We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Liked the room, other services lacking” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
Ranked #74 of 138 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Liked the room, other services lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I am normally loyal to a different hotel brand but decided to stay at IHG property because of a promotion they were running. We stayed at the Candlewood for a night while visiting friends in Portland. It's about 15 minutes from the city center. If you have a car, it is much cheaper to stay by the airport than downtown.

I liked the room at Candlewood. We had a kitchen, bathroom, and nice bed. Everything seemed clean.

One thing I didn't care for was the cheapness of this hotel. Very few toiletries in the bathroom, no breakfast, etc. I asked the front desk for a toothbrush (I forgot mine) and they said I could buy one from the hotel store. I would never expect that from a chain hotel.

I probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie_Janeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Stephanie_Janeen,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our Candlewood Suites Extended Stay Hotel near the Portland Airport. We appreciate you mentioning the cleanliness of the room and the "nice bed". We are geared toward the extended stay traveler staying from 7+ nights all the way to a year long stay. We certainly do not intend to make it seem as the items we offer are lacking. However, we do try to eliminate waste as part of our green initiative and lower cost to offer a better value to our traveler's without sacrificing cleanliness and services. All items are value priced in our Candlewood Cupboard at just $6 or less where we do offer toothbrush's, toothpaste as well as many other items so guests do not have to find a store to purchase these last minute items. We hope to see you again soon when your travel brings you back to Portland.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    61
    20
    11
    9
See reviews for
47
63
34
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 after a long cross-country flight, before hitting the road the next day for our ultimate destination. With any hotel that's this close to the airport (less than five minutes, directly east and under the flight path), one has to worry about noise. Not with the Candlewood -- the place was very quiet. We also have family members who are sensitive to aromatic cleaning supplies. We asked that the Candlewood not use them before our arrival, and they accommodated. While we did not need to use the Candlewood's extended-stay features, for anyone needing an affordable, extended-stay facility that's convenient to the airport or East Portland, Candlewood would be at the top of my list.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sox_Fan47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sox_Fan47,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you mentioning how quiet, clean and accomodating our hotel and team were. We truly enjoy being able to serve each and every guest. We hope to see you again when your travel brings you back to Portland.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

My family & I stayed at the Candlewood Suites in Portland, OR Sep 2013. We travel often and choose a suite hotel near the airport. During our stay we needed a plunger & asked at the front desk for one. The agent said that they did NOT have a plunger so my husband told her he would go and buy one. While he was at the store the agent apparently found a plunger and began to knock on our door it was 3AM. Being alone with my daughter I did not answer so she decided to call our room needless to say she woke me up to tell me she found the plunger. Well my husband was already on his way back from the store and I told her that. She said we would need to speak with the manager that morning. We spoke with the operations manager. The operations manager must have NO experience in customer service because she refused to acknowledge that it was not right to have lied to my husband & then wake me up. When we told her that we purchased a plunger ourselves she said "TAKE IT BACK, you'll get a refund." We had to remind her it had been USED and yet she kept saying "I’m just suggesting it". At that point we asked for the GM. The GM was not avail. but was to have called us the next day. We did not receive a phone call from him or explanation. We checked out & moved to Hyatt Place. There complacency has lost them a customer. We value our health and the well-being of others & will NEVER again stay at a Candlewood Suites part of IHG. #grossedout

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinglight2nite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear travelinglight2nite,

We are extremely sorry for the inconvenience during your stay. I would however, like to point out some inaccuracies with your review. Your husband had come down and asked for a plunger. Unfortunately, the one in housekeeping, behind the front desk was being used by another guest. Our team member did not want to have your husband wait and politely let him know she would bring the plunger shortly to the room as she would have to go to a storage room upstairs. Within 10 minutes our team member had located and attempted to deliver the plunger to the room. As your husband had created a sense of urgeny and due to the matter, our team member felt the need to call the room as not to further inconvenience you as guests. I did attempt to call the phone number on file upon my return on Tuesday and received a recording that stated, "you have reached a voicemail box that has not been set up". Please feel free to contact me at 503-251-4591 at your earliest convenience to discuss this matter further.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel fits the bill for an easy airport stay. It's very close to PDX and has quiet, spacious rooms at a great price. I would generally prefer to stay at a hotel with a breakfast option, but appreciated the availability of some foods in the lobby store. The free laundry setup is really a great perk.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ieateverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear ieateverything,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel and for mentioning how quiet and spacious our rooms are. Also, thank you for mentioning our complimentary guest laundry. Our Candlewood Cupboard is great feature and allows guests to build their own breakfast packages for around $3.50 giving each guest flexibility as it is open 24 hours a day. We hope to see you again soon.

KIndest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverkip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed one night for an early morning flight the next day from Portland Airport. Location is great for the airport takes 5 minutes. Good check in with helpful staff and the hotel has the majority you need , but no bar or restaurant . That is because this chain is really self catering and the room reflect this and is well fitted with Kitchen, microwave and all utensils. There is one restaurant close by open 24 hrs. Rooms are spacious clean and comfortable. Free laundry facilities and gym room.
The hotel is in a bit of a industrial park location but is very safe.One of the best priced hotels with excellent facilities that i have stayed at .

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Tim P,

Thank you for such a wonderful review of our hotel. We truly enjoy being able to serve guests like yourself. Thank you for mentioning our proximity to the airport and for mentioning how helpful our staff was. I will make sure to pass along your comments to our team. We hope to see you again in the near future.

KIndest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for us as it was convenieny to go to the Columbia Gorge, mt Rainer, Astoria, Tillamook and down the coast. Never crowded, free washer and dryer, kitchen in every room and very pleasant staff. We used our Entertainment card for a savings.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artist5320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Artist5320,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our extended stay hotel. We truly appreciate guests comments and feedback. We are so happy that you found our hotel to be a “Great location clean and spacious rooms”. I will make sure to pass along your feedback to our "pleasant" front desk team and we are so glad you found the complimentary guest laundry to be of convenience for you. We hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We only stayed one night here but it was just what we needed. Heaps of space, comfortable big bed, very very clean and free wifi. There are free laundry facilities which was handy, plus we experienced very helpful service from the reception staff who directed us to the Target and other convenient shopping places that are just around the corner. Breakfast was not included in the tariff but we just bought some milk and cereal and made some tea in the mini kitchenette in our room. Well stocked with everything you need - plates, cups, cutlery, etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbag2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDXCWGM, General Manager at Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear Travelbag2013,

We are estatic that you found our hotel to be a “Fantastic value, spacious and very clean”. Thank you for taking the time to mention the free wifi and guest laundry as well as the cleanliness of our hotel. I will make sure to let our housekeeping team know about your comments and the great job they are doing. We hope to see you again soon when you are back in Portland.

Kindest Regards,

Nathan Storms
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Portland Airport
Courtyard Portland Airport
#48 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport

Property: Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport
Address: 11250 NE Holman, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests Love Portland, OR Airport Hotel's Location. Situated in Portland, Oregon near the airport, this hotel's welcoming amenities and cozy surroundings provide the convenience of a hotel and the comfort of an apartment. With downtown Portland just a short drive away and Cascade Station shopping center within walking distance, you'll never run out of things to do here at the Candlewood Suites® Hotel Portland - Airport.Corporate travelers looking for Portland, Oregon airport hotels appreciate our free 2.5 mile area shuttle in addition to the perks like free high-speed Internet access. Guests can count on an easy commute to Boeing, Oregon National Guard and the Honda and Toyota Training Centers. There's a boardroom suitable for on-site meetings of up to eight people.Patrons of this hotel in Portland, Oregon are only minutes from Portland's city center, which boasts incredible architecture, shopping and fine dining. Other "must see" area attractions include the Portland Saturday Market and the Oregon Zoo. Guests can literally view the entire city from the OHSU's Portland Aerial Tram.Top-notch amenities like free self-service laundry facilities and a 24-hour Fitness Center ensure convenience for guests. You can grill out in the gazebo or relax with a DVD from our free lending library. We offer Park, Stay and Go Packages, too, which include up to 14 days of free parking at the hotel. While in Portland, Oregon, you can "Consider Us Home." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG and Booking.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites - Portland Airport Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing