We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bargain motel worth your attention”
Review of Viking Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viking Motel
Ranked #71 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The motel was in a location convenient for us. It is a very modest place, but the price was right. There is a coffee maker in the room and a small refrigerator. The people who own and manage this motel are very accommodating.

Room Tip: We found Room 105 to be clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pershing2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is an older hotel that could easily be overlooked but the location, cleanliness, customer service, and value are great.

Hari (spelling?), the owner, has run the hotel since 1978. He takes great pride in making sure that you are comfortable in your room and pleased with your stay. I really enjoyed interacting with him. One of the most pleasant experiences I've ever had with any hotel concierge.

I highly recommend staying at this motel :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at the Viking for two nights out of my week stay in Portland. The room was clean, the staff was for the most part friendly, but most of all it was in a wonderful location. It's about a ten minute walk from a grocery store and right across the street from the MAX train. It's perfect for someone who isn't renting a car and needs public transportation to get around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Emily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I needed a 2 week stay for my son before University Point opened for summer internships. My Son was doing a twelve week internship. I found this place through reviews and called and talked with owner. I also went and saw the place. It was very clean, safe, and business orientated. I felt confident my Son was safe here for the few weeks. The price was outstanding all considered.

A+++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldChump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This place is all about value! And for me, location. It's close to a grocery store, coffee shop (which the Viking front desk has coupons for), and the MAX train. Also, a huge bonus for me is that it's just a 13 minute walk (yes, I timed it) from my relative's house. All in all, super convenient!

The hotel and rooms are simple and look rather old, but it is all quite clean. The rooms can get stuffy in warmer weather, so be prepared to open your windows. Also, for the colder weather, the heating system in the room can be a bit tricky... I do not recommend keeping it on over night! You will wake up miserably hot and sweaty!

The free wifi is iffy... it is mostly super duper slow. This is not a complaint, I love free amenities, I'm just warning you.

The staff is friendly and accommodating. I recommend this place if you want a no-frills, affordable place to stay in Portland.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinerFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 months while in Portland for my job. If you want fancy, go elsewhere. If you want very clean, comfortable, and safe, this is the place. The folks who run the hotel were awesome. And the housekeeping staff wonderful. They were all so kind and helpful with my schnauzer. I would gladly stay here again if I find myself in Portland again!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Regsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

First of all, when I called for a reservation Brian was very helpful and made us feel as if we would genuinely be welcome at the Viking. And that's how we felt for both nights of our stay. The first night we arrived later than planned and Brian called to make sure everything would be in order when we arrived. Our room was comfortable and quiet and Dave provided a hair dryer for us right away. The rates were reasonable and the laundry room was a real plus. When I mentioned being disappointed that the neon sign wasn't on Brian turned it on for us and even took a picture of us in front of it. It's sometimes hard to get good intel on these smaller local places but the Viking was a real find.

Room Tip: All the rooms are about equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lannyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.9 mi away
Portlander Inn
Portlander Inn
#94 of 144 in Portland
50 reviews
5.8 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Portland Central
Days Inn Portland Central
#103 of 144 in Portland
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Cameo Motel
Cameo Motel
#96 of 144 in Portland
38 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#77 of 144 in Portland
942 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Inn At The Meadows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viking Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viking Motel

Address: 6701 N Interstate Ave, Portland, OR 97217-4839
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £73 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Viking Motel offers comfortable, clean, and quiet rooms at affordable prices. Family owned and operated for over 50 years, we believe that building relationships with our neighbors, employees, and ultimately you, our customer, has led to this success. We hope you stay with us and enjoy what Portland and we have to offer! Situated on the Max Yellow Line, our motel is minutes away from downtown Portland, Swan Island, the Expo Center, the Rose Quarter and Convention Center, the Portland Airport, and all Portland universities. Our amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi, refrigerators and microwaves, kitchenettes, non-smoking rooms, a relaxing patio, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Viking Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing