We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #44 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Outstanding hotel”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza while attending a conference at the Oregon Zoo. Check-in was super easy. The desk clerk even asked if I was a member of the Priority Club and gave me a certificate for free beverages in the restaurant because I am. The registration and social hour were in the hotel and the food was excellent. In order to use the elevator to get to our room we had to insert our room card into the elevator. I like this security measure. Rooms were very clean and quiet. No sounds of people walking around on the next floor! The hotel is only a short walk to the metro rail. All the hotel employees were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate you acknowledging the friendly staff and pointing out the level of our room features and amenities that set us apart. Please let me know if I can in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    280
    72
    32
    24
See reviews for
147
154
64
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Awesome stay at the Crown Plaza, late check-in was no problem, courteous & helpful staff, quiet, clean, & comfortable rooms. Great ammenties (i.e. 24 hour store for a late night snack, business center, etc..). Good location, close to light rail that goes do downtown area. I'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdog1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s amenities and location so much. My team and I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed in this same hotel a couple years ago and happened to be in Portland again this last week and decided to try them out again. The room was clean and modern. The staff was super friendly and helped locate some late eateries for me when I got in after midnight the first day of my arrival. The location is easy access to the light rail system which is super easy to use. This is definately my goto recommendation for anyone wanting to visit the Rose City.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am happy that your second stay was even better than your first. We love when our guests have amazing stays! Please feel free to contact me directly at anytime in the future when you plan on being back Portland, we definitely enjoy being your go to hotel in Portland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Crown Plaza. From the free shuttle, friendliness and helpfulness of the front desk staff, cleanness of the room, down to the daily water in the lobby - I wished all of my travels were this inviting and helpful. If I had to complain about only one thing it might would be the bar but heck everyone has a bad day. If you are traveling to downtown, its an easy walk to the rail. Great stay and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thanks for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you had a great stay and enjoyed the hotels many amenities and great location. We look forward to your return visit and appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The best thing about the CP Convention Center has to be the staff. Nice job team - every request - forgotten toiletries, restaurant deliveries to hotel, local free shuttle or public transport directions, even suggestions on wines in the lounge - was answered enthusiastically. Very helpful group.

The room was comfortable and I liked the mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker that were provided. This made my week there feel a bit more like home. The bed was comfortable but the sheets and blankets were a bit scratchy (I find this to be the difference b/w a 3.5 and 4 or 5 star hotel - it always comes down to the sheets!).

Overall I had no issue with the hotel itself, but I did NOT enjoy the location. There just wasn't much to do within a walking distance like some of the other Portland hotels I've stayed at recently. Granted the shuttle and tri-max are close by, but I just enjoy the ability to stroll from my hotel a couple of blocks and enjoy the local eateries - just wasn't a possibility here...unless you count Wendy's, Subway or McDonald's local restaurants!

Again, the hotel was great, and I suppose if you are working at the convention center it would be a fine location - but I was there for a different reason, so wasn't all that great for my needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winegirlSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate you acknowledging the friendly staff and pointing out the level of our room features and amenities that set us apart. Please let me know if I can in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The staff was friendly, the hotel was clean and the room was just as nice as pictured on their website. You have to pay to park in the hotel's lot but there are a few metered spots directly in front of the main door if you get lucky. The hotel is very close to the tram/rail that takes you downtown (which also is close, but wouldn't recommend walking because it is a bit of a trek and over a bridge though I did see someone do it) and is also extremely close to the Rose Garden (walking distance). As far as getting to/from the airport, it is very easy and convenient. The hotel even has a shuttle to/from the airport. There are a couple computers you can use in the business center which is pretty much just an alcove with enough room to fit a couple computers and chairs. Also, WiFi is available and included in the room charge. I could see a fairly main street from my room's window but I didn't hear any noise. There is complimentary coffee in the lobby in the mornings and fruity water in the afternoons (cute touch, I thought). There is a single cup coffee maker in the room but ours didn't work. When I finally got around to telling the front desk, it was the day before we were checking out. I think they sent someone to look at it the next morning but because we checked out that day, I am not sure of the outcome. There is a small restaurant just off the lobby as well as a bar. The restaurant breakfast was tasty and a tad pricier than I expected but not outrageously so. The quality of the food made it justifiable. Overall, the hotel was very nice and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ragnlunatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay overall and that you mentioned the free airport shuttle, unique to downtown hotels. As an alternative to walking we also have free bikes which are a fun alternative when visiting Portland; by the way we are the number one biking city in the USA. I look forward to passing along your comments about the restaurant as I am proud of what their food and service quality. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I took my familly just to get out of the house for our last getaway before school. There is a lot of places to choose from but I chose Crowne Plaza downtown Portland. 3 kids ages 2-7 so cleanlinesss is a must. WOW this place blew me away. I have traveled 260 days a year staying in hotels across the country so I have been in some dumps. Even under the lamps was clean. The beds were top notch and sheets were so comfortable. The pool was a 10 again plenty of towels and super clean. Staff was very friendly, all you have to do is ask and they brought it to your room. This place has a little store so you can buy snacks and milk ect. and talk to a person not just a vending machine. I never write reviews but this place blew me away. Thank you Crowne Plaza see you again soon!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Joining rooms if bring your family they are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you and the family enjoyed your stay so much. My team and I look forward to your return.
Have a great school year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 141 in Portland
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#76 of 141 in Portland
328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing