We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Hotel on the River
Nearby Hotels
Inn at Northrup Station(Portland)
US$206
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
US$172
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$236
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$392
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$163
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$236
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$241
US$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$358
US$348
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sentinel(Portland)
US$249
US$207
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
406
425
220
108
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
406
425
220
108
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjantzen beachtennis courtshayden islandflight pathbit datedhotel restauranteasy accessroom was largetwo queen bedsfront desk stafffree parkingportland areaconferencefreewaybalconiesshuttlemt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,146 - 1,151 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2011

Rooms are unbelievably spacious and the bathrooms too. Couldn't believe it. Serivce was incredible, waitstaff was very on top of things and when I accidentally locked my earrings in the safe, someone was there within 10 min to open it for me. Couldn't use the pool because it was winter. Hotel has a free shuttle to and from the airport and it's not far. The room next to me was very noisy at night but unfortunately the hotel cannot control that! Great free wireless internet and good signals everywhere.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bronzchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

It is unlikely you would stay at this hotel unless at a meeting, since it is a bit out of the way from downtown Portland and in an OK, but not great location. In that context though, it is very comfortable and has a very pretty view of the Columbia River, as well as Washington State, on the other side.

The rooms are spacious, with a refrigerator, microwave, etc. There are fast food restaurants within a couple of hundred yards, a Safeway supermarket within 1/2 mile, and a mall with various stores within a mile. There is a convenient airport shuttle, but ample free parking as well.

The hotel is under a flight path for the airport. This can be noisy at times, although the planes are fairly high and over the river. There are no restaurants nearby that are very nice. Management of the hotel restaurant has changed, so prior reviews can be ignored. It is pretty good, not too expensive, and has a small, but varied menu. The views are outstanding. Presence of nearby fast food restaurants seems to keep costs down.

The hotel shuttle will take you to the nearby commuter rail, which you can take into Portland, or you can drive and be there in 15 minutes.

There is a gym that is above average in size and availability of machines, weights, etc. For runners, you can run across the adjacent Interstate 5 bridget to Washington State and east along the river on a wide sidewal, at least three miles each way.

One nearby restaurant that requires a short drive is La Bottega at 1905 Main Street in Vancouver, Washington. It is an Italian deli and wine shop that is also a small restaurant with wonderful food and reasonable prices.

Overall, this is a very comfortable hotel for a convention.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lifesaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Easy to park at the hotel. It is huge hotel. The hotel manager was very friendly.
Good information on the bulletin for the day's events.
Near food store, gas, plaza, interstate and more.
Also near the airport.
near the softball field.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancyball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

I read some of the reviews on this property that characterized it as a dump. I disagree. This property is actually a tremendously good value for the money.

I paid $99 for my room and was given a room on the very end of the "A" wing. Two of the walls were full windows, with drapes that completely close and don't leak light. The balcony is about as close to the I-5 Bridge as you can get, but the slight rumble of the traffic is just "white noise" to me, which helps me sleep. The other window faced directly onto the Columbia River. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. I enjoyed the updated carpet and marble floors. The doors were the older ones from the 70's, but they're solid and don't let any noise in.

Some parts of this property, chiefly the common areas, have not been updated. Who cares? When I was in the room, I'm not looking at the elevators or elevator lobbies. And yes, it's a bit of a hike to get from the room to the hotel restaurant; but, unless you have difficulty ambulating, what's the complaint? You're not walking outside in the cold rain, and walking is actually good for you. I dined at the new restaurant and really enjoyed my dinner. The menu is limited to standard American fare, but the food was hot and tasty and seasoned in a trendy manner.

There's plenty of free parking, the interet was free and very speedy, the heat was central and quiet -- not those window units that I hate -- and the bed was absolutely wonderful. Oh, and there were no bed bugs.

I ordered extra pillows and they showed up immediately. The front desk staff was helpful. They even offered to shuttle me to an area restaurant.

I've stayed at many Portland-area hotels and was inconvenienced in so many ways by expensive parking, poor internet service, valets with attitudes, and teensy rooms with thin walls and climate control that was difficult to adjust. Everything about the Red Lion at Jantzen Beach was perfect and an excellent value. I'll stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GetWellKatelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

The hotel had many amenities to recommend it....complimentary van, concierge service, restaurants, business center, Internet, etc. The room was attractive, comfortable, and clean. Request a riverside room to secure the view. It is a bit more expensive than other rooms but worth every penny. We found the personnel helpful. The cocktail lounge was nice, with piano music. We had killer crab cakes and two other appetizers. Didn't need dinner. The breakfast buffet was expensive and not expecially good. I think the company which runs that restaurant is pulling out, so it would be a good idea to check before your trip to see if it has been replaced and/or what breakfast is offered.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CelineDion88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews