We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New, pleasant and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Ranked #28 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“New, pleasant and quiet”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed 2 nights at the Hyatt Place at Cascade Station for a weekend conference. It is very new, exceptionally clean and well laid out. Upon locating the hotel on one of the online mapping sites my first thought was AIRPORT NOISE. But no, not a bit. Yes you can stand in the parking lot and feel like you can touch the arriving airliners. The Hotel is 1.1 miles east of the threshold of runway 28L (in aviation parlance runway 2-8-left) but triple pane windows and excellent sound proofing kept my 4th floor room very, very quiet.

Continental breakfast is better than most and for a nominal charge you can get a made-to-order breakfast. They have Starbucks coffee drinks at what they call the Bakery Café which is simply an extension of the front desk. Staff will help you with orders from their kitchen.

Rooms are well laid, nicely lit, include a mini fridge, coffee pot, big screen TV and, for those requiring it, easy connections could be made from computers to the television. This turned out to be convenient when one of the conference discussions needed to move to a suite from a meeting room. Beds are comfy but the closet was small and a bit difficult to access (sounds odd I know).

I did not use the pool, Jacuzzi or workout area. They didn’t appear to be large but looked clean and well equipped. Need shopping? Cascade station is an open-air mall with a wide variety of stores and several restaurants. I'd recommend this hotal without exception.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank constant_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    481
    310
    73
    22
    21
See reviews for
310
211
61
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
57 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2010

If you like the Hyatt Place concept and room this is a great hotel.

The rooms are very good, you get a nice seating area and a big tv (with lots of channels). The beds are great too. Airplane noise is hardly an issue, didn't bother me at all.
It is also located in a nice area with lots of parking space, a few restaurants and shops. Plus the MAX connection to the rest of Portland, for 4.75 you can get almost everywhere during one day. And as mentioned before the hotel is practically new.

However I did have a problem with the first room I got. The room was on the second floor close to the cooling unit on the roof. And at 21:45 it was turned on which created a lot of noise and vibration. Impossible to sleep. When I complained I got a different room, which was ok. But no apologies were offered and no reason was given for the sudden disturbance. I feel it is rather poor service to offer someone this room, when it was clearly a know issue.

Also for me the wireless internet connection was painfully slow, but a network cable solved that problem.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GH_RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
210 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

New hotel. Room very nice. Great HD TV. A bit noisy: right on approach flight path to PDX plus street noise from the nearby shops. Handy to IKEA and many other retailers to enoy tax free shopping. Staff helpful but seemed to be in training mode and very chatty with each other. Free use of 2 computers was a plus. Plus on site food and bakery sales nice. A 24 hour IHOP is steps away. Who doesn't like a new hotel. Very rare these days. In fact everything around the hotel is new.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Midwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt Place in Portland for two nights. Rooms were big, bright and modern. Breakfast was excellent with a great choice. Staff were very friendly and were willing to assist you at all times. Loved also that there was a shopping mall across the street from this hotel. There is also the Cascade train station closeby where you can take the train into the central Portland...approx 25 mins journey time. Being so close to Portland Airport, we found that airplane noise was not a major problem. Overall we were very pleased with this hotel choice and would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
401 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Just returned from a visit up the coast of CA and Oregon. Last night was at the Hyatt Place hotel at Portland's airport. The address is 9750 NE Cascades Parkway (503-288-2808). It's nine months old and a terrific modern property in a great location. Five minutes from the MAX train directly into downtown Portland. Super easy and convenient if you want to spend the day in the city and return to a airport hotel that is perfect. Places to eat (Buffalo Wing's was a surprise) near-by. Super shuttle service within 5 miles of the hotel. This allowed us to drop off our rental car a day earlier. We visited 3 of Portland's brew pubs in the middle of shopping (no tax!). It was a pleasant surprise (Portland). Mt/ St. Helena and Mt. Hood were within driving distances of the city, as well as the Columbia River Gorge. Would definitely recommend it to visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy011351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I don't really expect much from airport hotels, but the Hyatt Place was excellent and exceeded my expectations at every turn. The rooms are very nicely furnished in a suite style and the bed was very comfortable - I was not at all disturbed by noise from planes. What set it apart was the service - very friendly and willing to go the extra mile. We were leaving at 4:30am to catch a 6am flight (ugh) and the front desk made up a packed bag breakfast to take with us, which was a nice touch. We ordered a shuttle to take us over the airport or that time and it was very prompt. I'd definitely come again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trompe_Le_Monde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We had been touring the northwest for a week staying at a variety of places and this was a refreshing change. The room was large and had a large sitting area, a huge flat screen TV, a large walk-in shower. There was a pool and jacuzzi, which did not seem to be used much. We didn't use it. Although it was at the airport, a fair distance from most things, it was just across the parking lot to the MAX and just out the front door to the closest bus. Unlike some airport hotels, we didn't duck when an airplane went over or wake up either. Continental breakfast was so-so, but made to order items were reasonably priced. Rates on weekends made this a no-brainer for morning flight out of Portland.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktdid43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.1 mi away
Aloft Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#36 of 139 in Portland
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station

Property: Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Address: 9750 NE Cascades Parkway, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#12 Green Hotel in Portland
#13 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within one mile of the Portland International Airport, and in the Cascade Station shopping area, the Hyatt Place Portland Airport/Cascade Station provides the ideal accommodations for anyone visiting Portland, whether it be for business or leisure. This cutting edge hotel is minutes from downtown Portland and several thrilling attractions including PGE Park, Oregon Convention Center and The Rose Garden (home of the Trail Blazers). For the business traveler, you will also find our location conveniently located within a few miles of several local Corporations such as Toyota, Rentrak and Boeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station Hotel Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing