We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely presentation”

Oregon Historical Society Museum
Ranked #20 of 442 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: View the 1845 covered wagon on display as well as the Native American Basketry collection.
new york
Level Contributor
1,097 reviews
376 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“A lovely presentation”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Good films. Good shop. Close to psu farmer market. Not crowded. Senior admission for age 60 and up. Not 65 like the light rail.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    107
    27
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

What a tremendous museum. Very informative and easy to follow. Easily could have spent three hours following the History of Oregon but ran out of time. Nevertheless the hour and a half that we did have was provided a good overview and information.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
706 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 365 helpful votes
“Nice Displays”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

The Skinny-

Parking: metered street
Cost: $11 pp
Restrooms: on every level
Time: 2-2.5 hrs (3 floors)
Gift shop: okay
Best part: Abe Lincoln exhibit

Despite getting here right when it opened, there was already a horde of school children at the Oregon display. So we went a little backwards and did the floors out of order. I liked the Geology hallway that explained the formation of the state. There was also a cool storm wind booth that is $2 to see what it's like in gale force winds but when I stepped inside and looked up, it looked like no one had ever cleaned the duct and there was a great amount of dirt.

The history of the state displays were nicely put together. The films are outdated so you don't hv to bother with them. The Abe Lincoln exhibit was very well done and I loved the quiz at the end.

The gift shop is small, nothing stood out. All in all a nice little museum.

Helpful?
Thank melobeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very interesting exhibits.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The exhibits are chronological starting with Native Americans. Lots of artifacts including a Oregon Trail Wagon. Nice little rooms to sit down every now and then to watch a short documentary. We couldn't believe that we had spent 3 hours in there. Ooooo, and there's a great frozen yogurt place across the street, on the same side of the park.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Richland, WA, United States
Level Contributor
138 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Well done historical museum”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The only problem the day we went was the large number of groups of school kids. It is a very interesting museum with many films explaining various times in history, One of the most interesting areas was the area related to dredging the Columbia River and the complications after the eruption of Mt. St.Helens.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Oregon Historical Society Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing