We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Portland City Center

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #23 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice, and it is within walking distance of some nice restaurants and some nice places to shop. The hotel is conveniently located, And about 20 minutes from the airport. There are a lot of sights to see near the hotel. If you're visiting during the summertime there is salmon Springs water fountain and if you have children they will love running through the water.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for the 5 star review. The fountains in the area are a lot of fun for the little ones. We are looking forward to summer arriving which is just around the corner.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    414
    87
    13
    8
See reviews for
146
384
103
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for business. The location is perfect for someone who needs to be in downtown Portland. The staff was extremely friendly and offered good advice for dining options. The hotel is connected to a diner and has a good exercise area. Overall, this was a very nice hotel and I would stay here again.

Pro's - Great location, very clean hotel. In walking distance to the Portland City Grill (across the street), several of the local brew pubs, and other good dining options. As I mentioned previously, very nice and helpful staff.

Con's - Parking is valet and expensive (although in the range of other area hotels). The hotel is a bit pricey, but again in line with other hotels in the area. The hotel was a bit noisy (construction across the street and from some hall noise into the room). The food prices for room service and in the diner are too high for the quality of food (again, you are paying for location more than food quality).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatthewLee_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our location really can't be beat as we are in the heart of downtown and right on the Max light rail line. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location, walking distance to many restaurants and activities. Staff is great! Hotel is quiet and clean. The attached restaurant is good...not the best in the city, but this is a city known for food! Sometimes the valet can get backed up, so make sure you allow plenty of time if you need to drive somewhere.

Green Features: I liked they had both trash cans and recycle bins in the rooms.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cici_sleestak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. Our property cares about being green so thank you for noticing the extra efforts we put into place. I hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I've stayed in other Portland hotels but this is by far my favourite. Provided the price stays competitive, I will definitely stay here again (for example, Courtyard was much more comfortable than the far-more-expensive Lucia a block away).

I stayed for over a week, in more than one room. Their rooms are consistently good and their front desk staff are excellent -- friendly and helpful. Digitally controlled heating/cooling works great, unlike other hotels I've seen. The location is excellent and there are tons of food trucks nearby.

They also have coin-operated laundry facilities and an excellent gym.

Warning: there is construction across the street. Also be sure to compare prices to competitors as I've seen a huge swing in prices over one month.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from construction. The construction across the street can happen at odd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mountain820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for the thorough review. I have to agree that we are one of the best places to stay in downtown Portland. I hope you get another chance soon to come visit us.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is one of the best locations to stay in Portland City Center. It is a short walk to almost everywhere you want to go. There is really nothing bad I can say about the rooms as it is a newer hotel. The restaurant on the bottom (Original) is a really good option for breakfast. Only thing that would be nice is if the internet could last longer than just 1 day and better fitness bikes (love the medicine ball option!). All and all I wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting downtown Portland.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for the fantastic review! Our Engineering team is working with our internet provider to provide better service for our guests so watch for that to be coming soon. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Portland.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel is centrally located in downtown. The waterfront is a few blocks to the east, Pearl District is a few blocks to the northwest, Old Town/Chinatown is a few blocks to the northeast and pioneer square is 1.5 blocks to the south. My friends and I checked- in at 1:00 AM in the morning. The staff was very courteous and checked us in quickly. We were placed on the 16th floor next to the ice dispenser and vending machine. We did not hear the machines next door, however, our room had the adjoining door to the next one and we could hear our neighbors conversations nice and clear at 2:00 AM. The room was clean and spacious. The beds however were not as comfortable. There was a little dip from occupants sleeping in the middle. They offer a hard and soft pillow. I had a chance to use the hotel gym. They had a few treadmills, elliptical, set of weights up to 50lbs, chest/back/legs machines. The valet staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. The cost was of parking was $34 a night. It was a little bit on the high end but it gave me peace of mind that my car was taken care of. We used the car to see the waterfalls along the Columbia River, Washington Park and a few highly recommended restaurants.

Overall, I was impressed by the location of this hotel and I would come back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you so much for the nice review. We have a wonderful team here on property and love to hear when someone else notices how fantastic they are. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Portland.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
111 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

As is generally true of Marriott hotels, this hotel is clean and well run. The polite and friendly young man at reception made a great first impression. I got a corner room with floor to ceiling windows. Even the bathroom had a big window. I loved all the light. I did not however find the city view very attractive and did not like all the street noise. The windows cannot be opened but given all the street noise maybe it is just as well.

I am tired of the unimaginative sameness of Marriott hotels. I expected this one to be different. The hallway was good but the decor of the room itself was uninspiring. Suprisingly the layout of the room did not take maximum benefit of the space.

The bed was super comfortable and it was great to have a little frig in the room. The computer in the lobby that was all set up to print bording passes was great.

This is hotel is in a central location with super access to public transportation. Public transportation in Portland is inexpensive and great. As others have said - the food trucks ('food court') near the hotel have great food. Turn right as you go out the front door and you will find them. If you are there on Saturday continue on down to the river and you will find the Saturday market - an outdoor arts and crafts fair with food and music. You can also walk to the Chinese garden which is very beautiful.

This hotel does not have a pool or any outdoor space. If they ever put in a roof garden with views of Mount Hood I will go back :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryBorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for the review. A roof top garden would be amazing. We do have a small courtyard in the center of the building that allows for fresh air and sunshine and a space to get away from the busy downtown environment. I hope you get the chance to come back to our property soon.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#11 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#17 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#19 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Property: Courtyard Portland City Center
Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing