We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We spent 2 nights here and were upgraded to a corner room on the 9th floor. The price was very reasonable especially with a sr. discount. We self parked next door and saved the parking fee. We would stay there again. The only problem we had was that the water in the shower would not get hot enough, but it was OK.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flosser201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thank you for the review flosser201!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    383
    70
    33
    12
See reviews for
212
497
66
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

The hotel is located right downtown across the street from Director's Park. From our corner room on the 14th floor we had a lot of light and great views. Valet parking worked great. Ate sushi at the in-site restaurant which was great. Room was well appointed with key bed, desk, chair/ottoman, walk-in shower, jetted tub. Price for all of this was excellent..around $150/night. Very close to Jeld-Wenn field where it was an easy walk to the Timbers game.

Starbucks right on the corner. Movie theater right across the street.

Had a small issue with the hot water valve in the shower one morning. They came up to repair it within a few minutes.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra for a corner room; the extra light is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC-MSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thanks for the review MC-MSO. Go Timbers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Etna, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My daughter, granddaughter, and I stayed at the Paramount for two nights and were very pleased. The location is wonderful, within two blocks of Pioneer Square and downtown shopping. The beds were very comfortable and the room was exceptionally quiet. I could barely hear the shower! The room was clean, spacious, and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The restaurant had an excellent breakfast at a reasonable price. I highly recommend the Paramount and will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thank you for the review and recommendation Lynne B!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I loved my last stay here but this one was even better. The staff is so friendly but not stuffy. This place really makes you feel like they appreciate your business. Today with so many choices and discounts that service is what will help you make the decision to come back again and again. The Paramount is now our favorite place to stay in downtown Portland!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelPendleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words TravelPendleton. I have shared your review with the hotel staff. We looks forward to welcoming you back soon. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

My mother and I recently spent 3 nights at the Paramount and loved every minute of it. The staff were all helpful and friendly. The room was quite spacious and clean, although it is beginning to show some wear. Both my Mom and I found the beds to be very comfortable. The hotel is well located downtown and we used public transportation with ease. We ate breakfast and dinner in the restaurant at the hotel and the food was excellent. We stayed on the 12th floor and had great views of thunder and lightening storms two nights in a row! I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niedermoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Niedermoser, thanks for the review! You were lucky to have caught a great view of one of Portland’s rare thunder & lightening storms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This is a great hotel for that "weekend in the city". Out of the way but near over half dozen outstanding resteraunts including the one located in the hotel. Room service was very pleasant as were the valet, front desk, and anyone else we had need to talk with. A comment on room service: If you are planning on using room service, ask the front desk for an additional chair. Each room has only one chair.

Room Tip: If you plan on using room service, ask the front desk for an additional chair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thanks for the review David6460!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I have never stayed in downtown Portland before, but if I do again, I will defintely stay at the Paramount. It is close to a variety of transportation services, and surrounded by great entertainment and food choices. It is a close walk to Portland State University. The views from the upper floors are lovely, the staff is helpful and friendly, the room was clean and all the furniture was comfortable. The meeting rooms are well set up and the cookies provided by the hotel as part of the meeting were great. Plus it was quiet, and the windows open enough that you can get some fresh air. Wireless internet services were easy to use and fast, and the business center is easily accessed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thanks Susan A, we appreciate your review! Hopefully your travels will bring you back to downtown Portland and The Paramount again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 142 in Portland
1,369 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing