We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre Threatening Experience & Rude Front Desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #48 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bizarre Threatening Experience & Rude Front Desk”
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Short vacation stay with daughter as I am recovering from cancer surgery and radiation treatments. 11pm man saying hotel security banging on door I tried to call down to front desk to check and this person proceeded to shout out "Open your door now or a $150 to $200 fine will be added to your bill. I opened the door to a very angry and abusive male stating he was security and had witnessed my daughter and I hanging out the hotel window smoking. I was shocked and stated he must have the wrong room number as I do not smoke and our windows were never opened he became even more abusive and threatening so I asked him to wait while I called hotel management he told me "Listen Lady I tell you what to do you don't tell me" and stormed off. I called down to front desk to report this person for his unprofessional and aggressive behavior and the staff were not very helpful. I then called the next morning and reported this to hotel manager who was very apologetic and handled in a more professional manner but a free breakfast was only remedy offered. This security guard was obviously on the wrong floor but his behavior was extremely abusive and threatening and I felt the hotel staff did not deal with this in an appropriate manner the evening it happened. My daughter and I did not feel safe the rest of the evening and were both shaken by this bizarre experience. I would not return to this hotel again as it ruined our entire trip and a stress during cancer treatment I did not need.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Thistle6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    284
    75
    33
    26
See reviews for
153
156
64
229
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2009

Stayed here for just one night.... It's OK.

We're frequent Starwood customers but also enjoy Hyatts and Marriotts. This is definitely a cut below most of those properties. I'd even recommend the Portland Hilton over this place.

It's funny how you never forget certain kinds of service failures, and I won't forget one that occurred here. A couple of women checked into the hotel in front of us - they politely requested a room with two beds. The rather snarly desk clerk told them that the hotel was absolutely booked and they had to take what was available - one bed.

We, on the other hand, also had no specific bed type booked and wanted one bed. I thought "great" we're getting one bed since the doubles are all taken. Wrong. We walked into our room to find two beds. So basically, I watched the front desk staff lie right to the face of the customer right before me. When I asked this clerk for a higher floor, since I'm a light sleeper, I got the same "sorry, we're booked" response. I'm sure that was a lie, too.

Room was OK. Beds we're pretty hard. It was clean.

Location is inconvenient for any Downtown Portland activities (which are across the river).

I once booked this hotel for a business meeting (I didn't stay but my employees did). Doubt we'll ever be back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigerlight206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveller2721
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

My elderly parents pre-paid for two nights. Even though they could not check-in on the first day, they forfeited the refund, as it was stipulated in the fine print. Upon arriving on the second day of their reservation, they were told that their entire reservation was cancelled. The front desk staff was rude and unaccomodating. I would never go back to this hotel and would not recommend anyone else staying here - unless you wanted to treated horribley (even if you have pre-paid the reservation).

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2009

We have stayed at this hotel twice and enjoy staying there. The rooms are clean and a good size and the staff are friendly and very helpful. It is in a great location for watching basketball at the Rose Garden Arena, shopping at the Lloyd Centre or travelling into downtown Portland. It is also easy to get to, straight off the highway. The pool and jacuzzi are spacious and nice to relax in. We have enjoyed our previous stays in this hotel and look forward to enjoying more stays there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddhobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2009

The room was nice. We managed to catch the free shuttle from the airport. The location makes getting downtown of the free MAX LRT easy. The walk to the Convention Center is just 10 minutes or so.

Unfortunately, I was billed for parking although we had no car. My email messages to get the bill straightened out came to naught. I wonder if this is a way they get an extra $5 / night from everybody?

Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DennisSylvesterHurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2009
At the Crowne Plaza Portland Downtown we do charge $10.00 per night for overnight parking. At check-in we provide a permit that identifies the vehicle to our security staff via a discrete code.

The accounting staff has provided appropriate backup for the charge as requested by the guest. If we are in error I apologize in advance and will process a credit immediately.
Sincerely,

Zygmunt Lopuszynski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2009

Very good business focused hotel. My only gripe was that the WiFi service did not allow me to download VPN based emails. Food not too bad but there are much better restaurants downtown. Excellent staff in the bar.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2009

I checked into the Crowne Plaza after booking on Hotwire. On my train trip out here I lost my credit card. I had my wife fax a credit card letter of authorization to the hotel for my incidentals. She did and confirmed with the reservations manager that everything had been taken care of. I also called to double check. No problem Mr. Hughes I was told. I took the shuttle to the hotel from the Amtrak station. When I called they said the shuttle would be there in 5 minutes. 23 minutes later it arrived. At check in the clerk said, I need a credit card for incidentals. I advised her of the letter of authorization. She had to get the reservations manager who showed the clerk on the screen that it was taken care of. Time to check in with no one in front of me was 24 minutes. OK, so I take a client to the lounge that night for a drink. He ordered an appetizer and we had two drinks total. I signed my receipt to charge to my room. The older white haired bartender came up to me, with client sitting there and said rather sternly, " you do not have a credit card on file and you booked this room with Hotwire". I advised her that the authorization was on file. She called the front desk and gave the phone to me while telling my client no less that Hotwire does not pay for drinks. The nerve. The front desk clerk looked for about two minutes and then said, oh yeah, here it is. Needless to say I did not make that sale. Then the next morning at breakfast I was seated in the restaurant, the sole overworked waitress seated me and said I will be right back. Well 19 minutes later she had never came back. I left along with two other people. So basically this property is physically very nice, but the people factor is just not there. Nice TV's and beds, small bathrooms and the internet service is horrible but free. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 8 July 2009
We deeply regret that this guest did not experience prompt, courteous, and superior amenities that my staff and I strive to deliver. At the Crowne Plaza Portland, our mission is exceptional service and comfort of all our guests regardless of their reservations origin. Immediately upon receiving his concerns (after reading the review on Trip Advisor after the guest’s departure), I conducted an investigation to identify why and how we could improve our communication and service delivery.

We do provide complimentary shuttle service to the airport, train station and other local attractions with airport departures taking priority. I was not able to substantiate his wait time and sincerely apologize that we did not estimate your pick up time appropriately. In traffic or with minimal delays it should have only taken us 10-13 minutes to pick him up.

I would also like to apologize for the delay in check-in due to not having a credit card for check-in. I can only imagine the difficulty in securing accommodations car rental and other purchases while traveling without a credit card. I am pleased that my staff was able to accommodate you however I apologize that it seemed to take forever and that we did not accommodate the special handling to check you in more expediently.

I would also like to apologize for the service received in the bar and restaurant and that we will use your comments constructively to better train and staff appropriately. My staff and I are committed to exceeding all our guests’ expectations and highly encourage giving us the opportunity to resolve any service issue immediately.

Sincerely,

Zygmunt Lopuszynski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#11 of 142 in Portland
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#75 of 142 in Portland
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232-1131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing