We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Convention Center Crowne Plaza!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #45 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the Convention Center Crowne Plaza!”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I thoroughly enjoy staying the this hotel. I use to stay at the one in Lake Oswego but a few years ago I switched and couldn't be happier. This time I came for pleasure and it was great. Friendly, attentive staff, nice lounge with reasonably priced drinks. Love the hot tub too! Easy access to Lloyd's Center and downtown. Also great for concerts at the Rose Garden. Found no trouble with WiFi even with my iPad. Looking forward to coming back to the Crowne Plaza soon! Highly recommend!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lavabear60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Thank you for your great review. We are very proud that we have earned your return business, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    282
    75
    33
    25
See reviews for
151
154
64
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2012

I helped coordinate my brother and his family's stay at the Crowne Plaza Portland. They usually stays in Hiltons, Marriotts, and Hyatts...and were willing to try the Crowne this time.

We were close to everything we wanted to do: strategically located between family, friends, downtown, and they loved walking to the regatta on the Willamette Sunday morning.
During this family time we found out that Grandma passed away, and that made the trip very stressful, and we had to adjsut our plans.
My sister-in-law was fighting a cold, is four months pregnant, and didn’t feel well…however, she enjoyed the bedding and comfort of the rooms. My 2 yr old nephew was out like a light in the dark, quiet rooms. I was out like a light too sleeping in the dark rooms, the mattresses are nice and comfortable. We also kept my nephews favorite foods in the fridge.
There were plenty of places closeby open to run late night and early morning errands (it helped while still on East Coast time, to have breakfast at 4 a.m).
When checking out some items were left on the room, and were promptly returned.
My mother coordinated dropping off and picking up a car seat with the front desk team, and everything worked out well...stress free.

Me and my family are so grateful that the hotel staff helped us coordinate our changing plans--their kindness helped a complicated situation go as smooth as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PDXPalshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We think our location is ideal for anyone who wants to have easy access to anything Portland has to offer. We are saddened to hear of your loss our thoughts are with you and your family. Please feel free to call on me if I can be of any assistance the next time you are in the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Pierce County, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

My family and I were in Portland for a weekend bowling tournament so I choose to stay at the Crowne Plaza based on 2 things, the pool and the convenience of having an in house restaurant/lounge. I was pleased with everything, staff, rooms, pool you name it until it came to the food.I noticed how pricey it was when we looked at the menu (We spent over 100.00 for 4 of us) but assumed it would be worth it, my mistake. My husband had the fish and chips however there wasn't much fish to be found in the rock hard chunks of batter and his fries were so heavily salted he couldn't eat them. My son was excited to get the angel hair pasta bowl, which he expected to be huge based on the price, sadly it wasn't and he even said the angel hair pasta we make from the box has more flavor. I asked for a medium rare steak that came out medium well and my daughter's fries were too salty to eat as well. Over all it was just disappointing, however there was one redeeming dish and that was the Oregon Cheese Variety Plate. That was wonderful!

I wish I could evaluate the lounge for you but when I went down to the lounge to redeem our complimentary drink coupons it had closed early for some reason. I never did get to use them...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for your review; we value all feedback received. We regret that you did not bring these issues to our attention while you were here because we would have been happy to address them to your satisfaction. We strive to constantly make improvements to ensure that all guests have an enjoyable stay. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

if you need access to the internet don't stay here They continuously have problems with their wifi

the staff is great the room if comfortable but a hotel of this level should be able to provide consistent internet access

they have had problems with thier wifi for the 3 years i have been staying here for work

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flybear38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us and writing a review. I am sorry that the internet fell short of your expectations. Over the years we have invested heavily in order to provide a reliable internet signal and infrastructure. Generally the system works well and is satisfactory for general internet surfing. I hope that you will reply to the private message in order to address your situation and make it better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We came to Portland for the Vegfest convention. This hotel is in the perfect spot to walk to convention center. Easy on and off freeway. Everyone is very friendly and helpful at this Hotel. We arrived early 1130 am and did not expect to have our room ready but they were able to give us a room and allowed us to check in, which was nice before we walked to the convention. Beautiful room with comfortable bed and free Internet. Restaurants within walking range. Will stay here again!

Room Tip: we stayed on the 9th floor, nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sis0876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 3 October 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza Portland Downtown and we look forward to your next visit. Please let me know if I can be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseburg, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza while attending a conference at the Oregon Zoo. Check-in was super easy. The desk clerk even asked if I was a member of the Priority Club and gave me a certificate for free beverages in the restaurant because I am. The registration and social hour were in the hotel and the food was excellent. In order to use the elevator to get to our room we had to insert our room card into the elevator. I like this security measure. Rooms were very clean and quiet. No sounds of people walking around on the next floor! The hotel is only a short walk to the metro rail. All the hotel employees were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. We appreciate you acknowledging the friendly staff and pointing out the level of our room features and amenities that set us apart. Please let me know if I can in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Awesome stay at the Crown Plaza, late check-in was no problem, courteous & helpful staff, quiet, clean, & comfortable rooms. Great ammenties (i.e. 24 hour store for a late night snack, business center, etc..). Good location, close to light rail that goes do downtown area. I'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kdog1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s amenities and location so much. My team and I look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#76 of 142 in Portland
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing