We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean the employees are awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aladdin Inn and Suites
Ranked #85 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Its clean. Its older and could use some updating but The employee's were very nice and professional. It was easy to get to and had some decent eating establishments within walking distance. The price was right and really if you aren't going to spend much time in the room save your money book this room and spend your cash enjoying Portland.

Room Tip: Stay on level 2 easy access to your room. Also ask to stay in the frontof the motel
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomloni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AladdinInnandSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Tom,

What a stellar review! Thank you for such kinds words and such insightful tips about our hotel. Our employees always try to go that extra step for all of our guests, and it is so nice to hear such appreciation. Please stop back in if you are every in the PNW, and we will make sure your next stay is just as good as the last.

All the best,
Aladdin Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Aladdin Inn and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Welcoming reception staff and clean comfortable rooms in a quiet safe area. Basic breakfast with all day hot drinks in reception, although coffee machine in room was missed.
5 miles from downtown but the bus stop is across the road which runs regular.
Good standard motel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank keith72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AladdinInnandSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Keith72, thank you for the kind words! Our friendly staff are so happy to have shown you a a lovely visit to Portland, Oregon. Especially glad you took advantage of our location and the great public transit system Portland has to offer. Sorry to hear you missed having a coffee pot in your room. For the time being, we have a reserve number of coffee pots available upon request. We also plan on having coffee pots in every room sometime within the next few weeks. If you stay here again, and your room seems to be missing a coffee pot(or anything for that matter), give our kind front desk staff a call and we will get you one ASAP. Thanks for reviewing Keith72, and we'll see you around the bend!

Best,
Your Friendly Neighborhood Aladdin Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

The staff was very friendly. We accidentally broke something in the room and when we checked out they were very understanding about it. The staff was also very helpful with directions to and from OHSU. We would stay here again in a heart beat! Thank you for making a stressful situation a little easier.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank april30c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AladdinInnandSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Fantastic! Its great to hear we could give you such a pleasant stay. We want to thank you on behalf of the entire Aladdin Inn staff for the review, and hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Aladdin Inn and Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Okay, here's the pro's... 1. The young woman who checked me in, she was wonderful. 2. The Price. and 3. the location. Close to where I worked and easy access. That's it.
The con's. 1. The older man who acted as if I was a huge irritant when I walked up to the desk and asked if an envelope had been left for me (I knew for sure it had). He snarled and practically threw it across the desk at me. And Fyi, there was not a single other person in the lobby at the time. 2. The room. Okay it was large and convenient but old, the rug was dirty, there was an ashtray/garbage can close outside the door, the bed was lumpy and uncomfortable. There was a large closet and large bathroom but NO IRON. I haven't stayed in a hotel in about 10 yrs that didn't have an iron in each room so this was very surprising. There was NO hotel information book so nothing about the wifi, nothing about the local restaurants, nothing about the TV stations, no local maps...nothing! I called the desk for the wifi password but ended up not using it at all because it was so slow as to be useless. I think I've used faster dial up in the past. And this includes trying it at 3am. The TV was one step newer than those that used tubes and most of the channels were "snowy" and all had the sound that went from barely there to wall rattleing without ever touching the remote. There was a small microwave and medium fridge but NO COFFEE MAKER! Again, I haven't stayed anywhere that didn't have inroom coffee maker in years so that was unexpected as well.
Because of the location I may stay there again but now I know to be prepared and not expect to iron, have coffee or tea, do any work that requires being on the internet on my computer nor watch TV.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank purplenell53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AladdinInnandSuites, Guest Relations Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for your comments, purplenell53, we would love to clarify some of your misgivings! So all of the room problems you seem to have could easily be fixed with one call to the office! We actually do have all of the amenities you seek, but keep them at the front desk in an attempt to conserve resources. We have 24-hour fresh coffee in the lobby, as well are ironing boards, coffee pots, fresh linens, concierge books(with our hotel information and listings of all of Portland's sights and sounds), and a vibrant staff willing to help you find what you need. Due to the variable Portland weather, sometimes the channels on our flat screen TVs will become fuzzy, and we have a maintenance person on staff that can help with this. Worst case scenario, if a guest is unhappy with the placement of their room, such as being near one of our designated smoking areas, we are more than willing to change rooms or upgrade if the situation calls for it. Please come stay with us again to enjoy all the pros your review has listed(friendly staff, great price, and awesome location) and more! Thanks again for reviewing! -The Aladdin Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The staff is excellent, Steven in particular and the girl who works mornings (forgot her name!) both really made Portland feel like home. Steven really went out of his way to make the tenants feel like friends. The bus stop right across the street is a straight shot into downtown portland (5.00 for a day pass / 2.50 for a one way fair) and at roughly 65.00 a night it was a great deal. Very low key, quite, friendly, clean and chic: exactly like Portland! Highly recommended for the young budget traveler or backpacker.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AladdinInnandSuites, Public Relations Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Grant, what a stellar review! We are so glad to hear that our staff made the difference for you. We hope you enjoyed your time in the great Pacific Northwest, and that you tell all the other Texans what they are missing! We are so glad you took advantage of our location and were able to enjoy all the sights and sounds that Portland offers. Thanks again for your stay and the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have had the displeasure of being booked at the Aladdin Inn Twice once last year for one night and once this year for two nights. I had hoped that the rooms and wifi would have been improved as last year we were told they were in the process of upgrading the rooms. I think the beds are from the 1960's as had I slept on the floor I would have slept better. Our room door had only one lock and no safety bar lock. This time we were given a kitchenette room with 1950's aqua tile in the kitchen and I think the stove oven came out of a local junk yard. When we walked in the room it had a heavy stench of burnt odder in the air. The WIFI still did not work even though they had added two more wifi ports for guest. I have stayed in much bigger hotels that had workable WIFI! I think a motel SIX would be an upgrade from this place! The housekeeper didn't even empty our trash in our room!

When we asked for a comment card we were told they did not have one. When we asked for a room that did not smell or would get a WIFI connection we were told we would have to take the room above the office, the next day.

I am sad that they have a contract with our government for these rooms as they are the nastiest rooms I have ever had to stay in.

Room Tip: above the office you may get WIFI service?
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AladdinInnandSuites, Public Relations Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

AzBoise, we are so very sorry to hear of the experience you had! We guarantee that this is an atypical experience for the Aladdin Inn. Our staff has spoken about your review, and we are brainstorming new procedures for preventing this experience. We have also talked to those who were on staff during your stay, and can guarantee you a better stay next time you come through Portland. Since we do offer free WIFI to our guests, an amenity that many hotels require guests to pay for, our bandwidth can sometimes get overburdened. We are in talks with an internet provider to do a massive hardware upgrade to our property, an investment that we are willing to take on for the comfort of our patrons. In the meantime, if you ever find the signal to be too weak, you are more than welcome to come enjoy a cup of coffee in our breakfast nook and take advantage of the strong signal there.

As far as locks are concerned, our rooms do not have the safety bar locks that side or have a chain, but they do have bar locks as well as peep holes in order to ensure that our guests feel very safe during their stay. That said, the beautiful Southwest hills of Portland have an extremely low crime rate, and we pride ourselves on the safety and comfort provided by our local community.

While it seems like you did make the right decision, and came to talk to our staff about finding a new room, we are sorry to hear that we were too booked for the night to accommodate a room change. As you noted in your review, we have had a recent major renovation in the last few years, so most of our rooms are updated with new flat-screen TVs and solid appliances. We hope you do plan to stay here again so we can give you the best room possible as proof that Aladdin Inn cares deeply about the comfort of our guests. Thank you for the helpful review, we will be using your comments to give all our guests a lovely stay here at the Aladdin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Staff is very nice and polite, WIFI is pathetic, the stairs in winter get very slippery and dangerous. My husband let the staff know about this situation but they said they did not have any salt to put on those stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AladdinInnandSuites, Public Relations Manager at Aladdin Inn and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Oh boy, we are sorry to hear that you felt uncomfortable with our stairs! We had some very kooky weather this winter and will be much more prepared if more snow and ice come our way. We have spoken to the staff about this and it is agreed that this won't happen again. The safety of our guests is of utmost importance, and will be making every effort to make that a realization. As for our WIFI signal, we also apologize that you had a tough time accessing it. If our bandwidth is overburdened with too many users on an heavily booked night, feel free to drop by the lobby and enjoy some tea or coffee while you access the internet there! Thank you for your review, we appreciate guest insight, and we will be take your comments into account as we plan for a better future here at the Aladdin!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portland
0.9 mi away
Hospitality Inn
Hospitality Inn
#90 of 144 in Portland
145 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Southwest
Comfort Suites Southwest
#57 of 144 in Portland
165 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn Tigard - Portland Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Tigard
8.1 mi away
Ramada Portland
Ramada Portland
#74 of 144 in Portland
915 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland/Lake Oswego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aladdin Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aladdin Inn and Suites

Address: 8905 SW 30th Ave, At Barbur Blvd (99W), Portland, OR 97219-3956
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: £65 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Aladdin Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Southwest Portland. The Aladdin Inn is a convenient 10 minute drive to downtown Portland, OHSU, and Portland State University. Nearby attractions include Oregon Zoo, OMSI, Japanese Gardens, and Hoyt Arboretum that are 5 miles away. Other attractions that are 6 miles away include Portland Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena, and Memorial Coliseum. All rooms feature free wireless internet access. This property caters to families and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Aladdin Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing