We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrible place”

Inn at Marquam Hill
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Marquam Hill
Ranked #13 of 36 Portland B&B and Inns
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Old creaky wooden floors with no noise proofing. My bed sheets and pillow covers were not changed from prior, had lots of hairs in them ( black and light brown, raising the question whether they got changed for last person either... or may be people of two color were living together). Pillows smelled bad. Ceiling had hole in the roof. Main door has no lock ( a pretend lock is there is which is left open all the time) Room does have lock however "keys can be requested" which were never provided to me when i requested. Bathroom is for sharing ( that i knew going in) Rent is about the same as one in downtown place. If you have to live there for few days you will have to go downtown to eat lunch and dinner anyways. The owner "recommended" hospital food for lunch..really.
I made a mistake and you my friends have been warned.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herky260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    3
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
7
6
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

What a wonderful, comfortable, homey place! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is also very convenient for anyone connected with OHSU. The hospital and university is at the top of a crazy steep hill, with only a small neighborhood around it. It's so steep that many of the students and faculty ride a gondola, like on a ski mountain, to get to work. Parking is difficult or impossible. All of that makes the Inn at Marquam Hill an ideal place to stay for anyone visiting OHSU. At breakfast, it was a fascinating and eclectic group of visitors--a cancer patient who was spending 3 months in the vicinity of OHSU following a stem cell transplant, along with her mother for support; a Mexican woman visiting OHSU for eye surgery, along with a number of her family members; an Australian surgeon spending a week at the hospital to learn advanced techniques in esophageal surgery; a young American woman who lives in China and was visiting her mother in the hospital; a pharmacy student doing a rotation at OHSU. We were visiting our daughter, who is a scientist in the Pediatric Cancer Biology group at OHSU. The hospital and university is only a few blocks away, within easy walking distance. There is parking at the B&B. The owners make arrangements for people who stay for longer periods of time, renting by the week or by the month. Altogether, we very much enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlennC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

I enjoyed my one-night stay at the Inn. I slept great and was well-rested for my interview the next day. They were kind enough to give me a little pep talk before I left for my 10 minute walk to OHSU. They have umbrellas you can borrow in case of rain. They are also nearby a bus line that will connect you to the MAX for airport access.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudgetTraveler776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandon, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

This nicely decorated, very clean and exceedingly comfortable Inn is the perfect place to stay while in Portland. That is especially true if you have business to conduct or need to be near the OHSU medical complex. The rooms are warm and inviting, the bed sooo comfy and pillows and comforter warm and cozy. Mike and Nancy are wonderful hosts and make you feel like you are staying with family. Breakfasts during the week are made to order and there is always fresh coffee available. For our stay we had a room on the second floor. We shared a large bathroom and we had no issues. There is also a second bathroom available on the second floor as well, which is very nice. They even had a small fridge on the second floor you could store leftovers or pop. At night it was quiet, so a good nights sleep was not a problem. I would never stay anywhere else now that I have found this gem in Portland. Close to OHSU and downtown, the absolutely perfect place to stay in Portland and very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Let Mike and Nancy know your needs and they will pick the perfect room for you. We had one on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathBandon_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I stayed for 2 nights in room #1 (queen w/ bath), and I could hear my only neighbor with astonishing clarity. This was not the fault of my neighbor -- he didn't even have the TV on; this was from his simple moving around. I would not have been able to sleep without ear plugs.

I also tried taking my earplugs out in the middle of the night, but then I discovered there are several slow-moving trains that blare their horns in the valley throughout the night. I could easily hear these with my sliding patio door closed (there was no window).

The other aspects of my stay were adequate: the amenities were simple, as was the breakfast (eggs, bacon, and sausage -- e.g. no fresh fruit or juice).

The location is convenient to OHSU, and the host and other guests were friendly.

Also note that credit cards are not accepted, which was a bit of a hassle for me since I wasn't prepared with a check or cash.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and come alone -- not a good choice for a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desmondo163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed here one night while we were passing through Portland. We had a lovely stay. The owners were very friendly and accommodating of our late night arrival. The bedroom was cozy and comfortable - we chose a room with a shared bathroom, which fit our needs perfectly. We felt very much at home, and all the guests were very friendly. On the weekend, breakfasts are self-serve in the kitchen - they had made a delicious quiche that we enjoyed, along with juice, yogurt and muffins. The inn is very close to OHSU and within walking distance of the new air tram, which you can take to get down to the main part of the city if you'd like. We highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank munmei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2010

Found this little gem of an "inn" on Google maps as it was fairly close to where I was headed the next day for work, not to mention cheaper than most hotels in the area. This is more of a B&B than an Inn but that didn't matter to me. Fantastic house, very well kept and extremely cozy/ comfy. Mike, the owner, was very hospitable and worked with me on my late evening arrival. He was then in the kitchen in the morning cooking everyone breakfast to order. It was the best breakfast I'd had in a long while and really started my day right. I was surprised to see so many faces at breakfast as I didn't hear much that night in the house. Made for very interesting conversation over the home cooked meal. This will be my go-to place for my visits to Portland, no doubt!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tapate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hyatt House Portland / Downtown
Park Lane Suites & Inn
#48 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#26 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
River's Edge Hotel & Spa
#38 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Marquam Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Marquam Hill

Property: Inn at Marquam Hill
Address: 3412 SW 13th Ave, Portland, OR 97239-2924
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing