We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here when you are in Portland”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Ranked #34 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

This place is great. We read the reviews and contacted a couple of the reviewers and decided to stay here as we got an incredible price. The place is as reported...huge modern room, NO noise even though we were right by the airport. They have done a great job of noise proofing the rooms. We had a bad thermostat so controlling the temperature was not fun. They tried to fix it, but we finally just added another blanket to the bed and left it cold. The place is kept up very nicely and the rooms are spotless. The light rail being so close is a plus as it's easy to get into town and back. There is fresh cooked breakfast, but they seemed to run out of things quick so get there early. We would definitely stay here again if we find ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txorig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

Husband had a business trip and we chose this Residence in when the Lloyd Center facility was totally booked and the absolute closest to where his meetings were. The Inn is located at Cascade Station near the Portland airport. It was quiet for a good nights sleep (we typically don't stay at airport hotels) and appears to be quite new. The decor was contemporary/modern with bright colors which was really refreshing. The light in the room was very good compared to the older Lloyd Center suites and therefore a very pleasant environment to get some work done. The lobby/dining area was nice with a long granite bar area, in addition to dining tables, and small open conference 'cubbies'. Forgot to pack a swimsuit but there is an indoor pool and a courtyard with a gas fireplace between it and the dining area.

MAX is right outside and was an easy 20 minute ride to downtown. There are several shops and restaurants withing an easy walking distance.

Staff was friendly and helpful. Very pleasant 1 week stay.

Room Tip: We were happy on the back side along a busy access road but another business associate preferred the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimMac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Very nice hotel. We stayed in a corner room with a fireplace. Conveniently located next to a light rail stop and a 3 minute walk to the largest Target I've ever seen. Staff was friendly and courteous. Easy decision on where we'll stay in the future when in Portland.

Room Tip: Fireplace room is very cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OceansideGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Great stay, great location, nice staff while we were THERE but we forgot my daughter's blanket at the hotel and after repeated phone calls, they have yet to recover it for us. We called immediately after we left and they said they'd call us back shortly after following up w. housekeeping - and didn't. So we called back. Again, they said they'd look into it, nothing. This is my daughter's favourite blanket. It's definitely our fault for forgetting it but I am shocked by how little they care - no calls back, not even to say they can't find it?! Terrible after service. So go, enjoy yourself but don't dare forget anything that matters to you....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lashied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I've become quite enamored with this branch of the Marriott empire since they all have the following as standard equipment in each suite: microwave, full-sized oven and refrigerator, cabinets, flatware, and cookware.

As a silver Marriott Rewards member, I was given a rate of $94/night for a king bed suite with a fireplace. Normally, I'm rolling the dice on Priceline to score a "recession special" at an upscale hotel in the heart of downtown but reading up on the reviews on Trip Advisor, this hotel got some stellar reviews. Plus, if you get one of those fancy-pants hotels via Priceline, you'll probably have to open your wallet again and again for parking, internet, and breakfast. While Al Gore didn't invent parking or breakfast, I certainly don't think one should pay for something he did invent. Here, everything previously mentioned is included - free parking, free internet, and free breakfast.

Let's start with some perspective on the issue of distance from downtown: Coming from Houston, TX, our big airport is 27 miles from downtown proper. PDX and this hotel are roughly 7 miles from Portland's downtown as the crow flies; you can take the Red Line MAX light rail to downtown for $2.10 one-way in 38 minutes (Buy an all-day pass for $5 to save money if you're going to use it for more trips). So, it isn't far at all but granted you are at the airport - and everyone knows that the words "glamorous" and "airport" are hardly ever used together.

The hotel sits literally across the parking lot from the Mt Hood MAX station - don't let the "Cascade Station" part of their name fool you into getting off there. It seems that Cascade Station is also the name of a commercial development area - there is a mall at that particular station. When you get off the train, you're looking at the hotel. A Subway sandwich shop is across the driveway while your new BFF store, Target, is just down the walk.

The hotel's windows are double-paned so you don't hear the trains or nearby airplanes at all. I was on the first floor (Room 135), which faced the parking lot and train station. It was a good spot because I could run in and out using the side door to catch the approaching train*, rather than hustle several halls to the front desk. A downside is you may get the Dutch national clogging team living in the suite above you - okay, it only seemed like they were up there but the noise could be a factor. If it is, request a top (4th) floor room.

Room size: The fact that they had plenty of land to plop this building on means that each room is huge. I'd say that each suite is probably bigger than many Portlanders' apartments. And, my room here was the largest one I've experienced over 4 different Residence Inns. So, when I tell you "big", I know "big". (Don't go there.) Each room has a wonderfully efficient A/C system that cranks out all the heat and cool you'll need - I had a chance to call for both during the same trip. Bathroom is palatial with separate rooms for shower/toilet and vanity; lots of granite counter space in the vanity area. There is a pull-out sofabed in the living area. King bed had a wonderful firm mattress and plenty of great lighting.

Services: Fitness room is adequate, self-serve laundry runs $1 a load, the indoor pool is a saltwater version, and the breakfast has one hot item that varies from day-to-day while all of the other hot items and cold items stay constant. The overall breadth of the breakfast was pretty impressive for even a breakfast fiend like me. For those French toastophiles, there was no French toast so you're on your own.

All of the staff are pretty cheerful and efficient: the breakfast attendants kept everything flowing, the housekeepers did their thing, and the front desk was responsive. Special mention to the General Manager, Robert Edwards, who checked me in, shared his story of how he and his wife decided to move up here 9 years ago, and made several recommendations.

* Portland's transit agency, TriMet, has a fantastic free iPhone app that can tell you in real-time when any of its buses or trains is arriving at your stop. It really does work - and will save you from standing at the train station unnecessarily in the rain.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MajorMarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

This property is very convenient to the airport. The train into town stops right outside the hotel which is very convenient- The excercise machines in the hotel are newer and overall the facilities are very well maintained. Definitely one of the top rated Residence Inns. Beds are comfortbale as are the pillows (you have a decent selection/choice)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MTCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

With a traveling party of five, Residence Inn Cascade station offers a two bedroom suite which allowed us to keep the family all in one room. It's is conveniently located next to shopping mall allowing us to walk to Target to pick up late night essentials. Better yet, the Max lightrail station is just outside the front lobby. Hotel has been opened about two years and is very well kept. Morning breakfast which consisted of oatmeal, granola, eggs, potatoes, sausage, make your own waffles gave us a fulfilling start to the day.

However despite all positive aspects listed, we were greeted with dirty dishes in dishwasher. This being our day seven on vacation, we decided to wash a load of laundry. Upon arriving in the laundry room we discovered no laundry detergent, checked with the front desk and was told there was no complimentary laundry available. Luckily, Target is walking distance from the hotel, ended up purchasing some laundry detergent and was fortunate to wash one load. That evening we discovered only a partical roll of toilet paper in one of the bathrooms and another partial in the other bathroom. By the next morning, we literally used all the toilet paper. We thought "no worries" since the maid will clean the room and replenish the toilet paper as we ventured and toured the better parts of Portland. Upon arriving back to the hotel in the late afternoon, we found no toilet paper in both bathrooms. Fortunately, we had at least some kleenex to take care of things. We called the front desk and reported the situation. After 20 minutes, no toilet paper delivery, so I walked down to the front desk to report the situation and the front desk acknowledged my request. Few minutes later, one roll was delivered to our room. I requested an additional roll for the other bathroom as well. Two more rolls were delivered shortly thereafter. In one of the bathrooms, the hair conditioner container was empty.

So if you don't mind the poor housekeeping, then this would be the place for all to enjoy. However, if you want a fulfilling lodging experience, then consider another nearby hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank takeanapnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#41 of 146 in Portland
830 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Portland Airport
1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station

Address: 9301 NE Cascades Pkwy, Portland, OR 97220-6822
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#27 Family Hotel in Portland
#28 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £94 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Portland Airport is a newly renovated, all-suite hotel located less than one mile from Portland International Airport and only 9 miles from downtown Portland. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and restaurants in the new Cascade Station Shopping Center. The Mt. Hood MAX Stop is located adjacent to the hotel for easy access to Downtown Portland. We offer beautiful, spacious suites and outstanding amenities, perfect for business or leisure travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Airport At Cascade Station Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing