We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable hotel bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The staff is very friendly and I enjoyed chatting with a janitor and housekeeper while there. The room amenities are very nice - K-Cup coffee and tea, really great smelling soaps and shampoos. There are bikes available for use in the lobby and they sell Diet Coke in the little convenience store which is a huge plus to me. =-) The bed was very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for your review; we value all feedback received. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and pointed out the many amenities that make us unique.
Thanks for staying we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 720 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

On a recent family trip to Portland we stayed at the Crown Plaza. We were impressed with the location. The convention centre was very good for the function we attended. The room was a good size although the bathroom was a bit small. The pressure in the shower was very good. The one outstanding area was the hotels food. After arriving late, 11.30pm, we were able to get room service, that was very fast, fresh and well priced. Breakfast in the restaurant was also very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiejack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your great review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the Crowne Plaza Portland downtown and the restaurant quality. My chef and the entire food team enjoy presenting high quality, often organic and always fresh offerings for our guests.
I look forward to sharing your review with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel went out of their way to help my company be successful in our meetings. They stepped up and helped in finding us a conf. room. The staff was great on driving us to dinner and picking us up. The breakfast was very good. The cruiser bikes and the basketball court was a great touch. ( I used both of them). Thanks again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnmi55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review my team and I are pleased that we helped you facilitate a successful event. I look forward to sharing your review with my team.
Thanks for staying.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We just spent a long weekend in Portland and loved the city. So much to see and do. The Crowne Plaza was a nice hotel to stay. The location is not perfect (as in the heart of downtown) but it works well enough if you plan to use mass transit while visiting. It's an easy walk to the train or streetcar station to hop on board and go exploring, In this city, there is really no need for a car. (Definitely rent a car for a day to go to The Columbia River Gorge and Mt. Hood. This is a must do.) As a priority club member we were upgraded to a higher level floor. Not much a view but the gesture was thoughtful. The bed was comfortable and the room a nice size. Housekeeping thorough each day and really appreciate the Keurig in the room. No complaints on the room at all - fair price. Breakfast buffet seems expensive at $14.00 but it actually turned out to be a good value with beverages and taxes included. A final compliment should be offered to the staff. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit - thank you!

Room Tip: Did not have issues with street noise as some other reviews have mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you very much for your great review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s amenities and location so much. My team and I look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were there over a weekend. The hotel is conveniently located near the highway with easy access to shopping restaurants and the river. Staff very friendly. Shae at the concierge desk took it upon herself to make our sightseeing as enjoyable as possible. the room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant staff are really helpful. I recommend this hotel for business of pleasure. A safe in the room would help.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alnasir K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for your great review. I see that you travel a lot so I was pleased with your comments about the staff and service. I look forward to sharing your comments with my team. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Excellent location with easy access to a variety of Restaurants, Convenient Stores and Convention Center. I would highly recommend staying here if you are attending a trade show or conducting business downtown.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We usually stay at the Radisson but couldn't get a room for this night. I've passed this Crowne Plaza many times and thought it looked dated so I was reluctant. We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is extremely nice. Updated throughout from the lobby to the workout room to the bedroom. The staff was as nice and competent as can be. The location is super accessible to downtown on Max. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Xavier B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review. We are very happy that you had a great stay overall and that you found our location convenient. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel Eastlund
#16 of 144 in Portland
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 144 in Portland
345 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £84 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing