We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great Over a Decade Later - Top Choice for Portland”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The last time I stayed here, Trip Advisor didn't exist. I used to stay at the Paramount constantly when it first opened around 2000/2001 as I traveled to Portland on business 2-3 times a month and the Paramount became both my favorite and my go-to hotel at that time.

The urban park in front of the hotel at that time was a surface parking lot, the movie theater wasn't even conceived, there was no restaurant in the hotel lobby, and the hotel even served a complimentary continental breakfast back in those days. Time and a job change took me away from coming regularly to one of my absolute favorite cities in the U.S.

A recent business trip took me to downtown Portland and I was eager to see what had changed or was the same from my many previous stays. I'm thrilled to say the Paramount was every bit as wonderful as I remembered.

Rates were very affordable mid-week in January - low season, so I booked an executive king room on a high floor (16 or so total floors here) complete with jacuzzi tub and walk-in shower.

The room was just as nice I had remembered - comfortable, luxurious even, but with upgraded decor and amenities as other reviewers had noted. And despite being pretty busy, the room was quiet and relaxing - just as I had remembered as well. Jacuzzi bath was a treat, shower really good, incredibly comfortable bed, sheets and pillows.

Really the only noise was from outside - being in the middle of a downtown it's to be expected and the windows in the room aren't that soundproof, even 12 floors up. Nothing major, but earplugs are a good idea if you are light sleeper and easily get woken by things like the backup beeper on trash trucks, etc. The higher the floor, the less the outside noise so be sure to get a room up high if you can.

I didn't try Dragonfish, the restaurant in the lobby, but there are so many great choices to eat within easy walk, light rail or street car, that you'll have no trouble finding good eats.

Only one block to the light rail or Portland street car. If you don't need a car in Portland, then just take MAX (light rail) from the airport to the Pioneer Square North stop, and it's a short couple of blocks walk to the hotel.

Overall, great stay, highly recommended and a place I'll be sure not to let another decade past before I stay again!

Room Tip: Get a high floor to reduce ambient noise from outside. Views good from all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelreviewer333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2012

hotelreviewer333 (great handle for tripadvisor) Thank you for your comments! Yes, our neighborhood has changed so much over the last 12 years, all for the better. I appreciate your mention of the Max lightrail. Many visitors to Portland do not realize how nice and convenient our train system is. Plus, they are free in the downtown area. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,078 - 1,084 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights after our wedding in early January of 2012 before we flew out to Cabo. The Paramount has it down, service, room quality, cleanliness. My husband and I have not quit talking about many elements of our stay that they did right.

We checked in on a Friday night around 10pm. Our bell hop was very helpful (I usually try to avoid these people, but our guy was great!) The front desk check in guy was efficient but a little dorky/quirky. They had upgraded our room for free because of the occasion. KUDOS to them, we really enjoyed our jacuzzi tub!

We will defiantly be returning for anniversaries and will recommend this place to our friends. They did a great job at being there if we needed them to but not interfering when we didn't want them.

The Paramount knows how to run a great luxury hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2012

Thank you for your review Mrs. K, we look forward to being part of many anniversaries to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stay here every time I come to Portland. One of my nationwide favorites. Everything is first-rate. Restaurant is super and accommodating; we needed to change it to a small business conference and they worked with us quickly and precisely. The hotel staff itself are all more than helpful. I have nothing bad to say about this place. I stay here probably 6-7 times a y ear.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2012

Thank you so much Blair C for the very kind review! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We booked a room with a king size bed, and they gave us a corner room on the 14th floor that had a fabulous view. Many of the nicer hotels in Portland do not have as many floors, so you don't get the great view. Our room was large and very nice. The best part was the staff; the young woman who helped us during check in was so pleasant and helpful and the bell hop was fantastic. He showed us everything about the room when he brought our luggage up, and twice went back to the car for us when we accidentally left things on the back seat. He also arranged taxi cabs for us when we needed them. The hotel itself is beautiful, and has a great location. We will definitely stay at the Paramount again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

Thank you for the review Judi F. I will be sure to share it with the staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

this reasonably priced hotel is very comfortable and feels upscale without too much snobbery. :)
really nice corner room... comfy bed and good location for restaurants and art museuming. Also very helpful when i left somethings in the room, excellent customer service.

Room Tip: corner room was nice view in two directions... 8th floor was high enough for city overview and view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hilaryseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thanks so much for the review hilaryseattle. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights for the wedding of my daughter. The staff was excellent, taking care of my every need. The room was great. Top floor, corner room, beautiful view of Portland. Comfy bed too! I will definately stay here again. Very conveniently located to many great places to eat and shop.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor--- great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for your review Holly1956 and congratulations to your daughter on her recent nuptials!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Very Comfy crisp sheets, feather bed on a firm mattress, great large down filled pillows. Nice eclectic group of guests. all ages/world travelers. Great location, just a block over from the Portland Saturday Market, that had healthy local fare, nice hot breakfasts and great lunch food.
The hotel is just a block of two from the Portland Art Museum, and all major department stores, (Banana Republic, Nordstroms, Macy's) Also just a five minute walk to the Pearl District.
Great close by reasonable Asian restaurants. The Paramount is a very easy, enjoyable place to stay. Parking is expensive though...$30 bucks a day. Consider not taking a car.

Room Tip: The corner room executive suite was nice, and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gfran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

gfran2, thanks for taking the time to review the hotel! It sounds like you had a good visit to Portland and took advantage of our location and maybe even some tax free shopping. Come back and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 144 in Portland
2,200 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,440 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £115 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing