We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #44 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
LaPorte Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We usually stay at the Radisson but couldn't get a room for this night. I've passed this Crowne Plaza many times and thought it looked dated so I was reluctant. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is extremely nice. Updated throughout from the lobby to the workout room to the bedroom. The staff was as nice and competent as can be. The location is super accessible to downtown on Max. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We are very happy that you had a great stay overall and that you found our location convenient. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    272
    71
    29
    23
See reviews for
142
151
62
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza during a recent conference. There was 8000 in attendance and we knew the hotel would be full! Even when it was full, check in was easy, the room was wonderful and they were attentive to our needs. I really liked the keurig coffee maker and nice amenities in the bathroom.
They provided shuttles to the conference center and any place within a 5 mile radius which helped so we didn't have to rely on public transportation as much. The concierge was wonderful and made our last outing fun!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and thought it was a great value. I appreciate you pointing out the many amenities we offer that makes our location unique.
Please let me know if I can be of service while you make your future plans.
Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was at the hotel for 5 nights for a convention. The location is perfect for the convention center. It is an easy walk to the center but they also offer shuttle service.

The hotel is very clean. The lobby is nice and the gym is very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is excellent and if you book a stay, I suggest you book the breakfast rate with your rate as it will be cheaper.

The area is very safe to walk around and there are several restaurants in walking distance.

I was impressed with the hotel and will be staying there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MidTMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We think our location is ideal for anyone who wants to have easy access to anything Portland has to offer. We are happy you enjoyed the many amenities that are complimentary and set us apart.
Thanks for staying and please let me know if I can be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We spent last night at the hotel and really enjoyed our time. Check in was great--quick and we got the feeling that they really wanted us to enjoy our stay. Our room was great!!! So quiet, comfy bed, dark room with a great night light, keurig coffee maker, great pillows and nice decor. Wish we could have spent time in the hot tub and pool but just didn't have time. We met our NYC friend who was in Portland for a conference so we wanted to find something to do. The concierge, Shaye, was so helpful and finding us a great Peruvian Restaurant with music. She was even able to make reservations on late notice. Good fun. The next day we got a late check out and really enjoyed our morning. Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertandPatty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel its great location and friendly staff. I look forward to personally recognizing Shae for her outstanding service.
Thanks for staying we hope you return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Spent a lot of time on Tripadvisor trying to find a quality hotel in Portland for a quick family trip. We finally settled on the this hotel because it wasn't Right in the middle of downtown, yet it wasn't more then 5 minutes away. We were particularly interested in getting a VERY CLEAN room that wasn't run down. We thought the Crowne Plaza would offer and exceptional hotel experience and so this is where we booked. ...........First impression when we drove up was that the Crowne Plaza misrepresented itself in the tripadvisor photos. It was much older looking and the parking lot didn't look secure at all. However, the Valet was a very pleasant young man, and that was reassuring. Then we got inside and our room was not ready, but they offered us a downgraded room that was ready. As we were tired, we accepted the downgrade. My only issue with this is that I still had to pay the same amount. Room was in fact very clean! Beds were comfortable. And the A/C heater worked! Dining staff was pleasant and food was good. Check out was easy and fast. Clean pool and work out room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel its great location and friendly staff. I look forward to recognizing the restaurant team for their outstanding service. I am sorry that your room type was not immediately available I will address the situation.
Thanks for staying we hope you return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The room was perfect, had everything thing I needed
The bed was very comfortable, never slept better.
The bathroom had great amenities.

lastly you don't see too many Hotels with an outdoor basketball hoop....nice.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your review. I'm glad you mentioned the sport court, and recognized the quality of amenities we offer. We love it when our guests enjoy their stay we you’re you return soon and tell many friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I travel frequently, actually, about 50% of my life is spent on the road, and of all the hotels I stay, the Crowne Plaza in the Rose district of Portland is my favorite. The staff goes above and beyond to ensure your comfort, the rooms are clean and updated, the restaurant and quality of food are exceptional. I am always impressed with the staff, they remember your name and any preferences you may have. This is a class act and I would recommend it to anyone. Close to transportation, shopping and of course there's the food in Portland, but that's another review...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the top floors, the views are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the hotel its great location and friendly staff. I look forward to recognizing the restaurant team for their outstanding service. Currently we are ranked number 18 of the entire chain of Crowne Plaza Hotels in hotel overall satisfaction, I am so glad you can tell. My team I hope you tell many friends and return often.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#9 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#72 of 138 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing