We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pearl Bakery

Pearl Bakery
Ranked #6 of 80 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: excellent sandwiches, and pastries that make you see unicorns
Buena Vista, Virginia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful pastries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

On my last day in Portland, I stumbled on Pearl .... what a great find. The pastries are fabulous with coffee, and the small marble topped tables beckoned us to sit and stay awhile, read the paper, and enjoy them to the last crumb. The macaroons are to die for, as are the chocolate croissants. The real star is a pastry called a gibassier, which is a brioche-like dough with bits of candied orange peel and a faint whiff of anise. Sounds odd, but it's spectacular. Don't wait to find Pearl until the last day of your PDX trip ... go, and go often.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eastskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    26
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
143 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yum!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I ordered 2 macaroons when I stopped in today. The salted caramel was out of this world good! Just the right amount of sea salt to set the flavor off perfectly. The only downside was that I didn't order more! The hazelnut one was good. What I really like is how they were a tad larger than most macaroons I've seen offered in other locations. I will come back to try some of the other things they offer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank breegreenly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious and very addicting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

My office is dangerously close to Pearl Bakery, but I rationalize my visits by telling myself I'm getting some exercise walking the 5 blocks to get there :)
I've lived in Portland over 20 years and this is my favorite bakery. Besides the delicious pastries and espresso drinks, I appreciate that they seem to have consistent staff - I have seen some of the same guys working there for years.

A few of the things I can not live without:
bouchon - dense, rich chocolate
Sicilian fig cookie - very thick middle filled with fig, perfect flaky outside
Parisian macarons - some of the best I've had in Portland
shortbread - I wasn't even a shortbread fan until I tried theirs, especially the cinnamon and the chocolate
gibassier - it's light like a cloud, amazing flavor
espresso walnut brownie - need I say more?
chocolate chunk cookie - slightly crisp edges, soft center. Thick chocolate chunks, walnuts, and the slightest hint of orange. One of the most interesting, addicting chocolate chip cookies I've had.

There are a few small tables inside and outside in addition to bar seating against one of the windows. It can be quite crowded around lunch time during the work week.
Several of my coworkers enjoy their sandwiches regularly for lunch. I tried the tortilla soup once and it was very good.
I often buy pastries for the office here and we have never been disappointed with anything we've ordered.

There is a bit of a wait for the espresso drinks, but it is worth it. I would never go to Starbucks for coffee or espresso when I am anywhere near Pearl Bakery.

The only downside of Pearl Bakery for me is that they close fairly early, 5:30pm Monday - Friday. My co-worker and I have been in a "Pearl Bakery panic" a few times - trying to rush out of the office in time to make to Pearl Bakery before they close.
They close at 5pm on Saturdays and 3pm on Sundays. So, keep that in mind if you are planning to visit for a late afternoon snack.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jodeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good place for a treat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Mostly sweets, not too much in the way of fresh baked bread or sandwiches, good coffee drinks and such. Nice upscale neighborhood to shop around and then break for a coffee or tea.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank yobbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
625 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Breakfast anyone?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Great place for a casual, but yummy breakfast in the Pearl district of downtown Portland. Smallish place that is welcoming and friendly. The pastries were very good. Our friends had eaten there before, otherwise, we wouldn't have found it. Lots of goodies to choose from. Downside, was we waited forever for our hot drinks. It looked like they were unorganized and chaotic. No apology for the long wait....

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AirSchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pearl Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Pearl Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing