We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity at it's best!!”

The Grotto - National Sanctuary of Our Sorrowful Mother
Ranked #6 of 448 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An internationally renowned Catholic sanctuary set among 62 acres of botanical gardens, offering a place of peace and quiet reflection for all people. More than 100 beautiful statues,reflection ponds, and views offer inspiration to all who visit.
Newton, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Serenity at it's best!!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I spent the day at the Grotto on a recent trip to Portland. I was first amazed at it's location. On a busy thoroughfare sits 62 acres of quiet serenity. The landscape is inviting. The works of art from the Seven Stations of The Cross, to the replica of the Pieta, to the unique pieces on the upper level are simply breathtaking. The atmosphere was inviting and content. It was a joy to sit and reflect on all that Christ has done. The labrynth was inviting and convicting. Thank you to the folks who make the Grotto possibly. I pray God's richest blessings! The place is certainly a jewel for Portland and I would encourage everyone to go when in Portland.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,017 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    226
    54
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoschton, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Must See”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Really an AMAZING place, very close to the city. The Grotto is beautiful and its well worth the $4.50 to see the upper grounds. It will take your breath away!! Very peaceful, very beautiful, very serene. Go to Mass here if you can...

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Serenity amid all trees”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Beginning in the parking lot and following the path through a forest of tall trees ... a marble copy of Michelangelo's La Pieta graces a cavern carved into a hillside. An elevator takes visitors up to a beautifully manicured garden for a small fee.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephieland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and peaceful.”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I visited this place thoroughly years ago and I went back again last week, but it was raining. I didn't spend much time outside of the gift shop last week. Every time I visited there in the past, I would go to the gift shop for religious gifts and souvenirs. It was probably one of the best places to go outside of a Christian gift shop/bookstore to find religious stuff. I also visited the lower level sites like the actual Grotto there and stations of the Crucifixion which are around the parking area. That's all that I'm going to comment on. I went before and went up the elevator and walked around but I don't remember much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Amazing botanical gardens”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Grotto is a Catholic sanctuary with a chapel and monastery, but the botanical gardens can be enjoyed by anyone.

It seems unbelievable to find a 62-acre botanical garden in the middle of a city, but here it is. It's just off NE Sandy Blvd, a main street that runs diagonally all the way through Portland. Very easy to find.

At the entrance next to the parking lot is a gift store. But it's not the only gift store, so before you buy a bunch of mementos, check out the store by the chapel. When the main gift store was sold out of The Grotto candles, the store by the chapel had plenty more.

"The Grotto" refers to the shrine at the base of Rocky Butte cliff, but there's so much more than just this one monument. There is an elevator that takes you 110 feet up to the top of the cliff. It cost $4.50 to go up when I visited. Aside from a simple map at the entrance, there was no indication of what we'd find up there. They don't do a lot to sell it. Their website shows only one small thumbnail image. My advice is to pay your $4.50 without a moment's hesitation.

There are winding trails through manicured gardens, streams and ponds, statues and ethnic shrines, and a large meditation chapel. The meditation chapel is like being inside a giant old-fashioned TV set, with a massive curved glass screen looking out over Northeast Portland, the Columbia River, and even Mount St. Helens. Comfortable leather chairs allow you to enjoy the peaceful view.

You could easily spend half a day or more here. Plan to spend at least two hours even if you rush.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tripleaardvark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grotto - National Sanctuary of Our Sorrowful Mother also viewed

 

Been to The Grotto - National Sanctuary of Our Sorrowful Mother? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing