We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and comfy beds!”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #10 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location and comfy beds!”
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Just spent 2 nights at the Paramount and was very happy with my choice. The hotel is centrally located and walking distance to the major stores and other attractions. All the staff was very friendly. We used the valet parking and made it easier driving back at night as we didn't have to worry about parking (though is was $29 a night). Starbucks is right at the corner so had breakfast there everyday. It was my first time to Portland and really enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2012
Thank you for your review sunsettravel! Hopefully this was only your first of many trips to Portland and The Paramount – see again you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    377
    69
    33
    11
See reviews for
203
478
63
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Me and my husband stayed here for our one year anniversary. It is a nice place, but nothing spectacular. the water pressure in the shower was very weak. The jetted tub was amazing. we got the sweets for your sweet package and the chocolates where delish. we told the man at the desk it was our anniversary when we checked in and he told us we should have called in advance to let them know because they would have made special arrangements for us, but that the lady that does that was off duty and no one else would bother. I thought it was a little rude that they said that knowing it could have been a better stay kinda put a damper on the stay. the restaurant in the lobby was great would eat there again. I would stay here again too I will just know to call and book a room and not do it online because there is no extras when ordering on line.

Room Tip: just tell them it is a special occasion and i guess they will do more for you. don't just order...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The Paramount is centrally located in downtown Portland, near to public transport, attractions and a food cart pod (which are main PDX attractions!). Our room had view to Director Park, which was nice to look at, but it did get a bit noisy early in the morning. We didn't have any trouble finding a parking spot on the street at night, and there are plenty of reasonably priced parking lots nearby for the day. I took one star (circle) off my rating because of the noise and because of the annoying hotel channel on which the TV is stuck for the first two minutes after being turned on. It might sound petty, but it really bugged me. Other then those little things, we really enjoyed our 4-night stay!

Room Tip: Some floors have no ice or vending machines, if that is of importance to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerenym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2012
Kerenym, thank you for the review. We recently installed an upgraded movie system which is also our TV menu page and should only offer a slight delay (2-3 seconds) as the software configures before you can change channels. I apologize for the annoyance this caused you. Would you mind e-mailing me your room number so I can have the TV looked at.
Safe Travels,
Norm Hwa
General Manager
nhwa@portlandparamount.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookings, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

The Paramount Hotel is a excellent location, friendly, helpful staff. The rooms are so quite, never heard any noise from either the street or other rooms. The bedding is soooo comfortable and room features and amenities are very nice also.
The Valet parking is excellent and fast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thank you Lee975, we appreciate your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

This was one of the best hotels we've stayed at in a long time! Great location, close to everything. Outlets galore to plug in all you electronics, very comfortable bedding, and a delicious restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeC1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, General Manager at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Thanks for the great review MikeC1014! When we renovated our rooms, we were sure to include plenty of outlets to handle all the electronics people need to travel with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Have stayed at hotel several times. Great location for walking Portland, close to all downtown venues. The restaurant has changed, and though we didn't dine there this time, the menu didn't look as appealing as the old 'Dragon'. Great Hotel at a fair rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you for your review Tim S! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Decided to travel up to Portland at 3am for a last minute girl's weekend trip (from Vancouver Canada). After arriving in Portland and having a great breakfast at the Screen Door (chicken and waffles!) we concentrated on finding a hotel for that night. Being a beautiful sunny long weekend, our search didn't start out well as everything was sold out. Luckily another fully booked hotel chain directed us to the Paramount (a Coast hotel) and we got the last room!
Everyone from the front desk clerk to the concierge to the gentlemen opening the doors were all extremely friendly and helpful and welcoming.
The hotel is in a GREAT location with Nordstoms a block away and a very pretty and quaint outdoor courtyard right outside our hotel. There was a lifesize chess set, a fountain, and lots of sunbathers chilling enjoying the gorgeous weather.
Since we got the last room, it was the accessible room which was fine by us. The beds were very comfy, the shower temperature and pressure was all great too.
Really enjoyed this hotel. Too bad there was not a pool or jacuzzi, but thats OK. Overall great hotel, we were so happy we found it. Definitely would come back here on my next trip to Portland. Cannot say more about the great location. Cheap parking lot, starbucks and a couple restaurants right outside the doors.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiabelle10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thanks for the review asiabelle10! I think I would drive 6 hours for the Screen Door’s chicken and waffles too but you would also have to throw in a side of their praline bacon. Come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing