We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location, very good rooms, and very good service”
Review of Paramount Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Paramount Hotel
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very good location, very good rooms, and very good service”
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Over all the Paramount was a great experience. Great location to walk downtown attractions. The building appears to be older, but with updated and comfortable furniture. Service was excellent. Plenty of restaurants around, although the hotel restaurant menu was not appealing to me. I would stay again.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Simplejourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    383
    70
    33
    12
See reviews for
212
497
66
240
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Great hotel, walked everywhere. Large room with a stylish bathroom. The most comfortable bed I have slept on, seriously. Staff was very helpful with our questions and provided suggestions for dining. They were always smiling and really made sure we enjoyed our stay. **Tip we parked in the parking garage just West of Starbucks on Taylor and only paid $15/ overnight instead of the hotel parking which was $29/ overnight. Living Room Theaters a movie experience complete with wine was just a few blocks away.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimletsmama33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Thanks so much for the great review Zimletsmama33!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We spent only one night at the Paramount but we'll be back. It was a wonderful hotel with excellent service, a very good restaurant with many more good options nearby. Near the Portland Art Museum, good shopping, etc, etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Thanks for the review Catherine C, see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

I have visited Portland many times and tried a number of hotels. This is a strong contender for my favorite. Location is terrific in easy walking distance to all of downtown Portland, movie theater across the street, lots of good restaurants steps away, Starbucks next door. Rooms are nicely appointed and updated. Staff is friendly and helpful. Business center, gym, etc. Price is very reasonable. This is not as stylish as Hotel Monaco or as posh as The Heathman but overall this was a good value and great stay. Note: valet parking is $29 per night plus tips. The lot they use is in the Building kitty corner from the hotel. Park your own car and save a lot of money. Overnight on a Saturday was $15. Unless you have a lot of luggage or plan to be in/out, this is a good option and very easy and safe.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifistravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed here as part of a four day trip to both Seattle and Portland as we were visiting Vancouver Island from Ottawa. Contacted hotel prior on FB prior to arrival, especially since I was unfamiliar with this chain. The service upon arrival was amazing and we were upgraded to a room with a balcony and full sized patio furniture, which was a relaxing way to unwind in the evening after a day's outing. The hotel also provided us with cookies and cream, and chocolates which really did impress us. The room and bathroom were very large. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would stay here again if we ever get to this end of the US again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thanks for the great review tmr7! Hope you make it back to the Pacific Northwest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Paramount in Portland is a great smaller hotel. The rooms have a nice quaint feel and when you step out onto the street, Portland is accessible on foot or with their trolley system. I would return and stay in this place anytime. Staff are gracious and wonderful restaurents, the Willamette River and amenities are all within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cbailet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Our family stayed for 6 nights for our son's wedding. The rooms were clean, staff friendly and accommodating and the location was excellent with plenty of dining and shopping opportunities. It is close to the waterfront which provided an excellent location for long walks and exploring. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good value and location. Had I known about the $1.00 parking mentioned in previous reviews the value would have been even better.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing north or west for better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland_Paramount, Director of Sales at Paramount Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
HMKK724, thank you for the great review! So happy we were able to be part of your celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Mark Spencer Hotel
Mark Spencer Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 142 in Portland
1,369 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paramount Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paramount Hotel

Property: Paramount Hotel
Address: 808 SW Taylor St, Portland, OR 97205-3020
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
#9 Business Hotel in Portland
#10 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paramount Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“As personable as Portland,” The Paramount Hotel offers guests professional and efficient service with genuine care and concern. Located in downtown Portland, Ore. the property combines the personal touch of a boutique hotel with comfortable and contemporary touches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Paramount Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paramount Hotel Portland
Paramount Portland
Portland Paramount

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing