We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Ranked #39 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Nice, clean hotel”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very nice hotel. The pool and hot tub are salt water and were clean. The rooms were very nice. It included a sleeping area, as well as a sitting area with a flat screen tv. Having the kitchenette is always nice, as we like to cook our own food. This hotel provides a hot breakfast. The food was pretty good. Subway and Target are right next door. Tram service is available outside the hotel for transportation. The airport is just down the road. The area is clean. Downtown is only about 20 minutes away. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jessica U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    115
    33
    16
    11
See reviews for
133
113
38
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

If you read the reviews/ratings of other Portland-area Marriott branded hotels, you don't have a lot of choice for decently rated properties, so this one is a no-brainer.

Very convenient to the airport, but not too far from the city (only 20 mins without traffic, maybe 30 with). The area is a clean corporate type zone and is right next to a Target (which was convenient) and in front of a MAX station.

Seems like a newer property, was very clean and relatively quiet. You could hear the people in the unit above you walking around pretty clearly, as well as kids running down the hallway above (even when inside your room) but aside from some building flaws, can't complain.

The girl at the front desk was friendly, even though it was clear the hotel was understaffed (phones were ringing off the hook, guests coming and going) with only one person at the desk.

The room was spacious and quiet overall. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the highway to the north, but I didn't mind the ambient car noise - some peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlee508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This is a very attractive and clean property, close to the airport but not noisy, stores within walking distance and a light rail/trolley stop nearby for trips into downtown Portland. Nice area, good service, very convenient to I-5, near Salty's restaurants and others, Target, other hotels too. Was very good for our three day stay, very convenient.

Room Tip: Continental breakfast in the morning, kitchens for light cooking and coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karenrose314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

...a few things stopped me from doing so. I am going to highlight the positives first, and then elaborate on the things that didn't disappoint us, but you need to be excellent to get a five star rating.

For our six night stay here, we booked the two bedroom suite for our party of four (2 parents, a 4 year old and 2 year old). We were overwhelmed at the amount of space we had in our suite. Not only was there a good sized sitting parlour, but one bedroom had a king sized bed with room to spare, a sink area, closet, dressers and night stands, and a separate room with the bath tub and toilet. The second bedroom had a queen sized bed with room to spare, with the same sink and bathroom set up. The kitchen area had a full sized fridge, stove and oven, dishwasher, garbeurator, and microwave. The suite was immaculately cleaned each day. The indoor pool and hot tub area was fantastic for our family to use, and the exercise room looked to be top notch.

Location wise, the amenities in the surrounding area were excellent. Cascade Station has several places to shop and eat, and we took advantage of the Target store that you could literally walk to from the hotel. We ordered take out from the Famous Dave's BBQ restaurant our first night there when we got in later than we had hoped, and there were also other dining options available. The MAX LRT line literally stops just outside the hotel parking lot, and we utilized it to go into downtown Portland without any fuss. We could also have used the MAX to get around elsewhere, so it good to know that for the future. Despite the fact that you were right next to the flight path of any plane landing at PDX, plane noise wasn't that overbearing.

Some of the other amenities available that we didn't take full advantage of were the complimentary breakfasts and evening receptions. We only sat down for breakfast once, but it was well stocked, and had good variety of hot and cold selections. We weren't ever at the hotel for the evening reception, so I can't comment on that. That said: this is Portland, a city with one of the best food scenes I've ever come across. Why would you want to eat at the hotel when you could eat at Pok Pok or any of the other fantastic restaurants in this city?

Now for the criticisms. This hotel has laundry facilities that are reasonably priced. However, when we wanted to do laundry one night, we asked the front desk for quarters to pay for the machines. The front desk had none. They said they had been slammed by "so many" people wanting to do laundry that night. What constitutes being slammed for laundry? When we got to the laundry room, the machines were empty. The front desk person apologized, and suggested that we should go out to the Subway or Target next door to get change. Should you not have multiple rolls of quarters available for your patrons to use the facilities you advertise?

One morning, I wanted to print a document at their "business centre" which is literally two computers in the lobby area hooked up to a laser printer. The internet seemed to be offline, and when I asked the front desk person for help, she paged someone who seemed to be one of the maintenance personnel. He really didn't have much of a clue other than to tell me that Ctrl-Alt-Del wasn't going to work, that he could call the help desk in Tennessee, but from prior experience, they wouldn't be much help if I needed something right away. My document wasn't critical, but it was an annoyance.

We didn't feel that the front line staff of the hotel was all that friendly. Not to say that they weren't unfriendly, but we did not feel that our patronage was appreciated. Maybe we've been accustomed to a higher level of friendliness from some of the other hotels we have stayed at in recent years, but it just seemed the staff we encountered didn't do anything besides the bare minimum, or would go out of their way or beyond the call of duty to help.

The housekeeper on our first two nights didn't service our children's bedroom other than to replace the towels. I appreciate that our 4 year old's stuffed animals were on his bed, but I've seen housekeepers at other hotels make our child's bed and arrange his animals in a pleasing way.

While I couldn't give this place a five star rating, I will say that this place will become our hotel of choice in the PDX area when we come back again.

Room Tip: See if any of the destinations you are going to are near the MAX system. Portland traffic can get v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blkjck5697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We had a super early flight out of the Portland airport, so we stayed at this hotel on our last night. As the name of the hotel indicates, it's right at a TriMet station and it is extremely convenient in that sense. They also had a shuttle to the airport available anytime we wanted. The guy at the counter was extremely helpful and courteous.

Despite all that, we would not stay here again because of the poor quality of the building. Inside the room, we could hear every noise people around us (upstairs?) were making; walking around, shutting the door, shutting the closet, coughing, etc.
Thankfully, we were so exhausted that we were able to fall asleep, but otherwise I know all the noises would have kept us up. We could hear outside noise as well. It was right by the road and we could clearly hear traffic.

The table in the dining area was so old and wobbly and it was about to break, too.

It was really disappointing that the room/building quality was so cheap despite its very convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublin2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Great Location right by the airport and at the Mt Hood stop but still very little noise. Located very close to a good shopping area.
Rooms were very clean and had all the amenities you could need.
Breakfast was very good.
Only thing to note is that you need to book the shuttle - arrived very tired after 20 hours of travelling to find that the shuttle wasn't going around the airport like the other hotels - wasn't impressed and had no note to call the hotel on arrival - needs to be booked in both directions so allow time for that.
Some of the staff at reception are excellent but not consistent so some training needed. One I encountered was less than helpful and left me waiting while she handed out and discussed the paychecks to the staff right there in reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Residence Inn is one of my go to places. I know that no matter what city I am in...it will be pretty much the same experience..and for that I am thankful. This is property is no exception. The rooms are clean and despite the location close to the airport the noise is not overwhelming. Add to that the location with Target, Ikea, Famous Daves, Red Robin, IHOP...and several other smaller places to eat as well as shops, it offers a lot. The rooms are nice, clean and the staff helpful. Book your shuttle to the airport early at the front desk and they are happy to run you over!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilotgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
0.4 mi away
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#38 of 141 in Portland
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station

Property: Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Address: 9301 NE Cascades Pkwy, Portland, OR 97220-6822
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#28 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Portland Airport is a newly renovated, all-suite hotel located less than one mile from Portland International Airport and only 9 miles from downtown Portland. The hotel is within walking distance to shopping and restaurants in the new Cascade Station Shopping Center. The Mt. Hood MAX Stop is located adjacent to the hotel for easy access to Downtown Portland. We offer beautiful, spacious suites and outstanding amenities, perfect for business or leisure travel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Airport At Cascade Station Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing