We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice variety”

Cascade Brewing Barrel House
Ranked #98 of 4,276 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
149 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice variety”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We went to Cascade just for the sours, we heard from folks in Portland it was the place to have the best brews. I must admit to be fond of sours and like the Russian River style. Most of Cascades seemed more sweet then sour. It was a low keyed spot, we enjoyed being out side with our bears. Service was a bit slow.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelPAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    46
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Too chi-chi”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Went there and the menu is more for the wine tasters than beer tasters...if sour beer is your preferance then have fun here. The servers were stand-offish and it's a very sterile enviroment. Not very welcoming.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calhobbs6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“American made Belgian style fruit beers”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Excellent quality artisanal beers with tasty small plates. Low key friendly environment. We were impressed by the new offerings and jealous of the locals.

Helpful?
Thank jonbsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
218 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“If you think you don't like sour beer, you may change your mind”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I think this was our favorite beer scene in all of Portland. The staff was really attentive and you can tell they are passionate about their beers. We sat at the bar, but had it been nice outside, we would have sat outside because they have great seating outdoors. Inside is equally cool and spacious. We sampled just about all of the beers and at $2-$3 per sample, it's totally worth it and you can share with a date. Our favorites were: Noyaux, Vlad the Imper Ale, the Honeyed Comb and their 2 non-sour beers the Anti-Bourbonic and the Anti-Vlad Imper Ale. We came there not thinking we were sour beer fans, based on past sour beer experiences, and left as new fans with excitement. We were just disappointed that we couldn't take a growler home of the Honeyed Comb.

We later returned in January with friends. Again, we had a great experience. Let me be clear, I really don't like sour beer and yet I love their beers!

If you want a different experience in Portland, definitely stop by.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
807 reviews
542 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Very unique”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Cascade is an incredibly unique brew pub, even for Portland. Most of the beers are barrel aged sours, many of which are wild fermented, imparting a unique and complex flavor profile. Don't let the sour description put you off, they are all delicious. The Belgian style ones were my favorite with a nice citrus hop note with the sourness. I didn't love the cherry lamnics or kriek, as they were a bit earthy. Even the summer ale was nice and light and crisp and great for a sunny day. The beer garden outside is also quite nice though it only overlooks a parking lot and the street, apparently common for Portland breweries. The staff wasn't super helpful about the selections, but the menu had good descriptions so we were set by ourselves.

Helpful?
Thank Tyler L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cascade Brewing Barrel House also viewed

 

Been to Cascade Brewing Barrel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing