We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, good food”
Review of St Jack

St Jack
Reserve with OpenTable
St Jack is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #258 of 4,268 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 21st Ave and Clinton
Description: Chef and restaurateur Aaron Barnett's unique menu feature rustic dishes from the countryside of Lyon, the heart and soul of French cooking.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
483 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 448 helpful votes
“Excellent service, good food”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The escargot was excellent! Had a lovely Syrah by the glass and was pleased to learn they have half glass options. The steak and frites was very good, with a bearnaise sauce, but not knock your coks off good. Dessert was an interesting pumpkin dish - the best part of which was a molasses ice cream. (Texturally the rest was a bit sketchy but good flavors.) Service was prompt and attentive. Atmosphere is okay, not particularly upscale, a tad noisy in places. Overall good enough that I would visit again. Best part of the meal was the escargot. My dining companion enjoyed the steak tartare and the salad lyonnaise.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DAEsmae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    48
    29
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Truly remarkable”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Truly this is THE DATE NIGHT place to go. We were so impressed with every aspect of what St. Jack had to deliver. First, wonderful service. Everyone was very attentive to all of our needs. Our server had wonderful recommendations, the manager guided us in our wine selection, our hostess sat us at a delightful table. The steak was probably one of the best steaks I had ever had..and I have been to some of the fines restaurants from New York, to La. I would truly recommend this place for a celebration, or just a lovely date night. You won't regret your time and and money spent there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really Really wonderful food!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I went to St Jack with a group of 6 and we were all very impressed with the service and most importantly, the food! Wow!!! Some of the best I have had in Portland lately. Everyone had a different entree, and we shared tastes, and we all wanted to come back to have another entree. The Coquilles St Jack was a fabulous appetizer as well. It has the feel of a loved neighborhood place, but the culinary credentials that make it a very enjoyable meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G'boro NC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“SE neighborhood institution”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

It lives up to it's reputation for great food. Wish I wasn't just visiting Portland and had something this good right around the corner from me.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank haly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Really really noisy”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Great food. Bad ambience. far too loud. Avoid if you want to have casual dinner talk, of catch up with old friends (as I was doing).

The lighting is pretty bad as well.

But that food was truly outstanding, and the staff very very professional and attentive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wrcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Jack also viewed

 

Been to St Jack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing