We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, gorgeous space”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Portland City Center
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here the night of our wedding - it was a gorgeous venue with a stunning view of downtown Portland. We also had a hotel block here and our family and friends really enjoyed the place. Our hotel block coordinator was also very accommodating and helpful. She made everything worked out and that our needs were met. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank happyPDXcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your special day with us! We are so glad you were so happy with your event and we hope to be a venue for you on one of your many special days in the future.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 423 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in late July. The staff was great from the valets to the front desk people. Room was modern, shower was nice and the bed was comfortable. Would definitely stay here again. We valet parked the car and the delivery was quick. Location is very good for all of the downtown areas.

Room Tip: King rooms are rather small but we had enough room for the two of us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank drodawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. Between our location and our staff it is truly hard to beat. I hope you get another chance soon to come back and visit Portland.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed 2 days here. The hotel has average sized rooms, nice beds, but the walls are thin. We could hear the people in the next room talking. We did have breakfast there. The service was very nice and the front desk folks were outstanding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We have an amazing staff here on property so I am glad you were able to enjoy the service that you received from them. We hope you get another chance soon to stay on our property.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for a 3 day weekend with our 2 college age kids. The hotel is very conveniently located so that we could stop back at the hotel to brush teeth, drop off packages, etc. Beds & pillows were super comfortable and I liked the easily adjustable room temp. We were on the 16th floor and had a nice view of the sunset over Washington Park. The elevator security system worked fine for us.

Room Tip: Chose a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank amigos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for the nice review. We are so glad you were able to enjoy a nice sunset while staying on property and hope you got to see a large amount of the city. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Portland.

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is easy to get to and easy to exit. It is centrally located within walking distance of many restaurants. It is right across the street from the Portland City Grill and one block from Portland's food carts. Only about a 3 block walk to Powells. I stayed here, once in June and once in July (both times on points). Rooms are pretty small even for a Courtyard but comfortable enough and quiet. The Original, a Dinerant which is located on the first floor, has very fresh salads, hot food, ample portions, good selection, and good service with reasonable prices. Coffee, granola bars, and apples were provided in the lobby of 15 and 16 when we stayed for a quick, on the go breakfast. I don't know if they are provided on every floor. Staff was friendly and responsive to all requests (I forgot my phone charger and they quickly supplied one).

Valet parking is $32 (it went up from $30 on July 1) and is not waived, period. The valets are friendly and knowledgeable about what restaurants, etc are in the area. Mass transit is located about 1/4 block from the hotel entrance.

We had a couple of minor problems. With the first room the shower leaked a big puddle under the door and the second room had a tub with a dirty shower curtain. The elevator had hand and finger prints all over it (ewww) and the card required "security system" is non-existant. Both times I questioned the staff about this and both times the staff said they disable it during the day so that meetings can be held without inconveniencing the attendees. However both times the security system was not functioning even after dinner (8-9pm). What is the point of having a security system if you disable it?

If you want a centrally located hotel with excellent access to mass transit when attending functions downtown, this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: there is construction going on in front of the hotel so the view from the back is much better. Uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vaca0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for writing such a detailed review. I am sorry you had any issues in your guestroom while staying on our property. Our location can't be beat so I hope you get a chance to stay in downtown Portland again soon and choose to stay with us.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Great location right downtown. I used my Marriot points to stay here in July for two nights mid July this year. Small two queen bed room shared with my wife & daughter. Room was clean, beds were comfy, nice view of the water & bridge from the 12th floor. Many great restaurant's within walking distance. Nice gym, no pool & $32.00 a night to Valet park(ouch!)

Room Tip: Higher floors offer good views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am so glad you got a great view and had a good time while staying in Portland. I hope you choose to stay with us again soon!

Best,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After a long Portland Rose Parade day and pub crawl, the Marriott Courtyard was the perfect hotel to return to. Centrally located around many eating and bar destinations, we were easily able to meet up with friends and return to the hotel even in the midst of parade day chaos.
There are many average hotels, but this one stands out as a relaxing and welcoming place to stay. Yes, you should be out doing stuff in Portland while you are visiting, but if you want, as I did, you can relax at this Marriott. Room service was fast and tasty. I even popped myself some popcorn in the lounge and felt comfortable doing it! The room was cool and comfortable. Every interaction with the staff was friendly.
For the location and the price (especially compared to other hotels in the area and of the like) this was well worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ABodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CourtyardPDXGM, Manager at Courtyard Portland City Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank you for the amazing review. I am glad we could be your home away from home. I hope you get a chance to return again soon.

Best Regards,

Lindsey Ficken | Director of Rooms
Courtyard by Marriott Portland City Center- A Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,588 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#17 of 144 in Portland
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Portland City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Portland City Center

Address: 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204-1700
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Portland
#18 Business Hotel in Portland
#20 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £98 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard Portland City Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, the Courtyard by Marriott® City Center hotel near downtown Portland, Oregon's Pearl District provides you with everything you'll need. From spacious guest rooms to our business center and on-site restaurant with classic American cuisine, this Pearl District, Portland hotel's amenities and services offer the perfect "Rose City" experience in the downtown Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Portland City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Portland City Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing