We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge facility, very nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Ranked #56 of 146 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed one night after a riverboat cruise, and the room was wonderful. We arrived early AM, so they held our luggage and we took the hotel van to the tram station. We waited about 20 minutes for the van, which seemed too long to me. Apparently, they were waiting for another passenger.

The hotel is huge, and it was quite a trek to our rooms. I think this facility is designed to house conventions and such. I was told they have a pool and tennis courts, but never saw them. They are on the river, and we took a nice walk along the river path.

The hotel is located pretty far out from most Portland attractions. While the room and bathroom were spacious, with great WiFi, I don't think I would stay there if I wanted to sight see in Portland. We used the tram to get around, but we spent a lot of time waiting around.

Although there were a lot of noisy people in the hallways, it was quiet in our rooms, which was all that mattered to us.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank sablatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I booked the Red Lion because it has a nice outdoor pool overlooking the river. I have three kids under 10 and a pool is a must for Summer travel, but very few Portland hotels have outdoor pools. The staff was remarkably friendly and accommodating, as nice as I experienced in far more expensive hotels. The hotel is 7 miles from downtown Portland, but close to the freeway. It was very convenient to Portland destinations on the weekends, but a bit trick on the weekdays. The negatives are that the hotel and rooms had a bit of a musty smell and we stayed on the side of the hotel that is close to the freeway and far from the pool. The road noise was quite loud even with the door closed and caused me to have trouble sleeping the first nigh. I would definitely request a room on the other side of the hotel. Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Lowell A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Lowell
Thank you for share your comments regarding your recent stay with us and I am happy your family was able to enjoy the pool and you found the hotel to have a good value, I have passed along your comments concerning the musty smell of your room so they can follow up.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We experienced a problem with noise throughout our stay. The first night, there was a lot of noise from the room adjoining ours. We could hear the other room's entire conversation that they were having and it was very intrusive for us and kept us from going to sleep. In the morning, we were awoken by the repeated slamming of the door from the housekeeping supply room. It started very early and we were unable to return to sleep because it kept slamming over and over again. We tried to turn the air on and even put a white noise player on but we still could not sleep. Because of these two items, we really had a poor night's sleep and were irritated about it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Mindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Mindy
Please accept my apology for the noise you experienced from our housekeeping staff, I have addressed this issue with our staff and I can assure you this will not be an issue in the future, This is not the type of stay we want our guest to have.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

we had our annual buick club meeting at this hotel.........we had 400 people sighned up...........the hotel did not tell us there was a 13% bed tax per nite or that we would have to pay for parking on hotel property.......

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dora W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Love this place have stopped here on nearly ever trip to Portland. Nice location close to shops. Just a short dive to Downtown. Also has a beautiful river walk. Has a great outdoor pool with plenty of sun loungers beside . Also it is very easy access for I 5.

Room Tip: I like to be close to the pool on the river side so I have view. This stay had a long walk to pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel is nice and clean and for the most part we enjoyed our stay. The dinning room and very nice and faces the river. Tip: When booking a room make sure you know where your room is, as the standard rooms are facing the parking lot and freeway which is right beside the hotel. Very noisy! Try to book a room in the east wing of the hotel. It will cost you more but may be worth it as it is away from the freeway and closer the the front desk and pool area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Red Lion Hotels
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

What a good surprise for us! We arrived in Portland one day earlier and I booked a room without any previous information, I choosed The Red Lion because it was very cheap (90 USD a night). We found a quick and attencious check in, a very good (and big) room, and a bonus in the parking área, the Buick Club of America meeting, with hundreds of beautiful cars

Room Tip: river front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod R, Manager at Red Lion Hotel on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Marcos
I am happy that you had a chance to stay with us during the Buick club auto show here at the hotel, The history and style of the old Buicks were amazing and the amount of time and money these owners spend on there hobby of restoring these vehicles is a real passion, We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Portland area.

Rod Russell
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Portland North
#66 of 146 in Portland
48 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Riverplace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel on the River

Address: 909 N Hayden Island Dr, Portland, OR 97217-8118 (Formerly Doubletree)
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Portland
#34 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £86 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel on the River 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy hotel in Portland - Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach Breathtaking river views greet you upon arrival at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. Our Portland waterfront hotel provides comfortable accommodations in a rustic setting just outside downtown Portland. Our accommodations provide a calm oasis on the water away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each premium guestroom and deluxe suite serve as the perfect home away from home during your stay at our Columbia River hotel. Business guests will appreciate 36,000 square feet of flexible function space on the water. If you're coming by plane, our complimentary airport shuttle will provide safe and comfortable roundtrip service. Greet the day with an incredible breakfast at our onsite restaurant, the Jantzen Beach Bar & Grill, before enjoying a leisurely walk along the waterfront or a quick game of tennis on our Red Lion Court. Enjoy premium accommodations and amenities at a great value at Red Lion Hotel on the River - Jantzen Beach. TOP FEATURES AT OUR DOWNTOWN PORTLAND HOTEL: Restaurant & Lounge Swimming pool & whirlpool JB's Night Club​ Pets can stay for just $15 a night GET LOCAL AT NEARBY ATTRACTIONS With a prime location near Downtown Portland, guests at Red Lion Hotel on the River can enjoy both the liveness in the city and adventures in the Pacific Northwest nature nearby. Explore these attractions during your stay at our hotel in Portland. Delta Park Columbia River University of Portland Local craft breweries Theme parks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Lion Hotel on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Portland
Red Lion Portland
Portland Red Lion
Red Lion Jantzen Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing