We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paramount Hotel Downtown Porland”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Paramount Hotel Downtown Porland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

All around good value. Nice, well appointed room, comfortable bed, nice view overlooking Directors Park (plaza). Good service. Good location downtown with easy close access to transit. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you for the review and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    374
    68
    32
    11
See reviews for
202
472
61
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Loved this hotel it was spacious..had a great view of the city and the service is great everyone is very nice and professional. I'll definately come back to this hotel i highly recommend it :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blanca r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Thank you so much for the review and recommendation blanca r! Hope to have you back to stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

When I visit Portland which is around three or four times a year, I usually stay at the Westin. At the behest of a fellow traveller, we booked the Paramount. I was a bit leery - what, no Heavenly bed?!? - but it was actually quite a pleasant surprise. The room was quite spacious and even on the 4th floor, it was very quiet. The restaurant was undergoing a refurbishment so no dinner there but it'll be an Asian fusion I think, when it opens, and that sounds promising. Decor is good in the hotel and it seems quite fresh and contemporary. The location is perfect. The Trimet train to the airport is just two blocks away and you are walking distance from everything. As for that bed, well Heavenly it ain't, but it wasn't bad either. And at under $125 for the night, it was a decent price.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyststmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Thanks for the review Clyststmary and for giving us a try! Hope to have you back with us a couple more times this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Very nice classy hotel, bed and pillows comfortable, bathroom good accommodations. Only downside is need to take lots of cash for tipping--bell man twice because room wasn't ready on arrivial. Tip for valet parking each in and out. Recommend finding your own parking with in and out service

Room Tip: Corner room very nice, on 4th floor, no problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BendTraveler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
BendTraveler7 thank you for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My family and I stayed at the Paramount downtown portland. We paid $124.00 dollars for a double bed room. Not a bad price, but dont forget to add the valet parking at $29 dollars. The room was very clean and very nicely updated. They did not have many bath items though such as shower cap or lotion so I was a little disappointed, and the TV while it was a good size did not have channels past 59. The TV was kind of a let down. The bed was the best part. It was so comfortable! I think this room would be nice for business or traveling families but not couples seeking a more intimate setting. The location is perfect for sight seeing and museum exploration.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ely W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Ely W – Thank you for your review. I appreciate you staying with us and your kind words about The Paramount. We do provide bottled lotion in the rooms (maybe we missed yours?) and have shower caps available at the front desk upon request. We were throwing away so many unused shower caps that it just seemed wasteful to continue to provide them in all our rooms. You are right that our T.V. channels only go to number 59. We do have 48 channels in there of high quality entertainment and 3 channels of low quality Public Access. Sometimes entertaining, depending on your mood. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Paramount is without any doubt a hotel that I'd seriously recommend for visitors in Portland. It has the perfect location in the heart of the city, overlooking one of Portland's most welcoming squares. Rooms are all that you can ask for, and so are the other facilities and services this hotel offers.

As for the staff members, they were extremely helpful and charming during our stay, and even afterwards. We were expecting a package which unfortunately arrived after our departure. The staff was very cooperative and helpful in helping us retrieve our package after all, and for that they deserve our appreciation.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomerC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
And we would love to have you back TomerC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I was looking forward to staying someplace totally central in downtown Portland to the waterfront and Pioneer Square, as we planned on celebrating our anniversary and enjoying dinner at McCormick and Schmick's Harborside. After a delicious meal, we were looking forward to heading up to our (very small) room and curling up in bed.

Lo and behold, as I crawled into bed my foot brushed up onto something unrecognizable... a used sock! (That was definitely not mine or my husband's). I was totally grossed out and wondered whether or not the sheets were even changed at all since the last guest, because it seems to me that someone would know when they were laying the sheets down if there was a random sock sitting there.

That "discovery" soured my experience because everything at that point was just "meh." Parking is outrageously expensive which left a pit in my stomach, and nothing about this hotel stood out as being remarkable compared to other similarly-rated hotels in the area.

I have nothing against the Paramount Hotel-- it has potential to be a great hotel in a great location; I just felt like it was very corporate and didn't have the same touch as other boutique hotels in the area. Plus, I don't like the idea that I might have been sleeping on someone else's sheets...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mlove17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Mlove17, first and foremost I apologize for the cleanliness of your room there is no excuse for it. This is the first we have heard of it and regret we were not informed of the this while you were still our guest. We could have easily and efficiently resolved this then. We do agree that valet parking rates are expensive in downtown Portland. However, our valet rates are one of the lowest for Portland hotels. We do have a great package available through our website where you can valet for $1 extra. That is a good deal. There are also many less expensive options close to the hotel where you are able to self-park and save a couple of bucks. Please contact me, Norm, directly at 503-276-1764 if you would like to further discuss your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,660 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing