We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay, but just OK location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Southwest
Ranked #58 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Goodrich, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“good stay, but just OK location”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Our king-bed room overlooked a roof, so the view was poor. This location is very busy with traffic, and we had to use our Garmin just to find a Red Lobster restaurant. On the other hand, the bed was comfortable, and there were fluffy towels and washcloths for a change. At breakfast, the McMuffins and apples were individually wrapped (great sanitary idea), and there were plenty of tables for the breakfast crowd. Nice stay except for the location.

Room Tip: Our king-sized bed was comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadsterusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    47
    20
    7
    4
See reviews for
58
38
9
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The manager is a real jerk, he decided to have a employee party with no warning right outside my room and after several hours of hearing kids screaming up and down the halls I complained and he told me if I didn't like it I could leave, I was shocked he would say that to a good customer who had been there for almost a month so I left and had to find another place on Christmas Eve. Other complaints include the lady desk clerk with a infant crying all the time, the maids threw away my parking pass and business cards I need for work, the swimming pool has scum all over the bottom. I could go on but you get the picture, I recommend you stay at the Hospitality Inn, just down the road a half mile.

Room Tip: just don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for four nights during a recent trip to Portland. The hotel itself is fine, but they are very obviously trying to keep staff costs as low as possible. The front desk lady had her infant child with her at all times, who was sometimes crying. There is only one housekeeper for the entire hotel, so on two consecutive days we left the hotel at 9:00 AM and returned at 4:30 to a room that had not been made up. I cannot recommend this hotel due to the management's obvious attempts to cut costs wherever possible.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank musicalarchitect75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed here just one night as we were attending the American Idol concert at the Rose Garden. This hotel was about 10 minutes from downtown and the room was quite nice and the breakfast had plenty of food, even eggs and sausage!

A very good experience at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: Plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Stayed on the coupon rate from the travel guide picked up at the rest stop. More than worth the price:, clean room, friendly staff, nice breakfast selection. One thing they need is a bit more parking. Some people took up more than one space so had to park on the street but was assured that was due to them being fully booked and some inconsiderate guests. Will remember them when I'm in the area and need a room.

Room Tip: If you don't have a coupon, ask for AAA rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConroyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Friendly staff, clean room and convenient location...will be returning.

Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank BZGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2010

Good place to sleep in Portland. Clean rooms and helpful staff

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
1.0 mi away
Hospitality Inn
Hospitality Inn
#89 of 142 in Portland
140 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland - Tigard
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn Tigard - Portland Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
1.8 mi away
Phoenix Inn Suites
Phoenix Inn Suites
#5 of 7 in Lake Oswego
189 reviews
2.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Washington Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Southwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Southwest

Property: Comfort Suites Southwest
Address: 11340 SW 60th Ave, Portland, OR 97219-6757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Portland
#29 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#31 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Southwest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Suites Southwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Southwest Hotel Portland
Comfort Suites Portland
Portland Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing