successful trip and enjoyed your stay, The hotel is currently under the process of some upgrade and renovations and we just completed the resurfacing of the pool area in time for the summer pool season we are also in the process of painting the exterior of the hotel and hope to be complete before the great summer weather turns to fall we then will be moving to the interior of the building to start some corridor carpet and tile replacement, We hope that you will come back to stay with us again and see the changes we are making. We appreciate the feedback

Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights. Front desk staff, very helpful. Had our taxi to the airport all set up for us for our early morning flight..clean spacious rooms. Spacious bathroom. Nice view of river during breakfast on site. Nice pool. We had 3 familys staying there and all were impressed. Comfortable beds. Our particular room was near the bridge so there was traffic noise. Some of our other family members were on the other side of the hotel and did not experience this. 15 minutes to Portland airport..15 minutes or so to downtown portland. My 17 year old son enjoyed working out in the hotel gym. I would stay here again for sure if i find myself again in Portland.

Room Tip: rooms further away from the bridge will be quieter. all rooms have a small balcony. river view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Nancy
I am happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and everyone had a chance to enjoy the fitness facility and the pool, The hotel is centrally located for great access to the airport along with a short drive or public transit to downtown.

We appreciate the feedback and your business
Rod Russell
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Portland - Jantzen Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Portland North Harbour
0.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland North Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Vancouver-Portland
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland North Harbour
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Property: Red Lion Hotel on the River
Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing