We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best dining out experience in ages” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nel Centro

Nel Centro
Ranked #62 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Description: Fine dining in Theater District of Downtown Portland. Adjacent to the Hotel Modera. Close to Portland State University.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best dining out experience in ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Came across on first night in Portland while wandering the streets looking for a spot for dinner. It turned out to be great. The food was really great. We had a calamari appie which was more than enough for 2 to share, and the sauces were delicious. Our entrees and desserts were beautifully presented, generous portions, and great eating. The food and service were top notch and we found reasonably priced for the quality. We'll certainly make a return visit on our next trip to Portland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    162
    50
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
352 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Happening Place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Good variety of dishes. Pizza was pretty good but not fabulous. Risotto was a little al dente for husband's taste. Lamb Tagine was a hit with another dinner. French Fries and Calamari were outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely patio -”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

How can the food be so great - and the service so incredibly bad. It was a Sunday evening and not crowded by any means. I could have understood a Friday at 7:00! Our server had to be asked and reminded many times to bring items we had requested.

It made for a very poor dining experience - but the food was good.
We had a sampling of lamb meatballs, pizza of the day, beet salad, butter lettuce salad. All very tasty - as was the 3 berry Sorbet.

The only odd thing was the plate of bread and olive oil. The bread was dried out - and the small (and I do mean small as in tiny) bottle of oil was really meant for 1 person!

We ate outside on the patio - and while a nice setting, very very noisy with the buses stopping right in front.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reagangirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
207 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Sleek, modern, great choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

Had a business dinner and came away very pleased. So many interesting choices, it was hard to find just one. Service was inconsistent, it took 10 minutes to get a drink and food order for a latecomer to our group. I would go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved this place so much we went back during our visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The food and service were impeccable both times we went. They even made some noodles with butter for my son who doesn't like a red sauce. We had Gnudi (gnocchi with ricotta), Lamb Tagine (awesome curried lamb), a delicate Agnioletti (like Ravioli) with beets. For dessert a Rhubarb Cobbler, Cherry Apple Cobbler, and the Tiramisu Bombe (very tasty). Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dalyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nel Centro also viewed

 
 

Been to Nel Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing