We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location to enjoy the local flavor of downtown Portland”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This boutique hotel was our home away from home for 2 nights in Portland last week. Although a bit more than I wanted to spend ($216 per night with tax), it was actually worth the money to be so close to the city shops, attractions, restaurants, streetcar and bus line. I requested to be on a high # floor, and was given a room at the top, the 15th floor. The room was immaculate, the beds exquisitely comfortable appointed with comforters and luxury bedding. Our floor only had 10 rooms, including 2 suites and we never heard a door slam or saw a housekeeper the entire time we were there. The hotel manager greeted us warmly and assisted us with detailed bus directions for an early morning trip. We did all of our dining within steps of the hotel lobby and felt very safe wandering the neighborhood in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the square (same side as the front door) to see the fountain and enjoy the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thanks for the great review Banjo1957!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,005 - 1,011 of 1,259 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. We were upgraded which was a surprise. Very nice. Lovely room with a deck that we could sit on and enjoy the evening. We also were able to check in early which was much appeeciated. Perfect location. We'll be back--I hope.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thanks for the review Rebecca B! Glad you enjoyed the upgrade. Sometimes it is nice to be surprised!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The team at the hotel are friendly, personable and can't be beat. Jessica at the front desk went well above and beyond to help me out with some after midnight food as my diabetic dad went into low blood sugar. She reached into her own lunch and provided me with some cheese to tide him over while we ran down some more items.

The hotel was close to everything, always clean and quiet. We even found parking in the local parking garage a great option ... $29 for valet is normal but $12 a day in the parking garage for an all day rate could not be beat... nice to have options!

Room Tip: The area is pretty quiet so any room on any level should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2012

Thank you for the great review Corine C! I have already shared this with Jessica and the rest of the staff. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

From the moment we arrived, staff were really friendly. Upgraded our room voluntarily. Very clean, food excellent and will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebelrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Thanks for the wonderful review Rebelrd! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

It was great and always is. This is our 2nd time there and stayed in Seattle 2 times as well. The restaurant there is nice too. The only bad thing about our stay this time was the creaking bed that woke you each time you moved, sunk in the middle, and the party that was in the hotel that went kind of late. The outside noise on the 3rd floor is not nice either.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hello MelQ3 – Thank you for staying with us and our sister hotel in Seattle. My apologies for the bed, it sounds like it has a broken box spring frame. We are checking on it right now (302). I heard about the Karaoke party in the bar and the Dutch group butchering "Sweet Caroline" more than once. That won’t happen again. Sorry. Please contact me directly next time you come to Portland and I will make sure you get a quiet room.
 
Sincerely,
 Norm Hwa
General Manager
nhwa@portlandparamount.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Upon checking in the staff was friendly and courteous. The hotel and my room were exceptionally clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony room was great if you love to sit and people watch. Colleague did not pay extra for balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Elaine B – Thank you very much for the review!  Our balconies are a great place to have coffee or a glass of wine and watch Portland go by. The people in this town can be very entertaining. My favorite rooms for people watching are 506 & 507.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

The hotel was in a very good location, only minutes to the central shopping area. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. My husband used the gym and commented that it was ok, but not brilliant. The room was nicely decorated and comfortable. Parking the car was expensive, but this is only to be expected in a city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brixham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Hello Brixham1, Thank you for the kind words about our staff, we always appreciate them. I agree about parking  costs. The average cost to valet park a vehicle at a downtown hotel in Portland is $33 a night. Our $29 is a little easier on the wallet, but still expensive.  There are a number of self-park lots near the hotel which are usually more cost efficient and our valets are happy to direct you to them should you prefer. Safe travels and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,865 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 144 in Portland
2,195 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,438 reviews
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range: £114 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing