We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, good breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Ranked #30 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms, good breakfast”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Yes, this is next to the airport, and yes, occasionally you hear the jets during take-offs. But even with that in mind, this is a terrific hotel for the value. The suites are generously spaced, the layout for work- or relaxation-friendly. Breakfast includes hot food as well as the usual continental fare. Food is available 24/7 from a limited menu in the room, and there is a small bar on the main lobby. There are restaurants within walking distance, along with shopping, and light rail from the airport into the city is close-by. Parking is free. A nice place to park for a couple of days. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side may be quieter.
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't mind keeping our towels - but only if they're larger than postage stamps! Recycling bins are offered in the rooms.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! I am glad that you were able to enjoy some of the amenities that Hyatt Place has to offer. Prior to the hotel opening, we installed quadruple-pane windows in the guestrooms to limit some of the air traffic noise and I apologize if this was still not enough. Thank you again and we would love to see you on your next trip to Portland!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    329
    82
    29
    25
See reviews for
344
224
65
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before, and it is very clean and comfortable. I live in Oregon, but last night 9/28, I was coming home from a trip to TX late and had a reservation to spend the night at the Hyatt, to make things easier. The airport lost my luggage, so I gave them the hotel address as an alternate in case it showed up fairly soon, as the hotel is very close to the airport and my home is not. The airline told me to be sure to check at the front desk in the morning as it was quite possible my case could arrive in the middle of the night, which it did. Whichever gentleman was working the desk when it came in decided it would be a good idea to call me at 2:30 A.M.--yes that is 2:30 in the morning--to advise me my case had arrived. Now, I could understand if I had been calling hourly to ask if it had come, which I hadn't, but since this is a hotel for which I had a reservation for the night, exactly what did he think I would be needing at that moment from my case that couldn't have waited till say, 6:00 in the morning??? I was so angry, I never went back to sleep and I was sleep deprived and dealing with a time zone change to begin with. To make it worse, when I went to retrieve the case in the morning and told the front desk what had happened, all I got was an apology and the promise to talk to the guy. REALLY? Not even a 10% discount on the room??? I shouldn't have had to pay anything!! As lovely as this hotel is, and as much as I enjoyed my FIRST visit, I doubt I will be coming back or recommending this hotel to anyone I know. You can draw your own conclusions as to staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrammaLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! I truly do apologize for the inconvenience you had experienced during your stay. As an airport hotel, from time to time, we do receive guests' lost luggage and often times the guest would like to be notified immediately upon its arrival. I understand that this was not the case for you and I apologize that our staff disrupted your sleep. This has been addressed with the staff member and our policy on this matter will vary upon the situation as stated by the guest. Again, I apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfying and we hope that you give us another opportunity. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2013

One of the best features of this hotel is its staff. They are all so very helpful. Ask them for directions and they will help you and provide you with internet help and or pictures. The hotel has great parking immediately behind the hotel. The breakfast was more than satisfying with a good selection of food to choose from. Within walking distance is a large variety of shopping that should satisfy finding some thing you may have left at home. The one feature that some will like and others may not is its location as it relates to downtown. Its about 9 miles I would say from downtown and very close to the airport. We stayed three nights and never heard a single plain. They do have a shuttle to the airport. I would like to thank John (employee) for all the help he provided me with points of interest in Oregon (lighthouse locations).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackbrit2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Hello and thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor! Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and amenities. Hyatt's mission is to "provide authentic hospitality" and we pride ourselves on accomplishing that mission. I will be sure to let Jon know that he aided in your stay being an enjoyable one. Thanks again and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This is a great hotel in the Cascade Station shopping area, right next to the airport. We've stayed at the neighboring Aloft before, but were very unhappy with the hard beds, so we decided to try Hyatt Place (we've stayed at the downtown Seattle location and loved it). We couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. Friendly welcome at the front desk, huge rooms with a sectional couch, comfy beds, empty mini-refrigerator for personal use, free wi-fi, great vanity area, large/new swiveling flat screen TV with easily accessible audio/visual inputs for music, movies, etc. Large sliding glass shower with room for two (love that the shower is not a shower/tub combination -- not needed... who ever uses a hotel tub unless you're in a five star hotel and it's separate from the shower?).

If you need a hotel close to the airport, this is a great choice. Thanks for another great stay at your lovely chain!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank napa_sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Hello and thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! I am so happy to hear that the Hyatt Place model perfectly suits your needs. A lot of thought went into discovering what the typical traveler requires for overnight accomodations and I am glad that Hyatt did it right, and you, the traveler, are able to enjoy all that Hyatt Place has to offer. Thanks again and we'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EAGLE POINT
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I came to Portland to visit with my 4 year old grandson. Your hotel staff was so welcoming and even offer to let my grandson swim with us in your pool. We only there for one day, but the Room was conforable with a setting living room. When my son and grandson came to visit us at the hotel the area was just perfect space to entertain them. The breakfast was good and just enough selections. Close locations for us go to dinner. Nice shopping area and restaurants to choose from. Easy asset to the freeway to downtown Portland.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Augie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan H, General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! I am so glad that your grandson was able to enjoy our indoor pool & spa as well as our complimentary breakfast. We look forward to seeing you (and your grandson) during your next trip to Portland. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for an extended business trip and sound the place very nice. There is a moderately nice pool and hot tub inside. The breakfast was good and plentiful. The room was huge and had everything I needed. There are plenty of placed to eat and shop very close including a Target.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatherineG2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy D, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
KatherineG2002,

Hello and thank you for your wonderful review! We appreciate your choosing us for your extended business trip and hope to see you again on your next visit.

Thank you, again, for rating Hyatt Place Portland on TripAdvisor!

Best Regards,

Tim Donnell
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
timothy.donnell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

It has a great location next to the airport. The person had the front desk was able to arrange a late night meal for us. It was a pretty good vegetarian pizza considering the time we checked in (1 am). They dont have room service. You have to pick up the meals from the front desk. We all slept well. The next morning the breakfast buffett was average. The coffee was very weak and stale. They need to improve on their coffee

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sangoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timothy D, Assistant General Manager at Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello sangoy, and thank you for your feedback about Hyatt Place Portland on TripAdvisor!

Being an airport property, we definitely understand the need for 24-hour food for our guests that arrive late. I am happy that you found value in this service!

Please keep us in mind for your next trip to Portland!

Best Regards,

Tim Donnell
Assistant General Manager
Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station
timothy.donnell@hyatt.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#38 of 143 in Portland
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station

Property: Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Address: 9750 NE Cascades Pkwy, Portland, OR 97220-6827
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#12 Green Hotel in Portland
#13 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within one mile of the Portland International Airport, and in the Cascade Station shopping area, the Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station provides the ideal accommodations for anyone visiting Portland, whether it be for business or leisure. This cutting edge hotel is minutes from downtown Portland and several thrilling attractions including PGE Park, Oregon Convention Center and The Rose Garden (home of the Trail Blazers). For the business traveler, you will also find our location conveniently located within a few miles of several local Corporations such as Toyota, Rentrak and Boeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing