We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I'm from Vancouver Canada and decided to go to Portland as a family vacation. We booked this hotel and was amazed how lovely and nice the hotel was! The staff were extremely friendly and caring to us. Next time we come back we most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 972Tommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Thank you so much for the amazing 5 star review! I am so happy that you loved our hotel as much as we do. The entire team looks forward to having you back on property in the future.

All the best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Portland City Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

Stayed 4 nights at the end of March, beginning of April in ADA room 206. We were quite leery of any place after reading all the reviews of Portland hotels, and picked a place in which the term "musty" did not apply, as my spouse's allergies would not agree with such.

This turned out to be a good centrally located hotel. Check-in was quick, and the room provided was indeed ADA. Staff was polite. We did not eat at the hotel, as there are way too many places to eat in Portland (think Voodoo Doughnuts just a few blocks away, or an entire block of food carts 1 block east).

The room itself was a perfectly fine space, and the ADA bathroom was great. The sink could be fixed to be mounted closer to the front. The shower was good.

Heating did not really work. Setting the heat to 75 produced cool air, and we mostly wore sweaters. Internet was really slow. I set up my phone as a hot spot, and it was faster than the Internet service provided. TV remote did not turn the power on/off. Channels/Volume worked, but one had to press the power button on the TV itself to turn it on/off. Was assured that the remote would be fixed, but 4 days later it had not been fixed. The mattress should be replaced, as it sagged on each side. Then again, nothing too fatal.

Valet service was really quick. $30/day (average for Portland downtown) with in/out privileges. Text them to call for your car, as they do not have onsite parking for guests. They state 10 minutes after texting, but were usually there in 5.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for the review. I am sorry that we were unable to correct a few minor issues that you had in your guestroom but I am glad that these did not seem to effect your trip. I hope you get the chance to visit Portland again soon!

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Good location, walking distance from so many places. Very pleasant & helpful staff, expecially the valet. Thought it was a pretty good value -- we got the valet package, which saved about $10 over getting valet separately. The room was a good size, and well appointed. Overall, I thought it was a good value, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were only on the 2nd floor, and close to elevator. There was no noise from the hallway or elevat...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guppy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you so much for the fantastic review! We love to hear when others love our staff as much as we do. We hope you get another chance soon to visit us.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed at the Courtyard City Center, and was impressed by the location, everything we wanted to do was within walking distance.

The hotel is a standard Courtyard, comfy beds, WiFi, business center. The hotel staff was pleasant, and watch our luggage for us the next day, while we were out exploring before heading to the airport.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noxiousburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for the review. Again what can I say that hasn't already been said about our location. It truly is one of the best. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip!

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice, and it is within walking distance of some nice restaurants and some nice places to shop. The hotel is conveniently located, And about 20 minutes from the airport. There are a lot of sights to see near the hotel. If you're visiting during the summertime there is salmon Springs water fountain and if you have children they will love running through the water.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Sbyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for the 5 star review. The fountains in the area are a lot of fun for the little ones. We are looking forward to summer arriving which is just around the corner.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for business. The location is perfect for someone who needs to be in downtown Portland. The staff was extremely friendly and offered good advice for dining options. The hotel is connected to a diner and has a good exercise area. Overall, this was a very nice hotel and I would stay here again.

Pro's - Great location, very clean hotel. In walking distance to the Portland City Grill (across the street), several of the local brew pubs, and other good dining options. As I mentioned previously, very nice and helpful staff.

Con's - Parking is valet and expensive (although in the range of other area hotels). The hotel is a bit pricey, but again in line with other hotels in the area. The hotel was a bit noisy (construction across the street and from some hall noise into the room). The food prices for room service and in the diner are too high for the quality of food (again, you are paying for location more than food quality).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewLee_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our location really can't be beat as we are in the heart of downtown and right on the Max light rail line. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location, walking distance to many restaurants and activities. Staff is great! Hotel is quiet and clean. The attached restaurant is good...not the best in the city, but this is a city known for food! Sometimes the valet can get backed up, so make sure you allow plenty of time if you need to drive somewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cici_sleestak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. Our property cares about being green so thank you for noticing the extra efforts we put into place. I hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon.

Best regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#17 of 144 in Portland
2,197 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,550 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Dossier
Dossier
#27 of 144 in Portland
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £105 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing