We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice remodel, great view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #53 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 19 December 2008

I booked this stay through Hotwire and ended up paying less than half of what the average price posted here is, so very happy on that front.

The hotel used to be a Holiday Inn, and that is why the outside is kind of crappy. I suspect that repainting is in the plans for this property, but probably hasn't happened yet. However, inside it is very well-appointed. I was impressed with the quality of the furnishings.

My view from room 607 was of downtown, the river, and the Rose Garden, and it was really lovely. I think rooms in the 5-10 number range on any floor would have just as good a view.

This room was a standard room with double queens, and didn't come with a toothbrush and toothpaste. It did include a gift baggie with sleep aids such as an eyemask, earplugs and lavender linen spray, which was appreciated. Room service is good and the food is tasty. Staff are courteous once they realize you are a guest, though there was a bit of upfront snobbishness to get past. I suspect that if I looked like someone with a 6-figure salary that wouldn't be an issue, but I don't so there it is.

This is a great location for Rose Garden or convention center events. The parking is indeed $10 a night but in retrospect I could've parked on the street at the meters with no problem. If you plan to stay out late and can get up at 8 to feed the meter in the morning, you might want to consider that course of action- the meters go until 10 pm.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madriax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 716 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2008

Booked this hotel over Thanksgiving on Hotwire. The hotel has a very good location, about a 2 minute drive into the Pearl District and not much longer to get downtown. On the outside, the hotel is rather crummy looking. It is adjacent to a few lower quality hotels and the building is rather old. That being said, inside, everything is newly renovated and very refreshing.

Our room was located on a high floor and had one king bed. The room had a desk and chair, a sofa, a small fridge and microwave. It also had a large closet and a flat screen tv. The bathroom was marble and well appointed. It was nice to see a toothbrush and paste were included in addition to the normal typical things like soaps and mouthwash. The room appeared to be new, was very clean and did not show any wear. The room included free high speed internet access which was a nice touch.

The staff was friendly and the lobby has a small business center, a coffee stand and a restaurant/bar.

Only complaint is $10 for parking per night, though during our stay there was ample street parking around.

Overall, great stay at a great price. We highly recommend this hotel if you get a good value.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank adamtope23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Stayed here for two nights, got a room on the top floor, facing downtown and the interstate 5. Our room as not very large but very nicely decorated, loved the beds. Very complete. Staff was very friendly and helpful. One issue was the noise of interstate 5, although the wind direction probably did not help (southerly from the highway to the hotel)). Nevertheless, keep that in mind when booking a room (although the noise was not an issue for us, but if you are looking for a quiet place ... ). The area around the hotel is a little bit run down, although we managed to find quite a nice quick Mexican bite nearby. Very close to the Rose Garden, so we picked a Portland Trailbazers basketball game.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank taaldesoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2008

We booked through Hotwire for only $80 inc tax. The hotel also charges $10 for parking in their lot. The room was large with a king bed plus a microwave and mini fridge. Be sure to request a room on a higher level. We were on the second floor facing the entrance and it was quite loud. The hotel is non-smoking and we could hear drunken smokers outside our window talking at 3 am. Overall, the hotel was nice and is quite close to the MAX which will take you right downtown.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sierra78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2008

The Crowne Plaza was a great surprise...we have stayed in the Portland Convention Center area before and have found the hotels to be lacking in quality and service. The Crowne Plaza was a happy departure! The hotel has been remodeled and the rooms are very comfortable, with small but beautiful bathrooms, a refrigerator, coffee maker, and flat screen TV (the family favorite). The beds are roomy and comfortable. The workout room has equipment for all levels and the pool area is very nice. The hotel is very easy to reach from I-5 and I-84, and there is a Red Robin, a number of fast food restaurants, and a couple of Starbucks within walking distance. Another plus...a MAX light rail stop within 4 or 5 blocks. We will definitely return to the Crowne Plaza Portland Convention Center.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pechmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2008

Stayed here two nights while attending a convention in the hotel. Check in was smooth with friendly staff. The clerk tried to get me a king bed with a city view, but it turned out to be two double beds with a partial view of the arched bridge to the north. There was some noise from outside, but not that bad.

Conference facility is average - service appeared to be okay. I know there were some a.v. issues, but they got cleared up.

The guest room was newly renovated, with everything clean and in good working order. There was a fridge and microwave which is always handy. The free wireless Internet worked well, though I had troubles getting into my employer's VPN(troulbles I don't typically have at other hotels). The televisions have lots of channels, but also a confusing system of accessing them.

There is a business center with computers and printers - no charge - great for printing boarding passes.

I didn't use the restaurant, but there are a couple (Denny's and Red Robin) in walking distance, as well as a few fast food places.

I rode the light rail (The Max) from the airport to the Convention Center stop, then it was a 10-minute or less walk to the hotel. This stop is on the edge of the free downtown zone, which is very nice for getting into the downtown core. I rode the free hotel shuttle back to the airport - Alirio, the driver, was very friendly with a great morning attitude!

If you have a meeting in this hotel, it is a great place to stay. If you are married to the Holiday Inn family frequent guest program, it is okay. Otherwise, if you want to be in the middle of the real downtown, it's not that great.

The pool and hot tub were under renovation at the time, so couldn't use them. The exercise room looked okay, but was too busy to use it.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank toomuchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2008

I had just got in from a long drive to Portland and once I hit the bed at the Crowne Plaza, it was like a cloud. I absolutely loved everything that this hotel has to offer. The decor is fabulous and the amenities is great. The service at front desk was a little slow and could have handled more properly, but my overall stay was great. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dancingqueen48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel Eastlund
#15 of 144 in Portland
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 144 in Portland
344 reviews
Northwest District
Holiday Inn Express Portland Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £101 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing