We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2010

I had several items missing from my luggage after checking them in with bag check at the front desk. We arrived early and weren't able to check in. We left our luggage at noon with the front desk and returned at 3:30 to check-in. I discovered missing items from my luggage when I went to get ready for that evening. I thought I must have left them at home (really didn't think I did, but really thought that must be the case) and the following morning when I was getting ready, I really thought I must be losing it to leave that many items at home (we travel frequently so these are items I always use and take with me). Again, I didn't suspect they were stolen, just that I left them at home. When I arrived at home, I promptly checked our bedroom and bathroom where I was packing before we left. My spouse and I looked everywhere, even went back out in the car and checked. I called the hotel and spoke with a staff member at the front desk. He took my message and said he would have the manager call me the next day, he also looked to see if any items were left in the hotel room, I told him this wasn't possible, as I never saw the items after they were at bag check at their front desk. I recieved a return phone call two days later from the manager. I repeated what had occured and also told him my friend who got us the room for a friends and family discount rate had called her contact person at the hotel to give her an itemized list of my items (these totaled over 200 dollars). He said he would get the itemized list and would call me back by Friday of that week. To date, he has not called me back and I have left additional messges for him to call me. My friend has even emailed her contact person at the hotel regarding the matter with no return email or call. The manager was very pleasant and concerned and I really thought he would have handled it, but he didn't. This was an unfortunate experience. We will not return to the hotel and will let friends and family know to do the same.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nade70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 23 March 2010
My staff and I are committed to guest satisfaction and we are and have been in correspondence with the guests. I sincerely regret that this matter has not been addressed to their satisfaction and I encourage them to contact me directly to resolve any concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    273
    71
    29
    23
See reviews for
142
151
62
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

I prepaid my room, but they gave it to someone else anyway! This was disastrous for my business trip, because I ended up getting very little sleep before an important presentation the next morning. They finally gave me my room the next day, but then gave me a hassle on the checkout! They said that I was checking out "early" because I had stayed only two nights instead of the three I had prepaid for. Unbelievable. Such behavior should be illegal, if it isn't already. They sold the room twice, sent me off miles away from my conference in the middle of the night, and then accused me of not fulfilling my obligation. AVOID!

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjddss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zlopuszynski, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center, responded to this review, 29 March 2010
Please accept my sincere apology for not having your room upon arrival. On rare occasions we are not able to accommodate all our guests due to unforeseen circumstance such as overstayed reservations or operational errors.

In such cases we arrange transportation to and from the hotel and pay for the alternative accommodations arranged. If the reservation was prepaid we would have refunded your credit card for the night we could not honor in accordance with our guaranteed reservation promise. Other considerations offered for the inconvenience were breakfast at the alternative accommodations and upgrade to our executive level with breakfast upon return.

I sincerely regret that we were not able to accommodate this guest and I encourage him to contact me to make sure we delivered at best what I described.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

We chose this hotel because it was reasonably close to our son's home. We have stayed at other Crowne Plaza's and found this one to be just fine. Upon arrival, we were a little concerned to see several large groups with noisy teenagers. Without our asking, we were given a free upgrade to the executive level which was very quiet. The rooms on that floor (10th) appeared to have been recently upgraded and all furnishings were top of the line. Internet connection was good. Bed very comfortable. Drinks in the bar were good and reasonably priced. We did think the $10 parking fee was nickel and dime but that has become standard at city hotels everywhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mexfandos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

Located about 10 min walk from the convention centre. Only negative about the room is that the wireless connection was very weak. Rooms were very clean and well equipped, with microwave, fridge and coffee maker. Gym was a little small but had all the usual equipment. Check your bill before you leave as they charged us for parking which we didn't use.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareAndMilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

I got this room through Priceline and got a fantastic deal. They did charge an additional $10 for parking, but it was within walking distance of the Convention Center, so I broke even by walking the three blocks to my event.
Shea at the front desk was so helpful, she even upgraded my room when I became a member of their points club (no charge for that.)
My room was so clean and I was on a floor that doesn't allow children or groups, so it was very quiet.
I hope I end up here again, when I bid on Priceline!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joani123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

Overall, this was a pretty good hotel aside from a few things. The hotel offered free shuttle service to/from the Portland airport. I waited about 40 minutes for them to pick me up when they claimed to be there in 15. The rooms had a TV with plenty of channels to choose from. I used the internet from the room with no problem. I stayed in my room with a snorer and the complimentary ear plugs helped a ton! I slept through the night like a baby. The business center came in handy when I needed to print out directions.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tuber247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

I have stayed in this hotel 3 times in the last 5 weeks, and have had an excellent experience each time. Some of the reviews ding the place for "trying too hard" to be upscale. Absurd! The owners and the chain brand are not trying to be anything other than Crowne Plaza. They have no delusions that the place is a JW Marriott, or a Renaissance Hotel.

I will say that the restaurant was a little slow for few people that were in attendance.

The elevators are currently being upgraded, so only two are running, but it as not caused any delays, and there has been no noise either.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phxpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Portland Downtown/Convention Center
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Portland
0.3 mi away
Hotel Eastlund
Hotel Eastlund
#9 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn Downtown Convention Center
0.3 mi away
Inn at the Convention Center
Inn at the Convention Center
#71 of 138 in Portland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Lloyd Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center

Property: Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center
Address: 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Portland
#24 Business Hotel in Portland
#38 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#42 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland hotel is close to Oregon Convention Center Located just off I-5, in the heart of downtown Portland, the recently renovated Crowne Plaza Portland - Downtown - Convention Center is a great place to base your next trip to Portland. With a convenient location near Portland International Airport (PDX) and Fareless Square, you will find that getting around the city is a breeze. Within walking distance of our hotel in Portland are major venues like the Oregon Convention Center, Rose Garden Arena and Memorial Coliseum, and our hotel shuttle service is available to take you to these facilities. Also, our hotel is near Fareless Square, where Portland's MAX light rail system will take you downtown, free of charge. Some of the city's best dining, shopping and tourist attractions are within in walking distance of our hotel. Portland's Lloyd Center Mall, just over a mile away, offers great shopping opportunities, or if you'd rather, you can find a quiet haven within the city at the Portland Classical Chinese Gardens, located just over a mile from our downtown Portland hotel. Additionally, we're not far from Portland's Pearl District, the city's most colorful and creative district. Our hotel near Portland International has 11 meeting rooms that can be tailored to fit the needs of your event. With new audio/visual options and free high-speed Internet access, come see why the Crowne Plaza Portland is the Place to Meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Portland-Downtown Hotel Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing