We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crystal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$268
US$237
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
US$212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$160
US$151
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sentinel(Portland)
US$216
US$196
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$206
US$181
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel deLuxe(Portland)
US$185
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
129
131
34
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
131
34
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal ballroomzeus cafeshared bathroomsoaking poolwhole foodsmcmenamins hotelsthe pearlbasement barquirky hotelprivate bathsalt water poolstreet noisefun hotelburnside streetpowell's booksfunky funfourth floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

funky hotel, great location, very clean, amazing craft beer, and , icing on the cake. . . . I dont normally expect this but its nice when you do get it,,,, the cappuccinos are amazing! (get Vanessa to make you one )

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgtraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

Vanessa is awesome isn't she? Now that I know she's the expert, she's now my go to person for coffee drinks! And, thank you for the review on the hotel. We really appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Crystal hotel after a friend recommended it. It was great for a quick stay in Portland. If you're looking for something funky/unique, reasonably priced, and with a good location, this hotel is a good option. You'll have to share a bathroom/shower area (robes are provided), but they were very clean and private. The street noise could be an issue for some, but I slept through it. Oh, and the bed was comfortable... Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank SeaTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

We are constantly working on ways to improve our service, and appreciate your feedback. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are a fan of the Mcmenamins properties so we may be a bit biased in the review. We like the funky nature of their hotels and the Crystal is no exception. Small and quaint with interesting pubs upstairs and downstairs. The soaking tub is wonderful. They have live entertainment each evening with low key players so don't expect anything rowdy. The location is great and we were able to find street parking reasonably easy (although you have to feed the meter between 8am-7pm Mon-Sat). Garage parking is available close by.
If we had any gripe it would that the sanitation workers emptying the local dumpsters did so at great volume in the middle of the night. Not necessarily the fault of the hotel (although the windows are single pane) and they are upfront about outside noise as they offer earplugs when you check in. The noise only occurred on the first night (Thursday) otherwise all calm for the 2nd night.
We had breakfast in the restaurant the first morning and it was very good but maybe a bit too much. Of course their beers are excellent and they have a flavor for most tastes. Terminator Stout is my favorite.
The service for the most part was great. The front desk managers were very considerate in responding to a problem that arose during our stay by comping our second night. Stuff happens sometimes and we were glad that they acknowledged it and made a nice gesture.
Thanks for a memorable anniversary stay!

Room Tip: The Burnside St. side may be quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you so much for the feedback... we really appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

A funky, innovative B&B with a strong dose of irreverence. Rooms were creative but quite noisy due to street traffic on all sides. Located 1 block from Powell Books and easy walking distance to all downtown core locations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SHawk66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for the 'funky' feedback... :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Fun, quirky, well-kept and great location. This is the same experience as before. The small hotel near the Pearl District, Powell books and several great eateries makes this a favorite place to stay in Portland. Of course, the basement soaking pool and fresh local brews are the icing on the cake. We stayed on the 4th floor opposite Burnside Street. Less traffic noise overall; but the early-morning trash trucks were just below us. Earplugs recommended (and offered freely at the front desk). Each room has bath robes for you to wear as you head to the soaking pool. It feels a bit awkward at first to be running around a hotel in your bathrobe; until you realize everyone else is doing it, too. The shared baths are regularly, and very frequently visited by the staff for cleaning. My home bathroom should be this clean. For me, the biggest hassle is the parking. But this is common throughout downtown Portland. A garage is on the next block, or you can opt for street parking. (Just be sure to move or re-validate your street parking ticket early in the morning.) My wife and I enjoy the room decor and learning about the famous folks mentioned in the artwork. Every staff member we have interacted with has been friendly and helpful with tips on the area. We look forward to returning to the Crystal Hotel.

Room Tip: Request earplugs when you check in. Ask about the Mason jar.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TreadLightAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dametris, Manager at Crystal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for your feedback, and tips. We're grateful for your return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews