We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Center of downtown”

Pioneer Courthouse Square
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.00*
and up
Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls
More Info
US$34.00*
and up
Portland Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
US$86.00*
and up
Portland Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Trolley and Columbia River Gorge Tour
Ranked #29 of 448 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular square in downtown Portland.
Winchester, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fun Center of downtown”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I always stop in this area when visiting downtown Portland. For one, we have a brick in the square, typically there is some sort of vendor, or music, or street performers. During Christmas time, the tree is set up, and the square is decorated for the holidays. It's an area that's well lit, spaced out, close to everything, good for meeting up with people and deciding what to do from there, as well as having MAX stops on either side so you can always catch a train somewhere.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    194
    95
    24
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Place to people watch”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Besides people watching there's nothing to do here when there's nothing going on. It is a public square overall.

That being said there are lots of seats and areas to take a rest if you're nearby and need a place to eat your lunch or have a break.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Memories”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I visited Pioneer Courthouse Square while in Portland for a conference. Since it is my former home town, I have good memories of working downtown just a couple of blocks from the Square. I also remembered to take my Square map with me so I could find family names on bricks we purchased to help build it. Unfortunately, I couldn't find a few because they were covered by an absolutely spectacular display of colorful flowers. This is typical of how the Square is used. Visitors at almost any time of year will be wowed by festivals, music and other events. It was lovely to be home. :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurieJOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
154 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Neat area downtown.”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I was not there on the weekend but i was told that it has summer concerts and the like - but it seemed like a nice place to hang out in the City to have lunch or the like.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good place to people watch”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a fun area to just sit and listen to live bands and people watch. I grabbed a wrap from Freshi, sat on the steps, and hung out there for lunch and saw a lot of interesting and fun people. Portland is known to be weird for a reason, and this place is a great SAFE place to just hang out and soak it all in.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mai1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pioneer Courthouse Square also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Courthouse Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing