We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cool, fun hotel experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crystal Hotel
Ranked #41 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cool, fun hotel experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Crystal hotel after a friend recommended it. It was great for a quick stay in Portland. If you're looking for something funky/unique, reasonably priced, and with a good location, this hotel is a good option. You'll have to share a bathroom/shower area (robes are provided), but they were very clean and private. The street noise could be an issue for some, but I slept through it. Oh, and the bed was comfortable... Enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
We are constantly working on ways to improve our service, and appreciate your feedback. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    116
    31
    5
    3
See reviews for
29
141
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are a fan of the Mcmenamins properties so we may be a bit biased in the review. We like the funky nature of their hotels and the Crystal is no exception. Small and quaint with interesting pubs upstairs and downstairs. The soaking tub is wonderful. They have live entertainment each evening with low key players so don't expect anything rowdy. The location is great and we were able to find street parking reasonably easy (although you have to feed the meter between 8am-7pm Mon-Sat). Garage parking is available close by.
If we had any gripe it would that the sanitation workers emptying the local dumpsters did so at great volume in the middle of the night. Not necessarily the fault of the hotel (although the windows are single pane) and they are upfront about outside noise as they offer earplugs when you check in. The noise only occurred on the first night (Thursday) otherwise all calm for the 2nd night.
We had breakfast in the restaurant the first morning and it was very good but maybe a bit too much. Of course their beers are excellent and they have a flavor for most tastes. Terminator Stout is my favorite.
The service for the most part was great. The front desk managers were very considerate in responding to a problem that arose during our stay by comping our second night. Stuff happens sometimes and we were glad that they acknowledged it and made a nice gesture.
Thanks for a memorable anniversary stay!

Room Tip: The Burnside St. side may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you so much for the feedback... we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

A funky, innovative B&B with a strong dose of irreverence. Rooms were creative but quite noisy due to street traffic on all sides. Located 1 block from Powell Books and easy walking distance to all downtown core locations.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHawk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for the 'funky' feedback... :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Fun, quirky, well-kept and great location. This is the same experience as before. The small hotel near the Pearl District, Powell books and several great eateries makes this a favorite place to stay in Portland. Of course, the basement soaking pool and fresh local brews are the icing on the cake. We stayed on the 4th floor opposite Burnside Street. Less traffic noise overall; but the early-morning trash trucks were just below us. Earplugs recommended (and offered freely at the front desk). Each room has bath robes for you to wear as you head to the soaking pool. It feels a bit awkward at first to be running around a hotel in your bathrobe; until you realize everyone else is doing it, too. The shared baths are regularly, and very frequently visited by the staff for cleaning. My home bathroom should be this clean. For me, the biggest hassle is the parking. But this is common throughout downtown Portland. A garage is on the next block, or you can opt for street parking. (Just be sure to move or re-validate your street parking ticket early in the morning.) My wife and I enjoy the room decor and learning about the famous folks mentioned in the artwork. Every staff member we have interacted with has been friendly and helpful with tips on the area. We look forward to returning to the Crystal Hotel.

Room Tip: Request earplugs when you check in. Ask about the Mason jar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TreadLightAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and tips. We're grateful for your return visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed in a king room for 2 nights last week. if you want alternative and hip this is for you. The pool in the basement is great as is the beer and wine produced in house. The location is also perfect for exploring Portland. However on arrival we were greeted with a strong smell of urine in our room, the staff were sympathetic but not much could be done. The lighting in the room was very poor, I appreciate that perhaps you are trying to set an atmosphere but with the black curtains and writing on the wall I felt even in the daylight I couldn't see much. Installing dimmer switches comes to mind. The breakfast in Zeus cafe is nothing special either, despite what the lonely planet says. The staff are very friendly but service is stupidly slow, 6 other people in the cafe and it took a good 10 mins for our coffee to arrive. The staff in the hotel weren't as friendly as anyone else serving us during our trip on the west coast, they seemed shy and awkward, lighten up guys!!! Overall I can see the appeal but wouldn't return. Oh and a hairdryer is not much to ask when paying $145 a night.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Midge651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and suggestions. Please know, that we are addressing every issue in this review, except the noise, (believe me, I wish we had some control over that). Urine? Not a smell you want to smell in a hotel... thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

This no-frills McMenamins hotel is just northwest of the busy downtown area and south of the pearl -- a perfect place to crash after date night. My husband and I live in Beaverton, so when we decided to stay downtown for his birthday, we picked the Crystal since we knew we could party into the evening within walking distance of just about anywhere we wanted to go.

The room was great (but the elevator is s-l-o-w). I kind of like the coziness of the European/NYC-apartment small room. Having a bathroom down is no biggie, and everything was shiny clean. Gotta love that McMenamins artistry in all the rooms and hallways. We hung out in the Zeus bar downstairs after midnight and enjoyed the ambiance, but the food selection was very limited and service... well, strange. We were served cold fries. Upon telling the server, he actually reached into the fries, picked one up, ate it, then said "yeah, they're cold." and took them back. What would he have done if they were NOT cold? Given it back to us post-taste? That was odd!

On the slightly down side, the walls and windows are paper thin, so despite being on the 4th floor, it is kind of loud being next to busy Burnside, and you can't do anything about chatty girls in the next room. I also think the soaking tub is a bit overrated. Its a long, curvy, communal bathtub basically with a couple of down spouts at the end. I'd prefer a jacuzzi anyday.

Still, the Crystal Hotel was a comfortable, affordable place. We'd be happy to return, but next time, we'll leave our swimsuits at home.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Having stayed at McMenamin's Edgefield property in the past, I had high expectations for charm and ambiance, neither of which the Crystal has. It DOES have very clean (shared) bathrooms, a sink in the room, fabulous soaking pool and fantastic location. The staff is very friendly and helpful, housekeeping a bit slap-dash. The rooms are very small and somehow just not very cozy. If you like eclectic and don't care so much about creature comforts, this is the spot for you. The adjacent restaurant has terrific food, as does Jake's right across the street. Whole Foods Market, one block away, has a breakfast bar and coffee shop and every kind of food to go. Not-to-be missed Powell's Books and The Living Theater are right around the corner. As an added bonus, Spartacus is right across the street.

Room Tip: Hold out for a king size with bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
A solid meh, huh? We want to be so much more than that...:) We've got work to do.. thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#12 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Downtown
Ace Hotel Portland
Ace Hotel Portland
#62 of 138 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Jupiter Hotel
#66 of 138 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Hotel

Property: Crystal Hotel
Address: 303 SW 12th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2302
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Crystal Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just across the street from the legendary Crystal Ballroom, the Crystal Hotel has 51 comfortable guestrooms, each inspired by a song or performance from the Crystal Ballroom's past 100 years. Colorfully painted panels and headboards anchor the rooms, while deeply-hued walls, black velvet drapery and animal print upholstery lend a rock ‘n’ roll vibe. Large windows afford views of the city from all angles. Room rates include admission to the soaking pool and the opportunity to purchase tickets to the Crystal Ballroom show. With the inclusion of the Zeus Café and free live music at Al’s Den, this downtown hotel combines dining, relaxation and rock and roll history in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing