We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Salem, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Top Notch Stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2011

We live 40 miles from the city, and booked a two night stay as part of Portland Perks. We could not have been more pleased with our choice. The friendliness of the staff was evident the moment we entered the hotel. The check in process was the most efficient ever. We arrived early and rooms were available. They were also able to place us near friends. It was nice to be in a hotel that encourages recycling. A bin is provided, a first in any hotel where we have stayed. We ate one dinner and two breakfasts at the hotel restaurant, The Orginal, and thought the food a very good value. We are glad to have discovered this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Btrtrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for the wonderful TripAdvisor review. We are very pleased that you found your stay with us to be "top notch" It is great that you loved our restaurant, the staff service and our green efforts. We too are glad you discovered us and hope to see you again on your next trip to Portland.

Sincerely,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    498
    434
    92
    13
    8
See reviews for
150
398
106
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LA California
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Great property! We were in Portland to begin visiting area colleges so the location was fabulous. Close to everything. Being close and inside the 'free' ride zone on the tram is awesome. The staff is friendly, room was great (with better pillows the rating would have been a five) and understand that there is no parking other than valet. If you are not doing valet, do your research. Staying here will enable you to be close to numerous food 'carts' that are all over downtown.

We would stay here again. Good downtown location.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel to be great. Sounds like we will see you again on your next trip to Portland.

Thanks again.

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

Warmly greeted by the valet and given a helping hand with luggage, leaving the car and checking in was a piece of cake.
Hotel is in a great downtown location, around the corner from shopping, restaurants/nightlife and Portland attractions. Rooms are spacious, clean and extremely comfortable and quiet. Staff friendly and helpful (they'll remember your name!).
Excellent breakfast (and lunch and dinner) in The Original.
Quick and easy highway access when leaving town.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCC020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 13 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We love that you found the hotel to be excellent and a perfect location. I am also pleased to know that you enjoyed the staff service, the room and our restaurant.

Hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Courtyard Marriott boasts "free movie" with stay. Turns out it's almost a hoax. First you don't get any free movie tickets during your stay. Second, you have to jump thro hoops to register with a promotional company whose website is NOT the one on the printed card that Marriott gives you. Third, if you don't manage to jump thro these hoops within 30 days of your check out you don't get anything. So the whole promotion leaves a really really bad odor. Don't get hoaxed by this offer.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueMountainRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. I apologize if the perception is that the "Movie Package" seems like a hoax. I can assure you that it is not. It is a nationwide Courtyard by Marriott promotion. The program was so successful that we ran out of movie tickets for the guest to receive upon check-in. We are waiting for the new ones to arrive. We will be mailing them out to anyone who has not received them. As far as the on-line part of registering, I have a call into the company to ensure everything is working correctly. Until your situation, we have not had a complaint that the website wasn't working.

We value your business and regret causing you any frustration and inconvenience.

Sincerely,


Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Let me start off by saying that I 100% echo all of the other 5-star reviews if this hotel! If you didn't rate this a 5-star, I wonder if you stayed at the same place. I travel to Portland quite frequently and have had the opportunity to stay at all the great hotels there such as Hotel Lucia, Hotel Monaco, The Nines, The Westin, The Paramount, and Hotel DeLuxe. If you can't tell, I like cool and hip boutique hotel experiences.

Hotel Lucia used to be my standard in Portland until I stayed at the Courtyard City Center. Right from the moment the super friendly valet welcomed me and the personable front desk agent checked me, I knew this was going to be great. Plus, the interior design of the hotel is hip, cool, and new!

Here is short list of the specific things I love about the Courtyard City Center:

- Friendly, helpful team (i'm not even an elite Marriott member)
- Nice spacious rooms
- FREE WIFI!!!
- Great location in downtown Portland (near the famous Portland food trucks and the Pearl)
- Great on-site restaurant, The Original, fit for foodies (not typical in a Courtyard)
- FREE Stumptown Coffee in the morning (I went down for 3 refills!)
- It's not a budget buster

The Courtyard City Center definitely deserve a higher TA ranking and is my new Portland standard. I look forward to my next stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCA77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 24 March 2011
WOW! What a really nice review. We are all very happy that you enjoy our hotel so much, especially the fact you rated us as 5 Star. We strive very hard to please all our guests and comments such as yours brings big smiles to our employees.

Thank you, Thank you. We will see you on your next trip to Portland.

Best,
Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, WA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Got a great deal on this on line. Great location, great price, great room. Parking in the area is annoying though. But I highly recommend this hotel. The adjoining restaurant, called The Original, is great and not some cheezy hotel eatery.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jake_phan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our hotel to be a great experience. We hope to see you again at our hotel the next time you travel to our great city.

Best,
Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
losangeles
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

All around, an excellent hotel. Well equipped, comfortable, accommodating and very friendly. Restaurant offers incredibly creative food at extremely reasonable prices. Rooms are modern, comfortable, well appointed and - most important to me - clean.

I travel throughout the US, Asia and Europe on business about 10 weeks a year, generally staying at four star hotels at 4 or 5 times the price. This Courtyard is just as good as those places based on the value and class of service.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank losangelesnativeone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, General Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for the nice review on TripAdvisor. I happy to know that you found our hotel to be equal to that of the 4 and 5 star hotels you are acustomed to staying at. We hope that when your travels call for Portland again, that you will stay with us!

Best,

Eric Paul | GENERAL MANAGER
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 141 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 141 in Portland
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#21 of 141 in Portland
903 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,402 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing