We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful weekend brunch”
Review of Accanto

Accanto
Reserve with OpenTable
Accanto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #304 of 4,323 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: SE 29th ave
Transit: Tri Met Belmont #15.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delightful weekend brunch”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This restaurant is in our nephew's neighborhood so we decided to meet there for brunch on
Sunday and it turned out the be really great. They had already arrived and had ordered the
ricotta doughnuts with lemon curd for a starter----absolutely wonderful. Had to resist placing
a second order, but we're still thinking about how good they were! Menu is eclectic and
interesting. Two of us had the spinach and pancetta benedict with terrific Hollandaise sauce
and delicious fried potatoes. I had the duck hash with poached eggs, squash, brussel sprouts---
very savory and perfectly spiced. Report from the nephew is that the smoked trout hash was
also delicious. The wait staff was very attentive and the prices reasonable. We highly
recommend the restaurant and will definitely return soon.
be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    26
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A fun neighborhood restaurant with eclectic menu”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a tremendous variety of ingredients mixed into interesting dishes. The service was very attentive and the starters were the best. We will be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Manzanitabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We were staying just down the road on our third visit to Portland but our first time in the SE. We had walked past Accanto a few times, and it was always busy no matter what time, so we decided to drop in. We had pasta and seafood from the specials menu. Matching wine was suggested. Seriously, could not fault food, service or ambiance. Our waiter Sterling was great! Next time we visit we will definitely drop in.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CapraDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantastic dinner at Accanto restaurant in Portland, OR...”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

There were 3 of us for dinner so decided to"share" some dishes. We tried 3 or 4 appetizers as well as 3 main dishes. Everything was fantastic!! We could not agree on which dish we liked best! The bartender was great and offered us several options with each entree. They have an excellent wine list and we enjoyed every drink we tried. This restaurant is very reasonable for the food you get. I would definitely recommend Accanto and will visit it again during my next trip to Portland.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dwdoobies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“First Class dining in a casual setting . . .”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

And the food was excellent, too! Accanto was quite a tasty surprise considering Portland's trendy downtown restaurant scene where you'd normally expect to find this place (about 15 minutes east). If you're a gnocchi fan you won't be disappointed -- tender, fresh, home made, with a delicious sauce. We sat outside under a Campari umbrella. Street is a bit noisy, but service made up for it. Loved the inventive Mozzarella di Bufala beet and peach salad (yes, peach) with nasturtium leaves. What I liked most was that the food combos were not pretentious -- just well balanced flavors that weren't trying too hard to please. Dinner for 4 with wine: $138 + tip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blahblahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Accanto also viewed

 
Portland, OR
 

Been to Accanto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing